We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Puno unless you have money to burn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Intiqa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Intiqa Hotel to your Saves list
Intiqa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Tarapaca 272, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Best In Puno unless you have money to burn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel was a welcome rest between long bus rides. It is clean, and comfortable and feels relatively new. When we stayed they didnt have a web page or online booking facility at all... we showed up and snagged one of the last rooms (its not as big as it seems from other web sites). Breakfast was misable, but they kind of all are in South America though really.

Its a good safe stop in amongst a gritty kind of unsafe feeling town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    110
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
155
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The best hotel we stayed in Peru; friendly and personable service. The altitude got to us and in addition to the traditional mate de coca, they offered us some free oxygen. The rooms where well maintained and spacious and breakfast buffet was very good. Definitely a place to stay.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

After having a long bus ride from Arequipa to Puno, we were picked up by Vilma who personally accompanied us to our hotel. This service was included in our hotel package. Vilma also set up a tour of Uros Islands for us the same afternoon. Hot coca tea was served immediately upon arrival to the hotel.
Hotel location was great. The hotel was only 2 blocks from the main plaza and close to restaurants and shopping area. It is also close to the bus station. For a taxi, we paid 5 soles for 3 people plus luggage!
The room was so comfortable and clean. We had a heater and hot water water bottles waiting for us in the room. The shower had hot water and great pressure. We were sorry to leave the hotel. The service was great and they added personal touches that made our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

This is a good hotel in Puno, which is needed as the town isn't that nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful - particularly when I arrived with food poisoning and then the buses/trains to Cusco were cancelled due to stike! I also saw them taking coca tea to people's rooms and providing oxygen, as well as phoning for pizza! The bed was huge and comfy and the room clean. My only complaint was that the tiny storage heaters in the rooms weren't enough for the cold nights, and the shower temparature was temperamental.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our short stay at Intiqa Hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and genuinely wanted to be of assistance. In addition to being very spacious, the rooms had a number of great touches: chocolates, towel animals, hot water bottle at end of the beds, satellite tv, and a space heater. We also appreciated the two computers and printer available for guests and free luggage storage. When we came back to the hotel to pick-up our luggage after our island tour (our flight didn't leave until 9:00 p.m. the day we checked out), they continued to make us feel welcome and we were able to use the computers to print out our boarding passes. We found a great Italian restaurant near the hotel (sorry, I can't remember the name).

My only suggestion would be for the hotel to provide guests with some type of complimentary bottled water or filtered water. Although, they did have hot water available for tea/coffee.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania, usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I echo the generally positive reviews of other travelers. This was a clean, well kept hotel (in the mostly grubby city of Puno). Our room had a comfortable king-sized bed. The breakfast buffet was generous and offered tremendous variety. The staff was helpful.

BUT .... somehow $80 US went missing from the safe in our room ... We had counted the money before it went in and had kept quite careful track of our expenses. When we went to pack up after the 2nd night, half of our money was gone. The staff acted shocked. They gave us $40 back. But to get into the safe would have required the key, suggesting that someone in management was involved. Also, in only taking half the money, it would be less likely that we'd notice.

So, although this was a nice hotel, I would caution others to keep close track of what they put in the safe, esp. if they're there more than one night.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Intiqa Hotel was a very pleasant surprise and definitely the best value hotel during our trip to Peru (also stayed at La Casa de Melgar in Arequipa, Pozo del Cielo in Chivay, Novotel in Cusco, and Hotel Pakaritampu in Ollantaytambo). We were extremely pleased with the choice of this hotel.

The hotel was the 2nd cheapest of our trip yet our triple contained two double beds and a single bed in a nice-sized, very clean, new-looking, nicely decorated room with pergo floors, a couch, a desk, and a closet area. The bathroom was really pretty with a deep bathtub, good hot water (though you had to adjust it during the shower to keep a consistent temperature), etc. The room had a flatscreen TV with DirecTV (which made my Lakers-fan friend EXTREMELY happy and gave my ill self something to do while recovering from altitude sickness). There were two computers in the lobby with free internet that were reasonably fast and even set up so you could delete your cookies and history after you were finished (and had Firefox, not just IE). Breakfast was free, served in the downstairs courtyard, and pretty good with a decent selection of breads, yogurt and cereals, and even a bit of hot food (eggs, etc). The whole place had a clean, sparkling, and nicely decorated feel. It was also located within walking distance of the train station, and more or less around the corner from the pedestrian street and the Parque Pino. It had free coca tea in the lobby, as most hotels did.

Just about the only negatives were that there didn't appear to be heating in the room (and Puno does get cold at night), and there was no elevator so there was quite a lot of huffing and puffing at altitude to get to our 3rd floor room. However, the beds had wonderfully warm down comforters so I didn't get cold while sleeping (though going into the bathroom could be a chilly affair), and the bellboy helped carry our bags up to our room.

I would definitely highly recommend the Hotel Intiqa for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Puno. I was very happy with our choice of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Intiqa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intiqa Hotel

Address: Jr. Tarapaca 272, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Intiqa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intiqa Hotel, offers a local theme with modern facilities, professional team, who is ready to assist you with efficiency that our guests deserve, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Intiqa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intiqa Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intiqa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.