We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugged Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica to your Saves list
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rugged Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a three day stay at this lovely resort. We had been travelling for about two weeks and stayed in some wonderful hotels including Inkaterra Machu Picchu. Our first impressions were not good. We were a little shocked by the wooden bus sent to collect us from the airport, definitely would not be road worthy in most countries. The butterfly house was a little strange but the cold drink and refreshing towel were welcome.and the whole process went smoothly. A 40 min boat ride to the resort and straight into it. We were matched with a lovely family for our tours and we had no problem coming to an agreement on selected tours with the guidance of Hugo. The tours were excellent and every effort was made for us to experience all that the Amazon in this area offers.

The cabana we had was very comfortable. We loved the sounds of the jungle and the rain in the evenings. The power outages were no real problem for us.

The food was excellent and we really enjoyed our service team particularly Juan and Carlos. The main restaurant bar area is a little tired and needs some attention - faded upholstery on lounges, and very bad lighting. The light shades could be replaced with more open shades and the lighting could be much more efficient. Some guests rushed around finding cushions for the hard wooden dining room chairs.

Although these things worried us in the beginning we soon settled in to all the delights of the jungle and would recommend this hotel. The hotel staff did all possible to make our stay a happy one.

Room Tip: The cabanas on the riverfront had a very special outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our property and we appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will help us to continue offering our guest with an excellent service.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    115
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
119
237
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I loved everything about my two night stay. The food was fabulous. A breakfast buffet was included and three courses for lunch and dinner. The bungalows had everything we needed, including a hot shower. Our guide for excursions was Luis and he was very knowledgeable. I did the following excursions: twilight boat cruise, Lake Sandoval, Canopy Walk and night walk. I would suggest all of these to anyone who stays there (except the Canopy Walk if you are afraid of heights). Lake Sandoval included hiking and canoeing and gave our group the opportunity to see lots of wildlife. All of the staff we encountered were courteous and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our property and specially for our service as our staff is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here during our trip to Peru/Bolivia booked through Imagine Latin America, who for the second year running arranged a truly memorable holiday. The hotel is set on the banks of the Rio de Dios, about an hours wonderful boat ride from Puerto Maldonado. the lodges are roomy and comfortable, although be aware there is no electricity between 3p.m and 6 p.m. and again from 11 p.m. until 6 a.m. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the various activities are very well organised by knowledgeable and experienced guides. Things are a little too organised at times, but you have to remember you are in primary jungle and so it is unwise to wander off alone! My only complaint would be that evening meals were always served barely warm. The canopy walk is amazing although you do need a head for heights.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope you keep great memories.

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us and for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This establishment is well run and has very knowledgeable guides. For the most the staff is friendly and hospitable and try to make your stay enjoyable. The excursions are very much on a set time table and operate like clockwork as you would expect on a cruise line. If you like your vacations with preset schedules this place is for you. With that said, this is a remote part of Peru so this is what you should expect as they make every effort to keep you safe while creating an enjoyable experience.

I fell ill on my second day (due to something I ate in the previous city) and was bedridden for the majority of the stay I did not see much outside my room after the first day. This is probably not the best place to fall ill as it is very hot and humid and uncomfortable if you have a high fever. My husband went on a few excursions and had fun. We are not cruise people but we imagine the schedules (set times for dinner, excursions etc) to be similar. If you miss an excursion you're out of luck for the day and are stuck on the main grounds as you' re not permitted to go anywhere for your safety, which is understandable.

Inkaterra was a nice novelty, it is well run and delivers what you'd expect after reading reviews here- overall it was just not for us and we would have preferred spending 3 nights elsewhere in Peru or South America. . .

Room Tip: Cross your fingers you get considerate neighbors who are not obnoxious at night. You will be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Exotic, yet accessible, Reserva Amazónica Lodge is situated in a private reserve, surrounded by a vast Peruvian Rainforest. The property offers more than a dozen excursions and the itinerary is shaped based on personal interests, desired activity levels, weather conditions, and length of stay.

We are sorry to hear that you fell sick and that this affected your experience with us. We would like thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica and hope to welcome you again in a next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this place. I think it is awesome. Very well organized, includes all meals and activities. The staff go out of their way to make your stay great. I loved the trip to Lake Sandoval, we got to see a sloth there with our guide Mr. Wilson who was great. The Twilight river boat ride with Reuben and Julio was great as they can spot Camans anywhere and of any size! Dining is great with Roberto. He really makes everyone feel so special and the staff and food are excellent. I think this is great place to enjoy the jungle and still have all your creature comforts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for your lovely comments and for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this property as part of our Macchu Picchu trip. While billing itself as an eco resort, we found the accommodations more spartan than necessary. The bungalows, while spread out over the property, are sparsely furnished and there was only electricity from 6 to 10 pm each day mostly when you are out of the room at dinner.

While the dining staff was friendly and provided excellent service, we found the dinner selections to be very limited (3 or 4 choices), and not near as good as lunch. The tour guides were very knowledgeable, but the tours were very mediocre. We also felt that when we went to the meeting the first night, that we were led to make choices, not based on what we really wanted to do, but rather on what the guides felt like doing the next day. For eg., "Oh, you probably won't want to do that excursion, as it has been raining and there is a lot of mud to walk through." Oh, really, spoiler alert...we are in a rain forest!

But the icing on the cake was when our new $1000 camera was missing from our room. On the afternoon of our arrival, my husband went out and took some shots before dinner. That night we went on a night walk into the forest...we DID NOT take our camera. The next morning when we were about to leave for our excursion, we could not find the camera. Interestingly, the case was still on the table. My husband immediately went to the dining area...there is NO reception desk, to report this. The person there suggested that my husband lost the camera in the forest. REALLY! They then made inquiries to the staff, who saw and knew nothing. They suggested we make a thorough search of our room. So, as we were leaving the next morning, we went back and TOTALLY unpacked and repacked our suitcases. We had to do this anyway during daylight, as was previously mentioned, there was little light after dark. Again, these rooms are very small, with hardly any closets or drawers, so there wasn't much to search. We reported our loss to our tour director, who also talked with the reception people. We then went on our morning tour...no camera turned up and no one knew anything about it. At lunch, both my husband and our tour director (who I believe put tremendous pressure on the management staff) had another meeting with the reception people about this.

During our afternoon excursion. a radio call came in to our guide, and Oh, miracles of miracles, they conducted a thorough search of our room and, indeed, they not only found the camera in our room, but it was in it's case on the table when we returned. Imagine that!

No more was made of this and we left the next day. While we have NO PROOF that our camera was taken, this is a closed community and only accessible to a finite number of people.

Also, forgot to mention this, but....there was a cheap pair of binoculars on the table with the camera. As we were very concerned about retrieving the camera (our whole vacation was on it). we never mentioned the binoculars or demanded their return. Not surprising, they were not "found" in our room.

Beware!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Following our conservation and ecological philosophy and striving to maintain authenticity, the power generator works during limited hours providing the necessary electricity to guest before and after their daily excursions. After this, we include gas lanterns to provide light, creating a warm setting.

We appreciate your kind comments about our staff at the dining room.
An à-la-carte dinner is included in our rate and the menu changes frequently in order to provide different options to our guests during their stay. We are transferring your concerns to our Food and Beverages Manager.

A selection of à-la-carte excursions are provided to our guests, they can choose the preferred ones depending on their personal interests as well as weather conditions.
We need to be accurate providing information to our guests regarding the activity so they can make an informed decision on whether they do or not an excursion.

We are deeply sorry that the situation with your camera affected your stay with us.
Through careful selection, training, and supervision of our employees we try to see that our guests are at all times served promptly and adequately.
Personal from our House Keeping Department made every effort to find it, according to our records the camera was found in your cabaña, under the bed, as reported from our Housekeeping Supervisor. We will review our procedures in order to guarantee the security for our guests.

We would like to thank you again for your review, and for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a great time in that place after travelling everywhere in Peru and after the inca trail. A couple of things which were odd though. 1- The arrival ( you have to stop in the butterfly house to check in- also you are asked to go directly to lunch instead of going to your bungalow despite the fact you have travelled and that day i was soaked entirely...) 2- the excursions you can do: you nearly have to decide everything first and you have to agree with a group of total strangers about what you will do! 3- the bungalows are very close to each other so you will not sleep in! And often you will be waken up from 5 a.m. 4- not all info are clear or even communicated....( we could have seen some birds that they are feeding but we did not know despite staying 5 days!) -
The great stuff: 1- you are in the Amazonian 2- you are eating very well 3: you are looked after very well by the staff ( some staff made the experience amazing). 4: the bungalow is very luxurious. 5: you are in THE Amazonian !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and for giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We have transmited your comments to the correct area so we can review our procedures.

We also appreciate your lovely comments for our property specially for our staff who is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you again for your review and for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.