We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trading on former glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesquicentenario 610 Sector Huaje | Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Trading on former glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Clearly this place was the spot to be circa 1981. Unfortunately the pricing hasn't moved with its declining stature. If this place was only $70 it would be great. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are certainly "ok" and the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms and showers are functioning too but it's over priced for what it is versus other places we stayed in Peru. Breakfast is horrific and the kitchen in general is not great, especially considering how much they try to charge. This is frustrating when town is a taxi ride away. Wifi is only any good in reception.

The best thing about this place is the staff at the front desk. All of the ones we found were super helpful and very nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    142
    80
    24
    5
See reviews for
61
133
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely site on the shore of Lake Titicaca with a rebuilt ship museum at the end of the jetty and wild guinea pigs wandering the grounds.
Hotel was a little way from the town and did not invite evening strolls but the hotel was clean and efficient. Meals were varied and good sized - too much for most people. The breakfasts were also varied with a good selection to cover most peoples tastes.
I did suffer the effects of altitude whilst at this hotel and was very grateful for the service and help given by management and friends.

Room Tip: All seemed good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay. I stayed 2 nights here and enjoyed each one. They have a pretty good restaurant/bar area with a decent breakfast in the morning. The price was a little high $100 a night USD but it is right on the Lake and the location/grounds are very nice. The rooms have mini fridges in them stocked with snacks and beer which was nice. The hallways can be a bit noisy when people are checking in/out. If you're looking to save money, there are better options as this was the most expensive place I stayed while in Peru. Check out the ladies under the stairwell selling their Peru wares. Pretty good stuff.

Room Tip: try to get a room as far down the hallway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner during our month in Peru recently. We got a lake view room which like people said was a beautiful sight. The room was above satisfactory and all the staff very helpful.

I did however get salmonella poisoning the day that I left the hotel which I can't be 100% sure came from the breakfast here but the dinner and lunch the day before I shared the same meal as my partner so am fairly confident but won't mark it down without being sure...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice location away from the bustle of Puno. Room we got was a bit bigger than the one we had at the Sonesta in Cuzco. Beds were also more comfortable and bedding made for a comfortable sleep. It's about a 10 minute taxi ride to the main town square (about S/ 7-8). View from the restaurant and rooms (if they assign you a lakeview one) is better than in town. Breakfast was average. There is a small fridge in the room where you can store water. The hotel charged about US$7 (S/ 18) for a bottle of Evian when you can get bottled water for less than a dollar (S/ 2) in stores in town. Like the other Sonestas, you can order eggs to supplement the buffet breakfast at no cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I guess by Puno standards, this would be classed as quite a good hotel, but by comparison to other parts of the country, it was pretty ordinary and the surrounding area looks a bit delapidated. Rooms are very dated, but the staff were very friendly and prompt whenever we made a request for things such as directions/advice, or extra tea/coffee in the room. Our stay included a continental breakfast, but it was very limited in choice and not very appetising. The locality is ideal, as it is perched on the edge of Lake Titicaca, and we did manage to get a room with a lake view and we found the bar staff friendly and attentive. On average, it might be one of the better hotels in the region, as Puno the town is not for the faint hearted - it's advised to travel with your own accredited tour guide or in a group throughout the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake, as the hotel grounds were in fairly poor condition. Puno is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Could't be better than on the shores of lake Titicaca...or could it? Yes we did get a lake facing room, and spent most of out stay out on the lake, but a number of things could be better. The place is looking tired and in need of refurbishmnet. The rooms were functional, with good bathrooms but the staff need a lesson on customer service and the resturant food and service are basic to say the least. We stayed at 7 different hotels through Peru, Bolivia and Chile over our 3 week trip, and this was definitly number 7.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno

Address: Sesquicentenario 610 Sector Huaje | Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Titicaca, you can enjoy traditional Peruvian hospitality at the Sonesta Posada del Inca Puno. The hotel offers a location surrounded by beauty and tranquility and easy access to all tourist activities. Admire the beautiful landscape offered by the highest navigable lake in the world, surrounded by mountains and snowy peaks. The hotel has a beautiful view of Lake Titicaca from the guestrooms, Restaurant and Bar, as well as from the terrace. Visit the fascinating floating islands of the Uros people and their communities built of cana de totora, Sillustani Chullpas, Taquile and Amantani islands. Also visit the Yavari ship, built in England in 1862, carried in parts by mules to get to Lake Titicaca, now shown as a museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno Hotel Puno
Sonesta Puno
Puno Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.