We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corto Maltes Amazonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Maldonado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Save
You added Corto Maltes Amazonia to your Saves list
Madre de Dios, Puerto Maldonado, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Spending 4/3 days at one of the nicest lodges in Puerto Maldonado, you can't ask for more. The experience is amazing.
All the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: All of them are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    47
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
67
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

First the good parts: Nice riverside location on major Amazon tributary 10km from Puerto Maldonaldo (for airport-efficient transfer by boat provided by hotel) on edge of jungle; some jungle walks from the Lodge and wildlife within perimeter. Interesting packages of activities offered (see website). Knowledgeable and competent wildlife guides (thanks Lucy) who also do their best to provide a contact point for all other guest requirements. Other staff also very pleasant and know their jobs. Food is good standard, served efficiently at set times, tho limited/no selection, which is understandable given location.

Now the less good bits: Some rooms much too near the main block (rooms 2 and 12 especially). So loud pop music first thing from the kitchens (sometimes well before 6 am) and chatter from early walkers assembling . Bar noise in the early evening intrusive but bearable.

Standard of rooms fair although dim poorly-placed room lighting (generator only, power morning and evenings) was a hassle. Maintenance of accommodation is a bigger issue. Should have been hot water for shower but 3 of 4 of my showers were stone cold; complained, fault corrected but failed again immediately due to low water pressure (so adjust or replace pump!). Room not too clean - light switches grime encrusted, blankets (unusually cold at night) left on open shelf and so full of dust. Asked extra for a second blanket, which was provided. Room safe not functioning (batteries dead) until I complained.

Swimming pool: nicely laid out but water not very clean.

No evidence of management on site, presumably in Puerto Maldonaldo.

Room Tip: Take a torch! Avoid rooms 2 and 12; best get a room on edge of plot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our 4d/3n stay at Corto Maltes Amazonia was beyond our expectations. We were pleased when we arrived to find out that we had our own guide for the two of us. He was incredibly knowledgeable and, probably more important, enthusiastic about every activity we did. The planned activities were a good mix of learning about the culture, people, plants, and animals of the jungle. We were fortunate to see a great deal of the wildlife and learned a ton, while also having enough time to relax and not feel rushed. The food was excellent and the rooms were rustic as expected but very clean. And instead of having to get on a bus to go everywhere, like you do in most of Peru, you just hopped on the riverboat. I would definitely recommend this trip. It is a great value for a jungle experience as well as easy and convenient to get to from Puerto Maldonado.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at Corto Maltes on their 5 day/4 night package and couldn't say a bad word about it. We were pleasantly surprised that we (a group of three) had our own tour guide, Saay, who was fantastic. He met us at the airport and took us around the excursions each day. The bungalows are simple but clean and well maintained (although our hot water was a little temperamental) and the food great. The activities were really informative and very interesting. We were lucky in that we saw a lot of wildlife including caimen, a tarantula (I hate spiders and even I thought this was pretty cool), 3 different types of monkey's including a very cheeky spider monkey, bats, turtles, butterflies and loads of exotic birds... You should however bear in mind that plenty of people do the same activities and don't see any animals, we were simply lucky. One of the days included a visit to a rescue centre with heaps of animals that had been orphaned or taken from the black market, which was also interesting and a good opportunity to view animals we hadn't seen including a beautiful jaguar.
All the food was included as well as water and rubberboots (we needed them everyday - a must), breakfast of juice, coffee or tea, a fruit plate, toast and eggs, lunch was always a hot meal, one of the lunches of chicken, rice, egg and olive wrapped in a banana leaf was awesome! Dinners were a great 3 course meal soup, main and fruit dessert. Nice bar if you fancy a drink or game of pool. The gardens and pool are all nicely kept, you can have a very relaxing afternoon by the pool or bring some books to relax in your hammock! At the end of our stay we would have been happy to stay another week to simply relax. All in all, an awesome resort I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I did the 3d/4n programme here and thought it was great value. The lodge itself is lovely with beautiful grounds and comfortable huts with hammocks, some overlooking the river. The swimming pool is great and a real luxury after a day tramping around the humid amazon basin. They have a few pet macaws who like to pose for photos and say "hola" to you which is great fun! Food was excellent and there´s also a bar with cocktails for the evening.

Our guide was brilliant - great knowledge of the jungle and good English. We saw a fair bit of wildlife - tarantulas, caimans, a few species of monkeys, plenty of birds and a giant river otter. We also saw plenty of plants and trees and the guide was able to tell us all sorts of ways in which the locals use them - seems they can cure anything with the right bit of tree sap! The trip to the local village was interesting too - I was worried it might feel overly touristy and although they are well set up to receive tourists it was interesting to meet the family and hear about their lifestyle. We also opted to go on a canopy walk and zip line which was great - only a short course but high enough to be fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have chosen this lodge because of an easy access from the town, we had only 2 days to spent here before flying back home. Huts are beautifully located in tropical garden, far from each other, so it's very peacefull. Basic but very nice and clean. After a jungle trip I relaxed in the hammock on my veranda, that was wonderfull time before dinner. Meals are very tasty and served in a way I would never expect in a jungle, decorated with flowers, etc.
The only complain we had was our guide..... We were promised to have english speaking guide, but unfortunately we didn't. Gloria is a nice woman, but she speaks very basic english. And it was a real problem, as during a jungle trip she was trying to tell us anything about what is around, but she was not able to :(. My friend speaks spanish, to sometimes Gloria was telling stories in spanish, my friend was translating to polish, and finally I was translating that into english for two other members of our group. That was a mess!!!. If you want to have enlish-speaking guide never agree for Gloria, they have other guys to guide you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This lodge really went above and beyond our expectations. The lodge was easy to access from Puerto Maldonado with just a 45 minute boat ride. The resort is designed to give each guest a private bungalow that really makes you feel like you are close to nature. The lodge was comfortable with all amenities provided, very clean, and windows and nets providing protection from insects. We booked the 4 Day / 3 Night program and very much enjoyed the excursions each day. The service at the lodge was excellent, the food was delicious, and the staff was extremely helpful. Our guide did an excellent job teaching us about the amazon. He was an expert in all plant and animal life in the Amazon region.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corto Maltes Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto Maltes Amazonia

Address: Madre de Dios, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Corto Maltes Amazonia Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corto Maltes Amazonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.