We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona Colon Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casona Colon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casona Colon Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tacna 290, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 hotels in Puno
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful stay.Despite being close to everything the room was very quiet.Every area of this hotel is spotlessly cleaned, breakfast was good and served early which was great for us. The staff are all very helpful. The station for the Cusco train is just around the corner- 5 minutes walk. Thank you all for a restful and pleasant stay!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andriu P, at Hotel Casona Colon Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada: Alicia
Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros en Tripadvisor.
Es una alegría saber que le haya gustado nuestro Hotel Casona Colon inn, nosotros nos esforzamos siempre para brindar un servicio de calidad y experiencias inolvidables a todos nuestros visitantes .

Me despido agradeciéndole nuevamente por su comentario.

Gracias por visitar Puno !!!

Saludos.
Hotel Casona Colon Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Brington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The price on the door when you walk in is crazy but we negotiated a fairer price (like ones you see if searching online) and got a good room. Good shower and nice and cosy. Only thing I hated was the bed sheets didn't fit the bed so when we woke up the next morning I'm lying on the mattress, don't know why they have wrong bed covers, shame.

Breakfast was excellent. Ive been offered a buffet breakfast all over SA and normally come down to find a spoonful of cold scrambled eggs and a stale bread roll but this was really good, lots of fruit and a good selection.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel for us. We went in June which is a very cold time - space heaters were in our rooms, but the rest of the hotel was very cold...so bring warm clothes. Good location and friendly staff. The rooms were very nice and there was hot water.
We were on the third floor, which got us winded climbing the stairs when we first arrived as we were getting used to the altitude.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had spent the two previous nights shivering and hearing loud street noise in another hotel in Puno, so we decided to look into alternatives. The guidebook showed the Casona Colon Inn to be about two blocks away, so we walked in. We were greeted in English by a well-dressed man at the front desk. It was all so much more friendly and easy than our other hotel that we couldn't believe it. We gleefully hurried back to our first hotel, threw our clothes in our suitcases, checked out, and hurried back.

As other reviewers said, this hotel is very really old, and the views from the rooms are somewhere between so-so and ugly. But the rooms are warm, the beds are comfortable, the central location is convenient, and it was the first time in 8 days that the electricity was stable enough for me to charge both my phone and my camera. It felt luxurious!

Breakfast was OK. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was extremely good and the fireplace felt wonderful. Our waiter put little flags on each table to show where each group was from, and we could see a mix of French, Spanish, Canadian and American visitors.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just one night at Puno and the hotel were up to our expectation, a clean and comfortable room. A bit dark but it is a old building with its charm. Location was the key point, besides tourist points we need some IT stuff, car insurance and groceries, all to be found not farther than 2 blocks. Breakfast was ok but we were not happy to have to pay for a typical broken fallen glass, tipping money, but it was a bit weird.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and thought it was average.

Pros: good central location, friendly staff who spoke English well, clean rooms with a heater in it, extra blankets / bedding, the hotel staff gave us a few rooms options to choose from.

Cons: hotel is somewhat outdated and the rooms don't offer much of a view.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Good location, helpful staff but the rooms are small and dingy. The worst thing was that the hotel had no heating whatsoever apart from small electric heaters in the room which are certainly not up to the job. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casona Colon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Colon Inn

Address: Calle Tacna 290, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Colon Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colon Inn, an antique mansion of the early republican period that has captured all the elegance of this architecture, invites its guests to relax, transporting them to an era where charm reigned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casona Colon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Colon Hotel
Hostal Colon Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona Colon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.