We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing, probably too comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Refugio Amazonas to your Saves list
Refugio Amazonas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 hours by boat from the nearest town, Puerto Maldonado, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just amazing, probably too comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip as part of our tour of Peru and it was unbelievable. Right from the start it was exciting - a small local snack on the way to the river port. Then a wonderful trip up river to the camp. They provided food and drink on the boat. The lodge is amazing, really relaxed and all staff were great. We were welcomed with cold drinks and damp towels - ultra humid.
Our guide, who stays with you during the entire visit from breakfast to dinner that night was excellent. Fantastic English and great local knowledge, not to mention a super human ability to spot tiny creatures for us to look at.
All activities were great and the food was good, catering for our vegetarian needs. In addition, they made a birthday cake (unprompted) for my girlfriend! Wonderful touch.
The rooms won't be to everyone's taste, however I enjoyed feeling like I was part of the jungle. You do hear other people snoring through the walls but that's fine. We were so active and up so early that we were exhausted and could sleep through anything.
Bathroom was more than adequate considering where we were - just remember a torch.
Would love to go back again

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    88
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
108
192
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the Refugio Amazonas from 10/8/13-10/11/13. This place is amazing. I am so ticked off by some of the reviews on TripAdvisor - didn’t see enough wildlife, luke warm food, not enough selection, unreliable hot water??? Seriously, what do people expect in the middle of a jungle???
Once we landed in Puerto Maldonado, we, along with few other tourists were met by our tour guide Jaime and taken to the office about 5 minutes away to store our bigger pieces of luggage. Only a backpack is highly recommended for your trip to the lodge. If you haven’t done so already you’ll get about 15 minutes to re-pack your stuff. After that, you take a 45 minute bus ride to the little village of Infierno (Helll) where you get on a boat. The boat trip is up stream and takes about 3 hours with a brief stop at a check point. You sign your name and passport number into a log book; this is how they keep track of people entering the Tambopata National Reserve. This is where they used to stamp your passport with a cool jaguar stamp but that is no longer being done.
Once we arrived at our final destination, it is about a 10 minute walk to the lodge. Bigger pieces of luggage are carried to the lodge by porters. Once at the lodge, we were greeted by the staff and the lodge manager Miguel aka. Michael. After a brief orientation about the lodge rules we were shown to our rooms.
The rooms have beds with mosquito nets, table, a couple of chairs, hammock and a separate bathroom with a shower, and of course one side is open out to the jungle. Very nicely decorated and clean. The electricity in the lodge is powered by a generator and on only from 12pm – 1pm and 5:30 pm to 9:30pm (sometimes 10pm). Majority of the rooms only have candles and kerosene lamps. Rooms number 1-8 are considered deluxe and have electricity during the designated hours.
The food was plentiful, tasty and served buffet style. They even accommodated vegetarian and gluten-free diets. You are assigned a table with your guide, and your group. Our group had a total of 8 people, and the only thing I would recommend is making the groups a bit smaller for better wildlife viewing.
We saw macaws and many other birds, capuchin monkeys, turtles, capybaras, agouti, tarantulas, beetles, frogs and butterflies. Quite a few reviews complain about not seeing enough wildlife, the animals don’t sit around and pose for tourists so if you are expecting wildlife at every corner, I would recommend going to the zoo instead.
Our guide Jaime was great and very knowledgeable but so are most of the guides in Refugio Amazonas. They see things that we typical tourists would never pick up on.
The day is packed with activities such as nature walks, clay licks, visit to a fruit farm etc. it was all so exciting we couldn’t get enough. It was a wonderful experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat.
Thank you to Miguel who does a superb job running this lodge, Jaime our guide who was simply awesome and answered all my non-stop questions, Cristian with whom my husband went on a jungle bike ride, and all the wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well designed lodge but getting there was not smooth. Having flown to Puerto Maldonado and being met by the Lodge, we were taken to their office and kept for 2 1/2 hours waiting for the arrival of other passengers. Then it was a four hour trip up river so we got to the lodge after dark, missing half day of activities and scrambling in the dark to unpack. Room was great as were the other facilities at the lodge. Disappointed that we did see much wildlife after all the effort of getting there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. There are 5 flights in different schedules flying to Puerto Maldonado daily and sometimes we need to wait for other guests to fill in our boats’ capacity. Unfortunately in your case the flight of the other passengers delayed and that’s why you arrived late to the lodge. We are sorry for your inconvenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days on my tour of Peru.
Getting to this lodge wasn't very easy...Flight from Lima to Puerto Maldonado, the airport in itself was an experience.......
Then a short bus ride to the head office to drop off unwanted stuff...they actually gave me a small bag to pack some stuff in.
Then a 2-3hr boat ride to the lodge but we stop after 1hr to checkin at a central site. (toilet stop)
The boat ride was an experience.... of driving in the pitch black without lights but I guess these guys are skilled. Then a 10 minute walk to the lodge.

The lodge was nice, we had a welcome drink and was in time for dinner.
The manager explained the dos and the donts.
A guide is assigned to a group and he/she eats with you and decides on the time for the tours.

The room was pretty big, and the beds were comfortable.
I had visitors to my room at night but none was able to breech the strong mosquito net.
The bathroom was the best and there was hot water.
I had a hammock and slept in it...one afternoon.
I went for the superior room which had electricity until 10pm as wanted to charge my stuff but there is loads of chargers in the restaurant area to charge your stuff.
There is a safe in the room, and a whistle.....not sure what it was for lol.
There was wifi for a brief period.
The restaurant meals are served at set times...its buffet style and the meals were pretty tasty.
I notice that the food was pretty limited in quantity meaning one could not have seconds or thirds lol.

We did several walks.....one to the parrot clay-lick and we saw loads of green macaws.
One to a lake where sat in a canoe and looks around for wild life...one to a mammal lick but we didn't see any......canopy walk was very good, climbing a 25m tower, we had a good look at the scenery...and a few birds....
One trip to a farm and another on a medicinal trail.

All in all I loved this experience.
If you want to experience life in a lodge and traveling on the river with a relaxing evening then this is the place for you.
If you want to see a lot of wild-life then maybe this is not the place.....but there are loads of birds.

Make sure you have insect repellant as during the walks the insects can be a bit annoying. Remember to apply it to you face as several people in my group had bites to their face. Also spray the repellant on your clothes as well. I saw someone with a hat with an attached netting....I wish I had brought one of those.
If I had to do this again would have probably stayed at the closer lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for your review; we hope you enjoyed your stay in the Amazon. We are reviewing the per head food portions of our lodges and already making some changes to be able to provide a better service at this end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way the Research Center and it was very pleasant. Good food and the drinks were cheaper than most places in Miraflores. We really liked the open walled room that allows all the sounds of the jungle to with you all night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are a family of 4, with 9 and 11 year olds. It was a lovely hotel in the middle of the jungle. The food was varied and very good. They were kind enough to make something just for my son when he didn't like what was on the menu.

The staff was wonderful. Your guide sits with you at all meals which we enjoyed. He was extremely knowledgable and would educate us before going on our outings. The rooms were kept very clean. The bartender made great drinks.

The rooms are beautiful with one side being open and facing the jungle. The large downside is you hear everything your neighbors say. We had the joy of listening to some teenage girls singing loudly and off-key with their headphones on. Make sure to get a room at the end where you will only have one neighbor.

We were disappointed with the amount of wildlife we saw, especially at the clay licks. We sat for 2 hours by a clay lick where you are supposed to see macaws. We saw 4, a mile away, and they did not go to the lick. We did get to see some river otters while we waited which was nice. At the mammal clay lick we didn't see anything. I expected to see more monkeys and birds in the jungle. We did happen upon a Peruvian Rainbow Boa.

While the wildlife may have been a bit disappointing, the jungle was amazing. Everything is huge - the plants, ants, trees. Our guide had a wide range of knowledge and made our hikes fun as well as educational.

My son is very well traveled and this is the only place he asked how long it would take to save his allowance so he can come back again.

No one can guarantee wildlife sightings so the only thing of control over is where to stay. I would definitely stay here again. It was a wonderful way to start a 3 week trip in Peru.

Room Tip: Be on the end!!! The rooms have no ceilings and three bamboo walls. You can hear EVERYTHING in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were not sure what to expect but the lodge was excellent - very clean food good even a fully stocked bar - the boat trip up to the lodge was very quick and interesting - we did night cruises to find Caymen and then nature walks in the morning - our guide Yohan was amasing - he knew all the animals and flora - thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: 3 hours by boat from the nearest town, Puerto Maldonado, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.