We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Turistico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Turistico to your Saves list
Camino Real Turistico
Jr. Deza N. 328, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staying here was very nice, the location is great right next to the "walking Lima street" area. The staff was incredibly helpful, loaning us a backpack when we needed it, suggesting the best restaurants and pharmacies, making reservations for us with Rossy tours to get back and forth from the Juliaca airport, etc. Room was basic with a bed, a very nice bathroom (one of the nicer we saw in Peru) and a little heater. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
35
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
na
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is in a great location just a few min walk from the square. The rooms are clean and plenty of hot water. Try to get a room away from the main street at night it is quite noisy.

Plenty of coca tea and complementary breakfast.

The hotel staff were amazing, they help us coordinate getting our bus tickets to cusco and ensured that we were okay. My father was feeling quite ill due the altitude and the hotel manager tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent hotel and location. Friendly staff. Best complimentary breakfast of all the places I stayed in Peru.

Room Tip: Looks to me all the rooms are in great condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is much nicer inside than outside. The reception staff were friendly, check in was quick, no problems. Cocoa tea is available in the lobby as well as free internet access (free 15 mins per person). The rooms are comfortable, the showers are fantastic - really large and powerful and most importantly nice and hot! Our room overlooked the front street, but we didn't experience any issues with noise. Breakfast was a reasonable selection of fruit, breads, cereal, cheese and meat. The breakfast room seemed to get very busy in bursts but we didn't have to wait long. The hotel is well located about 2-3 mins walk from the main street where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Puno was our first stop in Peru and the altitude change was a shock. This hotel made it as easy as possible to adjust- offering coca tea around the clock, comfortable beds, hot showers, WiFi, cable television and wonderful all you can eat breakfast. I also noticed an oxygen tank in the reception but luckily never saw anyone using it.

The location is fantastic and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

The only downside I can think of is a lot of tour groups come here and stay just one night, so if you´re looking for somewhere to socialise that´s not really the scene at this place. It´s much more of a hotel than a hostel for sociable backpackers.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location and only a short walk away from nearby restaurants and shops. Bear in mind that due to it’s proximity to this area; the street noise at night may keep a light sleeper awake.

On picking up our room key we became aware that the hotel does not have a lift. So beware if you are struggling with acclimatizing to the altitude, it may be a slow walk up the stairs to your room! Having said that, on each level landing there is a nice comfy couch if you want to take a break and catch your breath!

Our room had two single beds and while it was quite cold at night, on request reception did provide a column heater for us to take the chill off the room. We really appreciated this and it made all the difference to us having a good night’s sleep.

The room had a TV and wardrobe and although it was dimly lit with dated décor, it was very clean.

The bathroom was of a good size and more importantly, we had a nice hot shower with good water pressure. We had a louver window in our bathroom that seemed to back onto another room’s bathroom and it was possible to hear our neighbours. We shut our louver and they did the same.

Breakfast was served downstairs in a room adjacent to the foyer and was the usual hotel breakfast for Peru. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit, rolls with butter and jam, and coffee. Also in this area was a complimentary computer with 15 minutes of free internet access per guest. It was ample time for us to check emails from home etc. Wi fi was also available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Bedroom and bathroom were good size, shower was hot, which was a great treat after our other hotel stays!
Our room faced the street and it was really loud and bright, even with the drapes shut. I would recommend bringing an eye mask and ear plugs, which my husband and I both had, so it wash't a problem.
Nice complimentary breakfast, but if you need to use the bathroom in the dining area, remember to bring your own toilet paper.
The hotel is a quick walk from Lima St, where many great restaurants and bars are located.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Turistico

Address: Jr. Deza N. 328, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Turistico is situated in the heart of Puno in the cultural center of the town. Our guests enjoy easy access to the center of the town, restaurants, places where they can find the nightlife and easy access to the best of Puno. Camino Real Turìstico offers you all the comfort the guest expects to have to feel at home; stay in one of the better hotels in the town of Puno where you will feel at home and from where you will enjoy Puno. Our idea in to be able to satisfy all the guest`s needs and wishes from the moment he arrives at the hotel. Camino Real Turistico offers 20 finely decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Real Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Turistico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.