We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Titicaca -hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jose Antonio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jose Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Puno - Desaguadero Km 6.5, Puno, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 hotels in Puno
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lake Titicaca -hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at this large modern hotel. As we were only using it as a base to visit the lake we did not mind it not having loads of character - but it had a great view over the lake and seved our purpose well. On the second night there was a Peruvian company conferance taking place which meant that we had to use a smaller restrant and bar on site. The hotel was too far out of Puno to walk but from what we saw of the town it was not worth visiting.

Room Tip: the sunsets / sunrises are spectacular. Be prepared with your camera at sunset to take some very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
15
56
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived in the evening and was welcomed with a hot cup of hot coca tea in the lobby which was situated on the 2nd floor. The night view of Puno from the full glass window was spectacular.

King size bed was very comfortable and clean and the room was spacious. Quiet room provided a good night's sleep. Breakfast turned out to be a bit of an anti-climax but service was good. Rather basic though fresh.

Free wifi was not reliable on all floors. Location was a bit of a draw back for hotel was far from town

Room Tip: A room facing the front will give you the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is on the shore line of Lake Titicaca looking across to the town of Puno. Many of the rooms have great views of the lake but some do not. Our room had an excellent view. The restaurant also had good views of the lake but you had to be early or lucky for breakfast to get a window table. However the hotel is rather isolated being 6 km from Puno itself with nothing in the way of local shops, cafes or restaurants so for a one or two night stay dining at the hotel is really unavoidable. Our room was large, clean and well appointed.Our room was quiet even though it overlooked the lakeside road.It had satellite TV, a mini-bar, and large twin beds. The bathroom with bath, shower and WC was a good size but the hot water did take several minutes to come through to the taps. The room heating was by an oil filled radiator which was adequate. The air conditioning was not working but it was the end of the winter season so this was not a problem - however this might have been different in the summer season. The restaurant offered a broad menu to suit all tastes for breakfast and dinner. There was a large reception area and pleasant bar. We found all the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel did not have an ATM but it was easy to charge services to the room and to change currency if necessary. The hotel also had free access internet terminals

Room Tip: Be sure to book an upper floor room with full lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was traveling through South America with a group and we stayed one night in this hotel.
I got a nice big room with a great view on the lake. We got welcome dring in the lobby and in the room I found some sweets with personalized message from the management which was really nice.

Hotel is little bit outside of Puno but since we only slept here one night it wasn't a problem for us.
Breakfast was OK and we had nice view on the lake again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Friendly staff, prompt service and good food, The box lunches were good as well Rooms were spacious clean and comfortable. The huge fire place in dining area was inviting however we had to get the fire going as the one and only waiter was not able to cope with all the demands for his attention.

Reception staff was cooperative and accommodating and gave us a room for 3 house free if charge for our accompanying Shaman to do our Coca Leaf readings!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were here Feb. 2-3, 2013. It is a very nice hotel, similar to a Ramada or other similar hotel chain. Every room looks over Lake Titicaca which is awesome. The room was clean and efficient. There was a TV. The bathroom was good with plenty of hot water, but like most hotels, did not have an exhaust fan which fogged up the mirror each time you used the shower. We had asked for a matrimonial room but instead got a room with two double beds so we each had our own bed, which was not as romantic as it could have been. We did not complain but made do. The morning breakfast was ok and average at best with watery scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit such as kiwi, pineapple etc. yogurt etc and juice choices. The service was great at both the restaurant and lobby area. However, the dinner menu was very good. I had chicken cordon bleu one night and lomo saltado the last night. Very good and lots better than their breakfast choices. In the dining room, there is a huge fireplace and the entire room overlooks the lake. You are about 10 minutes by car from the center of the town of Puno. There is no pool or spa or exercise room at the hotel, but there is a gift shop. I agree with the rating of a 4**** for this property. This was our jumping off point to see the floating islands of the Uros Indians..This was a wonderful place to stay with great views of the lake.

Room Tip: Remember, Puno is at 12,700 feet above sea level, so take your pills and/or drink your coca tea whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

One of the better hotels that we staryed at in Peru. Spacious rooms, great dining room, lovely view over the lake. Only let down was the front desk. Very uncommunicative staff and poorly trained to boot. Quite happy to leave you standing there while they talk amongst themselves. On checkout I was told that both my credit cards were no good because their machine would not accept them. I knew this was extremely unlikely as the cards were on different banks and the likely problem was their lack of experience with the Visa machine or simply a bad connection to Visa. I paid cash anyway and worried about it all day only to find out in the next city that my cards were just fine. Train your staff manager and teach them a lesson in civility and customer care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio

Address: Carretera Puno - Desaguadero Km 6.5, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jose Antonio 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jose Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.