We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with an excellent Wi-Fi Connection!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesquicentenario 610 Sector Huaje | Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel with an excellent Wi-Fi Connection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

During our visit to the Puno area, the Sonesta Posada del Inca (Lake Titicaca) was our home. We landed at this hotel because it was booked for us by smartours (we took one of their tours) therefore I can’t come about the reservation process.

The check in/out process was very good even though we were 26 people on our group the ladies at the front desk had everything ready for us. The hotel is a two floor building with no elevators. Our room was room 213 and we had a view of the parking lot. Personally, we did not care about the view because we spent most of the time outside of the hotel. So, the lack of having a nice view was not a big deal for us.

The room was big; it had two double beds, a desk with a chair, a TV with English channels, minibar and a safety box which was not electronic. The safety box had a peculiar key and if you misplaced or lose the key the hotel will charge a fee of $60 dollars.

The only thing that I did not like of this room was the lack of available electrical outlets. The only available outlet was in the bathroom. BTW, you MUST request a converter at the front desk if your electronics are not 220V. Electricity over there is 220V and not 110V.
The bathroom was big, unfortunately the sink’s countertop was small so it was very tricky for us to have our toiletries and at the same time have the converter with our electronics in there. The shower was a regular shower with good water pressure.

One thing that I really like of this hotel was that their Wi-Fi connection was THE BEST off all the connections that we had during our entire trip in Peru. We were expecting a very slow and almost non existing connection in our room but I was wrong. The connection speed in the public areas and in our room was very fast. I couldn’t believe that.

The service at the restaurant was good but a little bit slow. The food was good but not like it was to die for. The presentation of the dishes on the other hand was pretty good but something was missing flavor wise. The service at the bar was kind of decent, their drinks were a little too pricey and they did not have happy hours like the other hotels were we stayed. One thing that called my attention was that the bartender did not like the fact that people tried to charge to their rooms their drinks. He was like pushing us to pay in cash. That was strange.

One thing that I want to mention is that there are no ATM machines in this hotel and the closes ATM was located on the other hotel in this town. Our tour Director recommended us to get money in Cusco because he said that in Puno there are not too many ATM machines.

In general, I liked this hotel it has great views of the lake and the service was good. So, if you are planning in visiting this area you should book a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    142
    78
    24
    5
See reviews for
60
132
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west london
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you plan to stay here you must do your upmost to book a lakeside view. We did not have this opportunity and ended up with a ground floor view of the car park and the railway line from Puno to Cusco. The rooms were a bit cold but there was a heater provided already which I turned on and warmed up with. Beds were comfortable and the room dark. We had no problems with the plumbing and the water was fine, hot water fine. One of our group members felt unwell due to the altitude and was provided with oxygen with no charge. The mask and tube are reused again and again, just cleaned out with an alcohol wipe, some people may not be keen on this. You could take your own if you could get one. We had dinner in the restaurant and four of us enjoyed the meal. The fish from the lake was very tasty. There was no hair dryer in the room but there was a small safe. we did not see much of Puno but we did take a trip to the Uros floating islands which we highly recommend . Look out for wild guinea pigs by the lake.

Room Tip: Get a lake side view!!!!! (ground or first floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

No lift but only ground and first floor. Rooms very large with bath and shower but plug in sink faulty. Heater and fridge in room.
Even numbered rooms have lake view. Lovely grounds with guinea pigs playing on the lawn. Beware of the cat which caught one while we were there.
Very good breakfast watching the sun rise.
Don't miss a trip to the boat at the end of the jetty - free to go on but they ask for a donation. Well worth it.
The Andean Explorer announces its passing twice a day.

Room Tip: Go for even numbered rooms for lake view. Odd rooms look inland over the railway - but only one trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed in over 100 hotels in my life and this oen is by far the best. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are fantastic and the view is out of this world.

We were ill during our stay and the care that they gave to us was really excellent - they had a doctor come straight to our room.

Don't hesitate, just book it!! You will get a better rate from a booking site than straight from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was our second choice due to other hotels being fully booked. It is a nice hotel with a good restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is great with many varieties breads, meat, eggs, coffee, tea, fruits and veggies. The rooms are nice with large bathrooms. The location is a little outside of town so a taxi drive is required to get to the Plazas (usually around 10 Soles or $4). The hotel staff was very friendly and helped organize several tours through a tour company. They even helped us get reduced rates on the tours. Lake Titicaca views are beautiful from the hotel. Make sure to get a lakeside view. They do have free Wifi that works throughout the hotel (except for the very end rooms, we had an end room that would lose connection with Wifi often).

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room. The hotel staff is good at arranging site tours with the tour company at great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were happy to find this hotel, as the hotels in the town of Puno are older, dark and depressing. The service was beyoind reproach--almost sweet. The food in the restuaratn, overlooking the lake, was best we had in Peru. Rooms and facilities were like an "dressed up" Hampton Inn. But, it was a very pleasent stay

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view--half of them do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It has been some years since I stayed at a Sonesta and to be honest I expected better. The front desk were welcoming and gave us a beautiful lake view room. The hotel does look tired and needs a refurb and the safe is manual with a key, rooms were a good size though. Other positives are a steamship museum and some animals. Wi-fi is free but spasmodic. Where this hotel loses points is the food which is appalling if you stuck with the fixed menu which is repetitive, dull and tasteless and usually smothered in cheese, the breakfast is is an absolute disgrace. There is no vegetarian choice on the menu. The best they can offer is vegetarian spaghetti but we got fed up with that. In the end we asked for a pizza which was cheaper than the spaghetti and we were given half a 6 inch pizza each. It is quite remote but in a relaxing spot so that wasn't a problem. My advice would be book minimum possible meals and pay for a la carte which looks a lot more appetizing and has a lot more choice

Room Tip: Lakeview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service. We are realy apologices for the inconvenients that you found in the hotel, all your coment help us, for that reason we give you the thanks.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno

Address: Sesquicentenario 610 Sector Huaje | Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Titicaca, you can enjoy traditional Peruvian hospitality at the Sonesta Posada del Inca Puno. The hotel offers a location surrounded by beauty and tranquility and easy access to all tourist activities. Admire the beautiful landscape offered by the highest navigable lake in the world, surrounded by mountains and snowy peaks. The hotel has a beautiful view of Lake Titicaca from the guestrooms, Restaurant and Bar, as well as from the terrace. Visit the fascinating floating islands of the Uros people and their communities built of cana de totora, Sillustani Chullpas, Taquile and Amantani islands. Also visit the Yavari ship, built in England in 1862, carried in parts by mules to get to Lake Titicaca, now shown as a museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno Hotel Puno
Sonesta Puno
Puno Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.