We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place in a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Don Giorgio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada Don Giorgio to your Saves list
Posada Don Giorgio
Tarapaca 238, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Friendly place in a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Puno is a pleasant town and the Posada Don Giorgio was a nice place to stay. It's on a quiet street near the centro and the people were very friendly. The shower was good and hot. Breakfast was one of the better ones by Peru standards. (Don't expect too much). The room was clean and very reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sister, niece and I spent a few days here and we felf fortunate that we had found a quiet, clean spot. The staff was helpful and the breakfast got us off to a good start in the morning. It was only a short walk to Calle Lima were all the shops and restaurants are located

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Average rooms - slightly dark and damp, but made up for by the bathroom - best shower we had in Peru. This was also probably our best night sleep in Peru, being on a side street - it was really quiet. The breakfast was set at a communal table and consisted of the standard bread, jam, juice and hot drink, as well as some cheese. Rates seemed reasonable, although not the most competitive. Very flexible with regards to late checkout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place was great! Small rooms that were mostly clean and great location. Just a few minutes from downtown Puno. They served breakfast which was okay. They don't offer you eggs but you can order them for free if you ask. Usually it was a free bfast that included bread, oj, and coffee. The place was pretty secure and again unlimited cocoa tea leaf.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfar azza, israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Lovely, considerate, helpful hosts. clean and spacious rooms, hot water, free WiFi, lovely breakfast & close to the center - what more can you ask for???
we recommend this sweet hotel with all our heart!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I recently returned from Puno and stayed at this hotel. I didn't book too much in advance as I was not expecting to stay in Puno but needed to before and after my trip to Lake Titicaca. This hotel was listed in the Lonely Planet. I was pleased with the room and the hotel overall. The room I stayed in was a bit small but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean. The breakfast was good with something more than just bread and jam. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I found this hotel to be very good for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Definitely the worst hotel of our trip. Upon arriving at the bus terminal, we were immediately approached by a lady whom we assumed was affiliated with the Posada don Giorgio (whom we had reservations with), as she held up a postcard with its name and picture and offered to help us get there. Silly us -- we should have known better. We immediately knew something was wrong when she hopped in the cab with us, and despite our polite turndowns, followed us into the hotel. We got the keys to our room and then she practically refused to let us enter unless we booked a tour with her. Our entreats to the front desk were ignored. She wouldn't take no for an answer and finally let us go after informing us that she would be back in an hour, this despite all our refusals. Meanwhile, we checked into a windowless room that was dark, gloomy and worst of all, had an enormous skylight above the bed that was absolutely covered in black mold. We asked to change but the management brusquely informed us that the hotel was full. We retreated back outside only to be greeted by our tourguide friend waiting for us in the lobby . Tried beseeching the front desk for help but he didn't speak a word of English, was not at all friendly and seemed far more interested in his football match. We finally booked our return bus ticket with the lady just to make her go away, but she was obviously colluding with the hotel management and together they made for a very uncomfortable stay. Stay here if you must as Puno is short on options, but be sure to ask for a room with a window and be on your guard for touts!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Don Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Giorgio

Address: Tarapaca 238, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Don Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Don Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.