We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, given the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica to your Saves list
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great, given the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

For the remote location, the accommodations are great - understand you are not in New York - and that is a good thing. We found the food to be very good and my wife is pretty picky. The guides were great and tried hard to provide a good experience. Our only disappointment was the lack of animals. We did see quite a few birds, some caymens, a few monkeys and insects, but not much else. From talking with others, our experience was pretty typical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    103
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
109
221
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, fl
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Inkaterra, the cabanas where just lovely and exotic. Our guide Wilson was the best, he was with us the whole three days from 5:30 wake up call to 7 Pm dinner. Fishing for Piranha was the highlight of the tours, although it did cost about $120 extra and the ride up river was 2.5 hours each way. The food was presented beautifully ( of course menu was limited) but we always found very appetizing choices. Of course being in the jungle no access to internet or phone was nerve racking. Our tours were so exhausting we slept good every night and woke up to the sounds of birds each morning. I would recommend and go again.

One more point, on the Piranha fishing trip you are given the opportunity to swim in the lake with the piranha, however there is no latter to get back in the boat. Youhave to use your own strength which is very very difficult.

Room Tip: thry to get close to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a fantastic stay. The cabins were both luxurious and rustic at the same time (without power at night and in the afternoon). The service was great from the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we returned. The guided activities were excellent (e.g. caiman hunting at night, canopy bridges, animal searches in canoes). Our guide Jesus was a native of the area and was able to spot animals that we would not have seen even if we knew what to look for. We had particular fun on the piranha fishing expedition (extra cost but so worth it). The food was excellent (gourmet food prepared with a local slant but general appeal). The average age of the visitors seemed to be 60+.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were looking forward to this after our very positive experience of the sister Inkaterra at Aguas Calientes, but this wasn't a patch on that. Sustainability is all very well, but choosing to have no power until 6pm when it is dark by 5 is simply bizarre. Rooms when you could see them were comfortable if appropriately basic (e.g. no hair dryers). Food was OK to terrible. Tours had positives and negatives. Guides were well informed but could not hide the fact that the reserve is severely depleted of animal life. Canopy walk was good fun but challenging for acrophobes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sally and Harry

Thank you very much for your post. Following our conservation and ecological philosophy and striving to mantain authenticity, the power generator works during limited hours providing the necessary electricity to guest before and after their daily excursions. After this, we include gas lanterns to provide light, creating a warm setting.

About hairdryers, these are not included in all cabañas, however there are some available upon request at the front desk.

It is important to keep in mind when visiting the rainforest, that it is an open system where many species co-exist. The Amazon has abundant wildfife, but many of the animals like to hide in the dense vegetation. Part of the experience is to go with the explorer spirit awake.

We would liked to know exactly what dissapointed you about our Food and Beverages service, because we take special care on this. Our menu is inspired by the tropical flavors of the Amazon region, using fresh local ingredients.

We appreciate your comments and thank you for visiting Inkaterra during your time in Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we stayed 2 days and 3 nights in the Inkaterra Amazonica lodge in Puerto Maldonado. You pay in advance for your stay and they take care of everything else for you.... literally everything. They welcome you with signs with your name on it the minute you step off the plane in Puerto Maldonado and take excellent care of you until you board your departure flight including checking you in and printing boarding passes, and everything in between. They handle all your luggage, your meals, your excursions as every aspect of your trip is taken care of for you.

Guest usually arrive on Day 1 and board and take a 5 minute shuttle ride to their butterfly house welcome center. Lodge ambassadors greet you with a flavorful drink and a cool towel and let you freshen up from after your flight. Then you take a 10 minute bus ride through town to the port. They will handle all of the luggage transportation for you, and they do it with a smile. You then take a 45 minute boat ride along the river to the lodge. Guests usually eat lunch once you arrive at the lodge and they will extend lunch hours if your flight is delayed like ours was. After lunch, you usually have a couple hours to rest in your cabin before a meeting where the guides discuss all the available excursions you can take. After that, guests can usually squeeze in a night time activity such as a nighttime river boat trek to look for caymans, or the nighttime walk through the jungle to look for sloths, tarantulas and other nocturnal creatures. Then dinner after that. The next day I would recommend breakfast, then the Lake Sandoval Excursion, then lunch and rest period and then an afternoon hike 100feet up in the jungle along the canopy bridge course. And another night trek that evening. We departed the following day, so 3 days and 2 nights was perfect.

Every staff member we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. You will see the same wait staff during your stay so consider leaving them a few dollars tip for excellent service. We also tipped our excursion tour guide who will be with you during all your excursions. We had Luis who was great.

We had no issues with mosquitos whatsoever as we came prepared with deet wipes and proper clothing. Done wear shorts at night or to Lake Sandoval and you should be fine. We visited in mid-November so the daily rains had not started yet. We had some moths and an occasional bug in our cabin, but no spiders or anything dangerous. The entire cabin is behind sturdy netting and the bed have mosquito nets. It is warm at night and i usually sleep with the A/C on 73 degrees at night and I had no trouble sleeping. The ambiance with the kerosene torches and sounds of the jungle were very relaxing. We had a great time during our stay here and would absolutely come back again.

Room Tip: Be sure to check email at the butterfly house when you arrive and/or depart as there is no internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at Reserva Amazonica for 4 days at the start of our journey through Peru.Met at Puerto Maldonado Airport on arrival and taken to the Hotel office 5 mins from Airport to check in and have welcome drink and refreshing cool towel.Then on to the small boarding area for the 45 min trip down river to the lodge.On arrival you climb the stairs from the river bank to the lodge whilst your bags are taken to the room.After introductory talk were taken to our Cabin/Hut situated over looking the river.Pleasently surprised with the quality of the Cabin and its furnishings.Hammocks,tables and chairs and a massive double bed fully enclosed with netting.Shower/wash area/toilet was very clean.Food and service was excellent throughout the our stay.Plenty of choice at Breakfast and Lunch whilst evening meal was a set menu,BUT with a choice.All meals were included within the price.Staff were very attentive and polite.There were many different excursions included in the stay and I would seriously suggest taking advantage of them as there is little to do at the Lodge during the day.Most excursions are early morning or late afternoon to avoid the heat and also it is the best time to see the animals.The guides are very knowlegeable and are very keen to show you the wildlife and fauna.Whilst there we took advantage of all the excursions and some were more interesting than others.Would certainly recommend the Tree Canopy Walk and Sandoval Lake,whilst the evening trip on the river was interesting although you are very dependent on the animals obliging you with their presence!The visit to the Hotel's Farm and canoe down the Creek is well worth a vist, and similarly the visit to the Hacienda to look at the various herbs etc and canoe ride on the lake.However the sighting of a family of 8 River Otters on Sandoval Lake was one of the hightlights of our stay in the Rain Forest.Weather was very hot and humid.

Room Tip: Try and get a Cabin overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was a great experience. I recomend that you stay in one of the cottages by the river. Amazing to wake up and go to sleep with the voice of thousand birds, and other animals. Room is very airy, hammocs in the room. I enjoyed lying in the hommocks and watching the sunset on the Madre De Dios. Weather is very hot during the day, take very cool clothing. Service was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.