We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very "organised" tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taquile Island (Isla Taquile)

Taquile Island (Isla Taquile)
Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Puno
Type: Islands
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located approximately 25 kilometers from the shore of Lake Titicaca, this scenic island is known for its friendly inhabitants, clear blue lake waters and distant snow-capped mountains.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very "organised" tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped here (and Uros) on the way to Suasi Island. Although the brief stop was interesting, we never ventured further than where the boat docked, and the small grass area was set up with local handiwork for sale.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    358
    149
    62
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limatambo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phantastic if experience if you are willing to open your heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is likely to be as close as you will get to an indigenous Quechua community as an outsider. Whilst the scenery is absolutely breath taking, the real point of going to Taquile is to interact with the friendly and welcoming islanders, learn about their ancestral life style,chew coca leaves with the adults, play ball games with the kids and cuddle the toddlers. Try some local delicacies like chuño (freeze-dried potatoes), mote (boiled broad beens and corn), quinoa and highland potatoes or fish from the lake. You may also purchase a fabulous piece of weaving or knitting directly from the producers without using intermediaries. The islanders are very experienced and charming hosts. You will sleep in their homes and be looked after well, but don't expect any luxuries. Stay at least two nights with a local family and live and eat with them and use the Taquile owned public boats for the boat ride from Puno and eat and drink in the communally owned restaurant in the main square when out on a stroll... This way you can make a maximum positive impact on the island and help the Taquileños to earn their livelihood. You may also support the Taquile owned community travel agent http://www.taquile.net/ who have their office close to the docks in Puno. The islanders are very easy to be with, you only need to open your heart!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful place and the people are very friendly and hospitable. We had lunch overlooking the water that was amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Total Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went on a tour with a large group on a boat out to the island, but we went around the backside instead of the front where most of the boats went. The island was quiet...except for the sound of chainsaws and tourists. As soon as we got the their houses the locals began blowing a horn to get the other area families to come. The showed us their different hats and ways of weaving and dancing and then the tried to sell us drinks and their woven products. This was my 12th day in Peru so by this time I was used to less tourist-y attractions so this came as a kind of surprise. I would recommend this if it's the only area your visiting in Peru.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The island is beautiful and there are no vehicles on it and no dogs. The men knit, the women weave and all the people spin yarn. It is a beautiful island but it felt like lots of other beautiful islands. It felt like we were taken there to fill the rest of the day after visiting the Uros Islands. We had a nice view for our lunch and got to see the mountains in Bolivia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taquile Island (Isla Taquile) also viewed

 
Puno, Puno Region
Puno, Puno Region
 

Been to Taquile Island (Isla Taquile)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taquile Island (Isla Taquile), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taquile Island (Isla Taquile) to your Saves list