We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at great prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Your House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lucky Your House to your Saves list
Lucky Your House
Avenida Titicaca 144, Puno 00 51, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Puno B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay at great prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was totally stoned by the altitude sickness. Reception staff firstly advised me to drink the coco tea (free on the house) and then wrote the migraine pill name for me to buy at the pharmacy. Saved my night.

The room was spacious and clean, bed was just right but pillow was slightly too soft. Shower water pressure could be better but this is Latam we are talking about.

Anyway when I checked out the staff offered me some small discount cos I ran out of soles... They also sent me to the door when I left hotel.

The service is perfect even though there are some things for further improvement. But at this price ... Sub used 30, it's value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I really liked this guest house. Thanks to all the previous reviewers, I had great luck with all the places we stayed, all due to you reviewers! A word of warning about getting a taxi to this place, tho. Do not call it "Lucky Your House", you'll be taken to "Lake House". Instead, you must pronounce it with the long "U" as in Spanish, Luuuuuky Your House!!!! Room was good, breakfast was good, and Valentino helped us out with everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very well located - 3 blocks from the main pedestrian street. Rooms are big, comfy beds, with free wifi and the possibility to ask for a radiator when it gets cold (which is the case during the rainy season). Breakfast is really good, water is really hot and above all, the staff so nice! We paid 30 usd for a double room, breakfast included. We really appreciated our stay and recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

For all the good reviews I was a little dissapointed with this hostel, but I´m still giving it 4 of 5 stars because in Puno it isn´t always easy to find affordable hostels with hot water and good heat at night, and this place had both. My room was very loud - the TV downstairs played late at night and the walls were very thin so I could hear all kinds of noises from the other rooms (read: don´t forget earplugs!!). Also, no windows in my room. The breakfast was good, but we were only offered eggs for one of the four mornings we were there. The staff was VERY nice and helpful, they definetly made the stay more enjoyable. The location is about 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas and it´s not far at all to the pier.

It´s a relatively more expensive hostal by Puno standards and so I expected a little bit more than I got.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel very last minute just before we left for Puno. It was highly recommended in Trip Advisor and we didn't have enough time to do a big research. We couldn't have done a better decision.

The room was comfortable, inviting and clean. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and pressure. Specially pressure! If you don't control it you will end up with water even in the hand washer. On the other hand, it was the only hostel in Peru that offered me cereal in the morning beside bread and tea. It is also well located near Puno's central plaza.

But, most important of all, the family that owned the hotel went way beyond. They couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. Plus, they had a beautiful baby girl that could have not been more cute! We were a group of four and they even offered to save our belongings for 2 days and a night while we did an overnight tour in Lake Titicaca (By the way, don't ever skip that tour; it will probably be the best cultural experience you'll have in Peru).

Definitely one of the most welcoming and outstanding service I received during my 13 days in Peru!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Lucky Your House and found the staff to be extremely attentive, helpful and went the extra mile. The rooms are fine and have hot water and an electric heater which is perfect for the cold Puno nights. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the breakfast is great (Valentino makes great eggs!). Moreover: it is great value for money.

We would highly recommend this friendly hotel and its kind staff.

Room Tip: Habitacion matrimonial is away from the street and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After making our reservation on booking.com ($30 per night for a double room with private bathroom) we received an email from the hostel asking us when we were arriving in Puno so that they could arrange our free pick up. Great start! The staff at the hostel were some of the happiest people we had met in Peru, nothing was a hassle. They helped us organise a stay on Uros, let us leave our luggage in a secure room while we went off on our tour, recommended great restaurants and were just generally charming. There was always somebody to greet you at the front door which made us feel very secure. The room was clean, had hot water and came with its own room heater which was very useful. The main street is 5 mins away with plenty of restaurants and shops. Even after we had checked out the staff let us use the hostel wifi, lobby and electricity until our night bus to Tacna. I couldn't recommend this hostal enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucky Your House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Your House

Address: Avenida Titicaca 144, Puno 00 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a glass of Peruvian pisco sour when you will arrive at the Lucky your House or if do you want prepair it yourself..... totally free, is the WELCOME DRINK!!!!! Lucky your House is a spectacular building to match the spectacular city of Puno. Titicaca Lucky House is the fanciest Hostel backpackers in Puno, You can take in the front desk a list of the most usual Spanish words for you learn whit us. The wonderfully late checkout time of 12 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky Your House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Your House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.