We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Jaunt in the Jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica to your Saves list
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Jaunt in the Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 days and 3 nights in this exquisite jungle lodge. The rustic bungalows were very comfortable with hot water 24 hours a day. Our's had a large double bed with mosquito net and two hammocks in which to relax. There was a good selection of treks to choose from and our guide Alan was very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke excellent english (as did everyone on the site). During the course of our day and night tours we were fortunate enough to see caiman, giant otters, a sloth, a tarantula, macaws, toucans and 4 types of monkey, My wife also saw a young tapir which came speeding through the camp as she relaxed in her hammock. The food was freshly prepared from locally sourced ingredients and was varied and delicious. Overall I would rate our visit to the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica as the undoubted highlight of our 3 week stay in Peru.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    115
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
119
237
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Some of the previous reviews noted a lack of "wildlife". Don't forget the plants. The guides are very keen regarding the botanical side and the uses the indigenous people have made of them (cure your friends, please your lovers, and remove your enemies). I got great pictures of caimans, tree sloths, tarantulas, bats, and red boas. I also signed up for an extra-cost day of birding and logged 70 species -- Aracaris, Jacamars, Kingfishers, Motmots, Trogons, Hoatzin, Macaws, Herons and Jabirus.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

The lodge is good, but this is expected for the price you pay.
The restaurant served great food. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive.
The guide was also really good, knowledgeable and most importantly, was able to share his passion with us. Elias was able to spot for us some wild animals/birds/etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I spent two nights here with my wife, son, daughter and son-in-law in May.

All that I had read about this property in the various reviews were correct. Right from the time we landed at Puerto Maldonando till the time we departed, we were always well looked after and cared for in every possible way.

The hotel staff picked up our baggage at the airport, they even allowed us to carry an extra bag; while we discussed our itinerary with our assigned guide (Carlos) at the hotel , our bags had already been placed in our rooms.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and given the remote location, the services provided are very commendable; there is electricity availabe for a few hours every day; several lanterns are lit up for every room each night; I found the hammocks in the verandah outside the rooms very comfortable and relaxing; the kitchen staff were able to provide vegetarian food to my wife and son and were always very accommodating.

On the downside, the wildlife that we saw was nothing much to write home about; a couple of Caymen, a few species of birds, a few turtles and the odd monkey; but you cannot hold the hotel responsible for that. The guides always make it a point to emphasize that sighting wildlife is like Russian Roulette, and we undertand that; still, one does not travel thousands of miles just to stay at a comfortable hotel.

The Canopy Walk was an interesting and novel experience for all of us; our children made the muddy trek to Lake Sandoval in boots provided by the hotel, but saw little. Forget the otters, their numbers vary based upon who you speak to and we did not come across any other tourist who had seen any.

The night walk through the jungle was also uneventful, we stopped from time to time to listen for sounds, as we could not see any animals. The River by night was engaging, but only the brilliant star-lit sky. I was impressed with our guide who could point out the various constellations and engage in a knowledgeable discussion with one member of our group who seemed to know quite a bit about the stars and their positions.

On an overall basis, the hotel has excellent arrangements and is quite comfortable; service is good and comes with a smile; the guides are knowledgeable. If you get lucky and get to see some more wildlife than we did, you will find the trip very rewarding indeed!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Just returned from a 4 day 3 night stay at this lodge and we were thrilled with this place! We wondered about which lodge to choose and we did want to experience the jungle, but frankly we are in our 60s and wanted a bit of comfort as well. Were not disappointed in any way. Let me just say that in May, June and July you can get a cold front going through (highs of around 20) and a hot shower is so welcome! Our guide, Alan, was superb and we saw a lot of creatures, some very difficult to spot. We did as many tours as we could - the night walk in the jungle gave a us a healthy respect for what lurks there and how dark it is. We travelled by canoe and by small boat along many narrow channels - there were only 5 in our group so the attention was pretty personal, It had rained and the trails were pretty muddy so the heavy boots made sloshing through it a really neat experience. The grounds were beautiful, the food superb, the staff friendly, and the "hut" we were in was amazing. Hot water in the morning and evening, electricity morning and evening - just a little light but you could see to wash, you could charge your battery, and the lanterns did the rest. Hot water bottles placed in your bed at night were a welcome touch. Very romantic. Just a hint - if you are travelling with luggage prepare a bag before you fly with just enough to see you through your stay - soap, shampoo and conditioner are supplied and are nice. Remeber to pack something warm just in case. You can leave your suitcase with Inkaterra at their office in Puerto Moldonato. Makes life easier and you we really didn't miss anything. Anyone looking for a jungle experience with a few creature comforts will not be disappointed. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I could not over rate this hotel. for an Amazon stay The food and staffing was outstanding

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

If you want to stay in the jungle, this is the place to stay. The cabins are charming, the grounds exquisite and the staff is amazing. We had Carlos as our guide and he really made our trip. I never expected to meet someone so passionate, energetic, personable, and knowledgeable. We did the Lake Sandoval excursion and the Canopy as well as the twighlight river ride. The food was amazing and while you are in the middle of the jungle we felt completely pampered. I would recommend this place to everyone. There isn't a single negative thing to say about our experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.