We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ceviche!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona Restaurant

La Casona Restaurant
Lima Street 423 (2nd Floor) | A Cuadra y Media de la Plaza de Armas, Puno, Peru
+51 351108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Puno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Peruvian, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Ceviche!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

La Casona was recommended by our hotel receptionist and did not disappoint. It is on the second floor overlooking a pedestrian street a long block from the Plaza de Armas and I enjoyed watching the human drama as much as the food. The trout ceviche (it has become the dish by which I judge a restaurant in southern Peru!), was excellent, and the quinoa soup, also very good. Service was attentive and good humoured. I also asked for chicken bullion to take out for my ill husband and it appeared when I paid the bill.

One comment about the man at the entrance with a menu. My experience in Latin America is that his presence has NOTHING to do with the quality of the food inside. On a street with several competing eateries, the opportunity to peruse a menu is quite helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    97
    44
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reviews are correct. This is a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have eater here twice on our stay in Puno. Everything was well presented and delicious. Trout, Chicken and Alpaca dishes are all good. Tomato soup and pumpkin soup are great. Service is really professional and no hidden service charges. Nice ambiance on the second floor so you can watch what is going on down below on the pedestrian mall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Really Nice View, Food with Cold Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had trout and lamb, all three plates served with a creamed cheesy quinoa and steamed vegetables. Unique yet familiar! Everything was above and beyond other locations in Puno including the professional service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place Good food good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

La Casona is owned by the same folks as the Punuypampa Hotel. They offer a 10% discount to hotel guests eating at the restaurant. Be sure and pick up a referral card at the hotel desk. Food is very good be sure and try the Alpaca .... best I had in Peru. Prices are in line for a tourist restaurant in a tourist area. We ate at La Casona 3 times and every meal was better than expected.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had dinner on a Friday night at this restaurant based on the recommendation from our B & B host and were not disappointed. We had the trout lasangna, steamed trout, and a lentil soup. All were well prepared and tasty. This was also one of the first places we had experienced in 2 weeks of Peru who advertised that they take credit card and actually credit card. Further, they took my Canadian AMEX which has a chip and pin which seems to throw most vendors.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Casona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.