We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casona Plaza Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casona Plaza Hotel Centro to your Saves list
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lima 787, Puno Puno, Peru (Formerly Punuypampa Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We were moved to this hotel with ease as the one originally booked in our package had no room. We felt like we had been upgraded to a better place. Thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the rooms, the breakfast and the cleanliness of this hotel. Wifi worked, lots of hot water and the hotel was very close to the square and main visitor area. Had a good meal at the restaurant as when we returned from home stay on Titicaca we didn't feel like going out again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

It is easy to miss, but it is well maintained and staffed. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts in the morning are nice to look at and good to eat. The doors don't fit the jambs great but the rooms are spacious and clean. We had a nice shower, but the tub plug did not work. Some minor mold in the shower but don't drink from the fausets. Buy bottled waters! The views from the window was not the best, just roofs of other buildings. There seemed to be lots of traffic noise all hours, ear plugs helped. Showeres had lots of hot water, now

Room Tip: To find your room is like a mouse maze if you get the right one. Front desk has coca leaf tea and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanga roa, rapa nui
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

very friendly and helpfull place, very centrally located. nice rooms with good furniture, crispy white bedsheets, soft towels and real hot sowers, very good breakfast. all staff very helpfull and cooperative. good value!

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau-Saverdera, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

A medium sized hotel located in downtown Puno in a small side street close to the main square cathedral and shops. The rooms were spacious and warm which was a must at the altitude of Puno. An excellent self service breakfast buffet. Free tea and coffee is available in the lobby. No views! There isn't a great deal to do in Puno except visit Lake Titicaca and it was ideally suited for that. Bars and restaurants were within a 5 minute walk in a safe area of the city.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Clare, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

WE loved this hotel as it was just a block from the main square. Also had all the amenities...hair dryer, breakfast, great helpful staff, tv to catch up on news, and beautifully appointed room, very clean, tea on each floor and a good common space on the lobby floor. We also had a little bit of a view to Lake Titicaca. Great hotel, well run and great location.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the side or back of hotel for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay here! We stayed for 2 nights on this centrally located hotel. Overall is a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. Food served during breakfast was very good, nothing fancy but all the basics are covered, nice strong coffee, different types of bread and ham, eggs, fresh fruits and juices. Also they have complementary coca tea on each floor!!

We had a room on the 3rd floor and it literally took our breath away!!! Getting to the 3rd floor at high altitude is no joke, but we got used to it by the 2nd day and when we went to Cuzco the altitude was not a problem anymore!

Loved the location also since its a few blocks away from the main square and the main street. Only downside is that there's no parking in front of the hotel, so for tours or when they dropped us off, we had to stop traffic for a few minutes.

Would def. stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Pros
- Centrally located less than a block away from the plaza de armas.
- Affordable
- Rooms include a safe

Cons
- Unkept and dirty: The room smelled of must and mold when we arrived. We had to let it air out. One member of our party had to request a room change because her room smelled like an ash tray despite the fact that the no smoking rule. Towels were also harder than a pumice stone and embroidered with the logo of a different hotel.
- Smell of smoke: The lobby generally smelled liked an ash tray. Don't know if this was due to the employees smoking, but we could not get rid of the odor.
- Unreliable elevator: The elevator was out of commission for over a week when we arrived. Our rooms were located on the third and fourth floors. This may not be a huge deal at sea level, but Puno is situated at over 12k feet above sea level. Going up one flight of stairs is painful enough, let alone 4!
- Paper thin walls: Don't expect too much privacy at this hotel. The walls are very thin and you can hear conversations between staff members no matter what floor you're on. Several rooms facing inward are also designed with wall to wall windows, which I found to be odd. Careful where you get dressed or anyone standing in the hall will get to know you very very well.
- Unreliable wifi: Wifi was not functional during most of our stay. We relied on restaurants for access.

Moral of the story: You get what you pay for

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel Centro

Address: Lima 787, Puno Puno, Peru (Formerly Punuypampa Inn)
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Plaza Hotel Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punuypampa Inn is located only a block away from Puno’s main square and under the city’s pristine blue sky that witnessed the birth of the Incas from the sacred lake.The name comes from the city’s original denomination: Puñuy Pampa, which means Place of rest, where in the sixteenth century the transporters and other travelers would rest from their long journeys through the Qollao. In 1668, the Viceroy Count de Lemus decides to move all miner settlements from their area to the town of Puñuy Pampa, where the city is founded under the name of “San Carlos de Puno”Punuypampa Inn comes from two decades of experience working in the tourism industry and it offers visitors the opportunity to rest at in pleasant environment, which is also comfortable and elegant, where the centennial city’s colonial decoration is revalued , with first class service for all of Puno’s visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona Plaza Hotel Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.