We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bothy Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Bothy Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bothy Backpackers
Jiron Iquitos 136, Puno 051, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Specialty lodging in Puno
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in late April 2013. My experience overall was positive. My friends and I had a private room which was a little dark on the ground floor but otherwise fine, basic but functional. The free WiFi was nice and quick compared to other hostels in South America. And 24hr hot water was appreciated. There was even freshly cooked pancakes for breakfast. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, trying to help us locate a doctor in Puno and then allowing us to remain in our room for a half day when a road blockade delayed our departure for Cusco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
17
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff were really helpful and breakfast was nice with a pancake and orange juice.

Don't stay in the amantani private room as cold, loud as chipboard wall next to dorm and football table. Hot water was hit and miss. Everything was clean though and wifi available throughout building.

Good tours available- highly recommend the 2 day 1 night to Uros, amantani and taquile.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff were incredibly friendly! We booked our full day island trip and bus to Cusco with them and it was good value, highly recommend the trip!! The hostel is a bit worn. We stayed in Coca room and although it was noisy at times it did the job! My only complaint would be the hot water... Very hit and miss, although managed to shower :) would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I was arriving to Puno for one night. At the bus station I met other backpackers and joind them to this hostel.
The hostel was very nice, the wifi was good! The rooms were clean, the shower had hot water. The stuff was very kind and helped booking a tour to the flowing island. When I left the lady from the reception called a taxi for me and asked the driver for discount for me. Good and nice hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic friendly staff, and the breakfast was very tasty! However, the place looked a bit sad! Although it was fantastic value, the communal patio area threatened to flood with the plastic sheet sagging a worrying amount! The rooms were nice but my friend sleeping underneath me on the bunk bed was worried I was going to fall through on him as the beds were so rickety! Was brilliant for the one night though!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the private twin room (shared bathroom). Overall, Bothys covered the basics well; the showers are hot, the staff are helpful and solid security on the front gate is very reassuring.

In spite of this, the whole building needs a big cash injection to bring it up to a good standard. The paint on the walls is garish and faded, our room was very cold at night and the kitchen is almost unusable, it's so dirty and poorly-equipped. The communal area downstairs is a plastic-covered patio which is a nice place to hang-out, so long as it's not raining! Free internet is available on the PCs upstairs and the free public wi-fi is good.

The receptionist kindly booked us a tour of the floating islands and a bus to Cusco, both of which were excellent and offered great value. I'd have no hesitation in future taking the advice of the staff who work here. The breakfast of bread, jam and pancakes is OK (it's free after all) but don't expect gourmet dining.

Finally, the location is fine given that the central plaza is only 10 minutes' walk away. Just be sure to look the address up on a map before you arrive since the exterior is understated.

Overall, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Puno which won't break the bank then Bothys will suffice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The good side is the spacious room and helpful staff. They also help to book tour and bus ticket. The down side is absolutely the shower. The hot water can only last for about 10 mins and then it's cold for a couple mins before it gets hot again. So shower has to be fast. The water volumn is very small too. Given Puno is really cold at night. The shower is kinda annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bothy Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Backpackers

Address: Jiron Iquitos 136, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Specialty lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Friends if You come to bothy hostel Puno. when taking a taxi driver at the bus station is better to tell the driver. that you already have reservacon with us. In our hostel We will always have a space for you. They will try to tell you that we are full when We are not!See You at Bothy Hostels Arequipa Puno PeruDont pay more than 4 soles!! From Bus station Not more than 80 soles from the airport. We also offer a pick up service for a fear price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bothy Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bothy Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.