We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place close to Lake Titicaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn Puno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn Puno to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn Puno
A. Ugarte 171, Puno 36 8608, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A cozy place close to Lake Titicaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is located close to the center of Puno and many artisan markets and cafes/restaurants. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They can help you organize tours through the region and to the lake. Breakfast is included, and showers have hot water. Very good value for money!

Room Tip: It gets cold at night, so bring warm clothes. They offer lots of blankets, but people who aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in the Santa Maria Inn in April as a stopover whilst travelling from La Paz to Cusco. We arrived in the late afternoon and left early the next morning so just needed somewhere cheap and easy and this place fit the bill. Just a few minutes by taxi from the bus station, as with all buildings in the town of puno, certainly nothing to look at but:

1) The owner was welcoming, polite and friendly with limited English
2) Front doors were kept locked at all times so felt safe
3) Room and bathroom were basic but clean and we had 2 hot showers in a row
4) Breakfast was made for us at 5am to allow us to get our bus at 6 and included a delicious fresh mango juice
5) WIFI worked in our room on the 4th floor

Only negative was that the room was very cold, but thanks to a previous TA review we remembered that heaters were available to hire - at 10 soles (£2) definitely worth it

All in all a decent stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you're likely to struggle with altitude (Puno is high and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaruja, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife is tired of travelling, so she stood home and I travelled alone in this trip to Peru.

Two things made me book this ho(s)tel: the low price for a solo traveller and the good references in Trip Advisor.

That said, IMHO, it was better than I expected. ALWAYS BEARING IN MIND THE CHEAP PRICE.

There was nothing really that I could complain. The only thing that occurs to me is to warn people who have difficulties to walk, that the hotel is a 5 story building and that it has NO elevator. Not only that, the breakfast is served on the 5th floor. One should also bear in mind that the climbing up and down the stairs is done at almost 4000 meters altitude (more than 13000 feet).

So if you have difficulties to move, this is not a hotel for you. Otherwise, it is an excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent a week at The Santa Maria Inn while we were searching for an apartment in Puno.
We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and friendly to us and our 11 year son. The hotel is centrally located and a short walk from the Calle Lima restaurants and the Plaza de Armas. They keep the front door locked so we felt very secure at all hours of the day. The rooms were pleasant with good pillows and towels and the wonderful views from the 5th floor breakfast room accompanied a very good breakfast of fresh juice, tea/coffee, rolls, jam and eggs. We would highly recommend this hotel to all budget travelers visiting Puno as it provides high quality service for a reasonably low cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

Located a short taxi ride from the bus terminal, is easy to find and well known. Check in was smooth and staff are very pleasant. They knew a little English and us a little Spanish and between us all we got by!! Room was basic but clean bathroom a bit shabby but again clean and shower was hot. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor which has a view of puno and the lake. Consisted of bread & jam, coffee, tea, juice and eggs. Wifi was free and very strong signal. Lima street with banks/ restaurants etc is only 5 min walk away. We paid US$20 fr one night and we were so pleased with what we got for our money - a real bargain! Beds were comfy and we got a really good nights sleep. There is street noise but there is in any big town/city in south America - nothing your ear plugs won't drown out - we found it quite relaxing! Loved it here definately recommend 100%

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Although this hotel is nothing to write home about it is good value for a single at 35 soles a night (about 13 dollars). The lady who runs it is very sweet and kind. She lent me a couple of her own shawls for a few days because it was cold! It is only a few minutes walk from restaurants in Calle Lima and has cable TV and hot water. Wifi doesn't work so well but there is a computer in the lobby. Lots of steps to the bedrooms so not good for anyone with disabilities.

All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed two nights at Santa Maria, Puno. Very friendly and helpful staff. They brought hot coco tea as soon as we checked in. Fresh fruit juice was served with breakfast. Breakfast was served in the 5th floor and the windows had great views of lake Titicaca and the Puno city. They helped us in booking tours and also in taking the local bus to Chucuito to see the pre-inca ruins. Their Wifi connection was very useful with our laptop. Overall we liked their warm welcome and their helpful nature. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Inn Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn Puno

Address: A. Ugarte 171, Puno 36 8608, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Maria Inn Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn Puno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.