We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tourist trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Uros Floating Islands

Uros Floating Islands
Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Uros Floating Islands like an insider
Top Rated
$105*
and up
Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Puno
Attraction details
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

it is nice to see, but after 5 minutes you have seen it all and then the entire thing turns into a tourist trap with all the locals trying to sell you their merchandise.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    738
    351
    136
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting but touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I visited these islands with Edgar Travels. It was a well organised trip and there was a presentation to show how the islands float which was really interesting. The families on the island showed us to their homes, which made you feel obliged to buy their heavily over-priced handicrafts...we also took an optional reed boat ride, and as we were leaving the women sang songs first in their local language, then in Spanish, then in English...I found the whole experience very interesting, but a little uncomfortable at times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely see it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The floating islands are excellent. Wear waterproof shoes if you have them because the reeds are pretty soggy in some places. We didnt eat at the restaurant because it was a little scary (bugs and stuff) but my friend and I loved buying little gifts and taking pictures. The people are sweet and adorable. Tips are always appreciated :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland. Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“WeLl worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

So glad I had the opportunity to see the way these unique people live. So what if they sell souvenirs? The quality is exceptional and I will be proud to serve my guests on my new tablecloth and the bread in a reed basket! Your craft may be insurance sales or some other kind of sales...everybody is entitled to make a living and I am happy to support these people who work so hard and create beautiful things.
Intersting lifestyle and so much fun to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colors of the lake and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

On the way to Taquile island we did a stop at the community named Uros, the life was different from anything we saw before, but the people were very nice and wanted to share everything with us. Some of the girlds danced for us and we had little but great time with them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uros Floating Islands also viewed

 
Peru, South America
Puno, Puno Region
 

Been to Uros Floating Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uros Floating Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.