We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Refugio Amazonas to your Saves list
Refugio Amazonas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 hours by boat from the nearest town, Puerto Maldonado, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“By far the highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The experience we had at Refugio Amazonas was indescribable. It was so nice to be in the middle of nowhere and disconnect from the world. While the property did have WIFI, it wasnt a great connection so you had a lot of time to rest and connect with the people you traveled with. The accomodations were great. We had a room that had electricity so that was convenient. The food on the trip was great and accomodated our vegetarian traveler well. Even though we had to wake up early, the daily tours were great! Naun was a great host as well!! I definitely recommend this place, and I hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    95
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
115
203
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in Refugio Amazonas in September 2013 as part of a 2 week trip to Peru. As students (aged 21) we were expecting a lot for our money and I can say we were not disappointed! I am not the most comfortable person around insects and bugs but I knew what I was getting myself in for when I signed up for a trip to the Amazon! I find it quite laughable that people have marked down this brilliant hotel due to the presence of a few bugs!!

Our guide, Lucy, was brilliant, her English was perfect and her knowledge about the area second to none. We were lucky to see quite a variety of animals, including; a sloth, anteater, 3 types of monkeys, 2 types of snake, a tarantula, variety of macaws, capybaras and caimans.

The rooms were open and could be loud at times, but we found people were generally respectful to one and other and the noise would subside by 10pm or so. We enjoyed all the trips on offer and feel that this was a brilliant warm up to our four day Inca Trail hike!

We still talk about how much we enjoyed this trip and would both recommend it to anyone who is after a bit of an adventure. If you can't cope with the bugs then stay away from the Amazon, what do you expect in a rainforest?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had high expectations for our stay at the lodge and we were not disappointed! The lodge is really spectacular and the rooms very comfortable. We immediately felt very welcome and it was made clear that the staff were always available for us. Our guide was very informative and tailored our excursions to suit us. The food was fantastic and plentiful which was a great surprise! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already recommended Refugio Amazonas to other travellers we met on our trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

All I can say is that the experience was brilliant!

Service, location and facilities. For the middle of the Amazon Basin, I'm amazed this even exists.

It even has WiFi! To be surrounded by jungle and experience first hand this part of the world is truly gratifying.

Thank you

Room Tip: They are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

An amazing hotel in the middle of nowhere - now with wifi (beeter than you can get at some luxury hotels we have stayed in and it is free!.

They even made a birthday cake for me with a bottle of wine.

Our only complaint is that they need to remind guests at the welcome talk that the rooms are open at the top and sides (to experience the jungle noises) - so those who decided to play their music and chat at all hours of the night, that this disturbs other guests who have to get up early for jungle walks etc.

However, the food and staff were amazing! Well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the moment I walked into the property I knew I was in paradise, could feel the stress melt away. Our welcome was personal and informative, immediately felt welcome and this feeling stayed the entire stay. Lounge / dining / bar area was open and relaxing. Rooms absolutely stunning and immaculately clean.

I work in hospitality and I would rate Refugio amongst any 5 star resort with the ambience of opulence, and was made better by there is no electricity in rooms just gas lamps for a few hours. And no doors, just curtains and only 3 walls, so one end of room was open to rainforest. I cannot recall the last time I slept as well as I did at Refugio. Constant feeling of total peace.

Food was fantastic and staff serving always smiling.

The few days in Tambopata were part of a 2 month holiday around South America, and I would have to say that Pedro, was the best Tour Guide I had of all the different tours I did. He was passionate and knowledgable, never did he talk at us but all of our group were 100% engaged when Pedro shared his knowledge with us.

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a two hour trip down the river from Puerto Maldonado, we alighted from the boat to be stunned by this wonderful lodge. It looks spectacular nestled in the jungle, and the boardwalks between rooms made it easy to transfer things to our quite luxurious room. We had an excellent shower and bathroom off the bedroom, and although one wall was open to the jungle, the mosquito nets were so securely fitted to our bed that we had no fear of any jungle critters paying us a visit in the night! There was a hammock by as well as our beds and it was great to swing in it and listen to the jungle noises. The beds were very comfortable and everything was squeaky clean. We wished that we were staying for more than one night. The food was delicious, the staff more than helpful and all in all it was a delightful surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: 3 hours by boat from the nearest town, Puerto Maldonado, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.