We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The WalkOn Inn Puno

The WalkOn Inn Puno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The WalkOn Inn Puno to your Saves list
The WalkOn Inn Puno
Jiron Deustua 901 (int 7) behind the Cathedral, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in this hostel last weekend for 1 night, it seems a little out of the way, up a steep hill from the cathedral but thats only 5 minutes brisk walk to calle Lima where all the bars and restaurants are located. Its very quiet location and feels safe. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Seems to be 3 rooms on each floor. No lift ! The receptionists were excellent, really friendly and went out of their way to call taxis and check with the bus station on timetables etc. Breakfast is paid separate but for 8 soles you get a nice amount, best thing is it starts 6am, and we had to be at the bus station at 7am, so it was perfect. Cable tv lounge with internet computer. A nice hostel if you want a quiet stay and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: The rooms ending with 3 are at the back and get sun in the afternoon but a bit more shaded from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Walkon Inn Puno in February 2011 and we returned in 2012, for the Fiesta of the Virgin of the Candelaria. The hostel staff were very friendly and helped us with all of our needs, we felt at home. The staff showed all about the activities around Puno and they organized our transportation to and from Juliaca’s airport (around one hour to town). We had the best view of Lake Titicaca from our rooms on the third and fourth floors. We had good rooms with private and shared bathrooms (just 2 rooms per bathroom), these and the common areas were very clean, comfortable and safe, the breakfast is delicious and cheaper than other options in the town. The hostel is located in quiet area, just 100 meters from the main square.
We are thinking of returning next year as well. We had a very special time at the Fiesta, which is the biggest celebration in Peru; we danced with people from around the world on the street all day. We went with family and friends, and every year we are more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A fantastic hotel in Puno, comfortable rooms with modern shared bathroom. Helpful staff and a great breakfast. Tea (including coca leaves) and coffee are provided all day. Large TV room with computer and WiFi is free throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We booked this place for 2 nights through email. 1 night before our trip to the islands and one night after. After arriving they told us that they only had for one night with ensuite bathroom. The second night we had to share which we didn't want and didn't booked. The neighbourhood was very far from the centre and very dark to walk at night. We had a double room with an extra bed which make the room very small. The reception didn't know anything about the islands. We had windows all around the room and also 1wall off the bathroom was made off glass. I guess its get really cold here in winter. The showers was nice and warm. You can get much better for a cheaper rate!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights either side of a trip to lake titicaca and we were very disappointed. Location is not ideal being quite a few blocks up a steep hill from the main street in puno. It's a breathless walk carrying backpacks, dark at night and when it rains there is a mini river cascading down the pavement and street. The rooms themselves were fine, good size with bathrooms and hot showers. However when we stayed the whole place was very cold even after renting a heater at extra cost. Speaking to other travelers seems this is not unique to walk on inn, lots of puno hostels have this issue. Wifi worked ok but only on the ground floor not in the rooms.
Our stay was ruined on check out. We had an early bus to the airport so we asked to settle our bill the evening before however the lady at reception said it would be fine in the morning. However in the morning she first could not get our bill right (charging for only 1 night instead of the 2 we stayed) and then she had no change and could not get any until someone came on duty after our bus left with keys to the cash. It the end we left out of pocket - whilst only 5 soles ($2) we should still not have been out of pocket when we made every attempt to settle our bill in time.
Would not recommend staying here - there are plenty of reasonable price hostels around the main street in puno that are more convenient. If you are using the Rough Guide note that the location shown in the latest edition is for the previous location of the walk on inn, the current location is far less central than that shown in the Rough Guide.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The staff at Walkon Inn Puno was very, very helpful. Free tea is available throughout the day and the common lounge area is comfortable. Breakfast is not included but can be purchased for 8 soles per person. It is a simple buffet with bread, jam, yogurt, and eggs. The building is old and could use some renovation. The same goes with the rooms. We had a matrimonial room that was quite small but the bed was comfortable. What the hostel lacks in comforts, the staff makes up for in friendliness. Good location only a few blocks from the main plaza.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had organized a bus terminal pick-up which was wonderful after a long bus ride from Cusco. I don't think this costs extra - we just paid the cab fare. The room was spacious with a shared private bathroom but no one else was using it so we had it to ourselves. It was a little cold at night and I saw a sign at reception that said the heater in your room could be turned on for extra money (we didn't do it). This hostel was booked for us by the Walk On Inn in Cusco so it was very easy. There are unlimited teas available with hot water to help you with the altitude (coca tea) or regular herbal teas. They did a load of laundry which was done in less than one day. We were able to book our bus to Arequipe through them as well. Breakfast was not included but we took advantage as it was eggs, cereals, yoghurt, and fruit. The location is great...maybe 5min walk up from the main plaza. Internet was also included which was great. All in all we had a great stay here would recommend them to our fellow travellers!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The WalkOn Inn Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The WalkOn Inn Puno

Address: Jiron Deustua 901 (int 7) behind the Cathedral, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkOn Inn of Puno can be found in a quiet street at hardly more than one block from the main square (Plaza de Armas) of Puno. Our rooftop terrace offers a spectacular view of the city, the lake and the bay of Puno and on a clear day you can see the snow capped mountains of Bolivia all the way across the lake. At our reception desk you will get correct and complete information about trips on the lake, in the vicinity of the city as well as reserve bus tickets to your next destination, all of this at very competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The WalkOn Inn Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The WalkOn Inn Puno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.