We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the spongy spots!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uros Floating Islands

Uros Floating Islands
Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Uros Floating Islands like an insider
Top Rated
$105*
and up
Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Puno
Attraction details
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Watch out for the spongy spots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very interesting tour of an indigenous lifestyle, that has been slightly tempered by catering to tourists. After a demonstration of how the residents construct the islands from the Tortura reeds that grow in the lake, we had some free time to explore and take pictures. I went behind a reed house and got "christened" by Lake Titicaca, after falling through the reeds into the water up to my armpits. More surprised than scary! Lots of shoes surrounded me and pulled me out of the hole. The highlight of my trip to Peru!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    741
    351
    136
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“20 Minutes was Enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The fact that they have something like 75 of these individual "floating islands" specifically so they can handle 75 tourist boats in parallel should tell you something. Yes, it was interesting to see how the islands are formed but it really is just a huge tourist trap. The people were friendly enough and the only time we really felt like the money asking was a bit much was on the optional boat ride when one of the locals told us multiple times about how the 10 sol's for the ride were going to the sick children in the community and how he's greatly appreciate a separate tip. It was an ok stop on the way to Taquile island which I liked a lot more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"When will this nightmare end"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The above comment was made by my wife during our 1 night stay on the islands.
Do not stay for a night on these islands - It was our worst experience of a very good trip to Peru.
It is maybe interesting to visit for about 20 minutes or so - but then leave. The people are nice & friendly enough - but this does not make up for a bad experience.
1. The islands smell of sulphide for which we take precautions in our factories - dangerous to your health.
2.Even the poorest people in my country have better latrines. There is also no roof on these temporary structures, so when it rains don't go. we asked for toilet paper which never materialised - thank goodness my wife had brought tissues which we rationed amongst our family.
3. The islands are only 23 years old & have no historical value.
This is an absolute tourist set-up.
They may be poor but take a $40 dollar tip in their stride without a thank you - We will just consider this as a charitable donation.
Do not let your travel agent convince you to spend a night there!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nothing equal around the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Friend people hosts you to see the small floating islands. A joyride on handcraft boats is mandatory. Unique experience, only for USD 5,00. Special handcraft not seen outside the floating islands.
Quite could during winter season, be prepared with hard clothes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fascinating way to live!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited the floating islands on a private boat from the jetty which was easy to organise, less expensive than taking a tour and gave us more flexibility with our day. Arrived at the islands early so it was not busy and many families were setting up their artesania for sale. The way of life on these islands is fascinating - the explanations about how the islands are made, the original foods, how the community functions, their language and new developments were really interesting. Definitely a strong dependence on tourism and some residents are rather insistent about you purchasing goods but that is their livelihood now. Really a terrific day out on Lake Titicaca!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uros Floating Islands also viewed

 
Peru, South America
Puno, Puno Region
 

Been to Uros Floating Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uros Floating Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.