We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodge not interesting attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Lodge Amazonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Maldonado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Lodge Amazonia
Save
You added Cayman Lodge Amazonia to your Saves list
Arequipa 655, Puerto Maldonado, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good lodge not interesting attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are good enought with a poor Stream of water there is no hot water there is no electricity in the room only candles. The food is really nice and when we were on trips they prepared take away food. We saw very few animals in jungle and one of the trips it was a walk of 15 kilometers that was very exhausting and not that interesting. This lodge is 2 30 hours on a boat from the port.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

(The review is for the lodge as well as the related activites) We recently stayed at the Cayman (Caiman?) lodge for 4d/3n and it was an excellent introduction to the Amazon rainforest (Tambopata reserve). We had a naturist/guide (Frank) assigned for the 2 of us and he couldn't have been any more helpful or knowledgeable.
The rooms/cabins were made from wood and were pretty basic with a bed and a small, private bathroom. The ceiling was just a screen/netting and there was a thatched roof shared among 4 (?) cabins. So, don't expect much privacy. Electricity was available only for a few hours in the evening in the common area. The food was just about OK. The owner (Anne) and the rest of the staff were very welcoming.
The first day's activity was an hour long jungle night walk. Next day, we left around 3 am for the 4 hr (bone chilling cold) boat ride to the Chuncho Clay lick where we saw dozens of parrots/parakeets eating clay (there were plenty of macaws but, they didn't descend down to eat clay....just our luck). The remainder of the day and the next day was spent trekking through different parts of the jungle, visiting a working farm, boating in the oxbow lakes (Condenado and Sachavacayoc), piranha fishing and Caiman spotting. We saw plenty of insects, butterflies, birds and a couple of varieties of monkeys.
As others have mentioned, the experience is not cheap but, Cayman lodge is one of the (somewhat) cheaper options.
One thing to remember is that the first and last days of the tour are basically spent getting to the lodge/airport. So, it's essentially a 2d/3n deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Fantastic Location. Guide Frank was excellent. Tour of Local Market in Puerto Maldonado (found lot of similarities with India's small town markets) and the travel by boat to Lodge was great. We came across Cayman, Capybara, Turtles.

After arrival, welcome by Anny (owner of this place). Her warm personality and excellent hospitality over next few days made this trip very memorable. She has fantastic team over there (Carlos - the boatman, Chantel - Aussie Bar Attendant, Raphael, Ronny).

Our trip consisted of

(a) Night walk in the jungle which revealed Army of Ants (millions), Spiders and Bats
(b) The Chuncho Clay lick (3 AM start time) and got to see the Parrots on clay lick and the Macaws for some reason sitting high on the trees
(c) stop at the “Cascada el Gato” for excellent lunch and walk to firm
(d) Jungle hike to Sachavacayoc Lake (Macaws, Owl) and boat trip in Lake (Birds - Hoatzin, Jacans, but sadly no Anaconda), then fishing of Piranha in stream, (Frank managed to catch one - which I later devoured)
(e) Night excursion on boat for Caymans.

Food was excellent - and drink (Pisco Sour prepared by Anny) with banana chips was great. Some may find price little high - but considering the location it is acceptable. Other arrangements (boot, battery charging facility - even though for limited time during evening) are really helpful.

This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This lodge in the Tambopata area is well kept, clean, and inviting. Don't expect hot water or electricity in the rooms, but that's part of the jungle experience. Screened rooms, comfy beds (but hard) and bird music outside your door. The guides, Raphael & Frank were quite knowledgeable about the jungle and answered all questions. Food was pretty average, with lots of rice & starches...but OK. Drinks were a bit pricey. Activities were well organized and catered to individual needs. Boots provided for the jungle trip, if necessary. Saw lots of wild life and the macaws at the clay lick. Anny was most attentive and cheerful. The price for the 4/3 was affordable compared to other lodges. Recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The lodge provided us with a good guide who was very familiar with the animals and plants in the area. Mitchel grow up in the jungle, and was very good at spotting animals. We got our personal guide, just the three of us, all the time - which we appreciate. The food in the lodge was plain, but freshly made, and we liked packed luns very well. The lodge was very basic, but with our own bathroom with shower ( only cold water). A few measures could have improved the lodge even more, f.ex. anonymous feedback, parafin lamps in the bungalows, a bit better food and more use of local fruit. We had to get up 4 in the morning for return to the airport because of another group had booked an early plain and we had to get on the same boat. But we enjoy our stay very much and would recomennd the lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I researched jungle lodges forever before booking our trip. To be honest, it was not my first choice, but our tight schedule required we stay a specific two nights, and this one was reasonably priced (compared to others) and I decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad we stayed here!

Our group of 4 had our own personal guide, even though there were other English speaking travelers there. This meant we could move at our own pace and switch up our plans on the fly. Our guide, Frank, was so much fun and taught us so many things. We would highly recommend him!

The food was delicious and filling, and they have bananas to snack on anytime you feel like you need a bit more. There was always boiled water to drink and fresh juices at every meal. Rooms are rustic (hey - you're in the jungle!!), but clean and bug-free.

Pros:
-Great and plentiful food
-Good guides, great service
-Clean rooms
-We saw lots of Amazonian wildlife!

Not-so-pros:
-Beds were very hard, but I think that might be a necessity for the humid jungle environment, because they were hard at another place in Puerto Maldonado too.
-It costs a lot to stay at any of the jungle lodges. Cayman Lodge was actually one of the more reasonable ones from what I could find, so this is not a con for them....just a reality to wanting this experience at all!
-Drinks were a bit pricy compared to a typical bar, but still reasonable when compared to US prices.

Room Tip: Since the rooms are screened in, there is not a ton of privacy. Make sure if you're traveling i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had a lot of trouble deciding which jungle lodge to pick, but ended up staying at the Cayman Lodge Amazonie based on tripadvisor reviews and that it was moderately priced. (I was a little apprehensive as there were not a large number of reviews for the lodge unlike some of the other lodges--not sure why) .We signed up for 4 days/3 nights.

We (3 of us) are were very happy with the jungle lodge and with our guide Mitchel (we were lucky to have him all to ourselves the whole time).

The Peruvian food served by the lodge was very good.

Anny the owner is very friendly and it is obvious she really cares about the guests and knows what she is doing. I believe Christophe is her son who works at the office in Puerto Maldonado and he was always very prompt in responding to all my emails.

I would highly recommend this jungle lodge for 4 days/3 nights if possible (3 days/2 nights is too rushed)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayman Lodge Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Lodge Amazonia

Address: Arequipa 655, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman lodge amazonia is a private project created to protect the ecology and environment in harmony and comfort. The natural beauty of this site is crying out to be known and experienced. Everything is recycled to protect nature as much as possible and minimize the effects of our installation in this protected zone. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayman Lodge Amazonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.