We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shows great promise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Select Chiclayo to your Saves list
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shows great promise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Casa Andina chain has taken over the old Gran Hotel Chiclayo and is (as of July 2013) in the midst of a renovation. Casa Andina seems to be doing nearly everything right: ATMs in the lobby, jitney service to the airport, to-go food items readily available, etc. Terrific staff all-around. Do ask for a quiet room if you are there on a weekend, as it has favorite spot for weddings, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Casa Andina Select Chiclayo for your stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and you received a nice service from our staff.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    63
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
57
13
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

All hotel prices vary but I was astounded to find this hotel in Chiclayo (northern Peru) costing more than a quality hotel located in the business district of Lima. That aside, the staff are friendly. The rooms are also a good size, although lack any soft furnishings and so feel hard and echo lots, more like a hospital room.

This hotel is now part of the Casa Andina group of hotels. As part of this change there is refurbishing work being done on the hotel, mainly to the exterior to remove the balconies shown in the photos and to extend space in the rooms. Im not sure this is a great idea and certainly annoyed the smokers in our group (hmmm, so what). Anyway, perhaps a little more work on the dingy interior halls, and the 'highly' variable hot water and room-key entry systems might be money better spent.

There is a restaurant at the bottom of the hotel. Lunches and dinners were good but breakfasts very basic. There is internet included in the price but it is very slow, even for Chiclayo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Taken over by Casa Andina and still the process of restoration and upgrading - with some considerable noise from fifth floor during my stay. Rooms of decent size but rather spartan. Room service was prompt and the staff were super helpful when problems were encountered with wi fi, the result of the ongoing renovations. Once finished this promises to be a clean cut, efficient business-style hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
585 reviews 585 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Big ugly slab of a hotel which was either renovated in the early 90's or the renovation was started in the early 90's.. (The plaque was not clear!). Either way, it's not finished or needs redone.... The reception and coffee bar/restaurant area are just nasty and the toilets in reception remind me of communist era Russia. Corridors to rooms etc were dark and unwelcoming. 2-3 km outside of town centre. We took note of other tripadvisor write-ups and made sure that we got a new room.... We had a suite - all for about 125USD per night incl breakfast. So, cheap. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom excellent with loads of really hot water and nice fixtures/fittings which really worked. The room was enormous - 60m2 or so... A bed, a table and 2 chairs, a slimline desk unit and an (empty) minibar. - Could have fitted in three more beds easily or had a party for 50... It was big and soulless but at least efficient and comfortable. Nice big, clean outdoor swimming pool and 24 hour internet room with a decent printer. Breakfast OK. Enthusiastic, very pleasant staff.

Casa Andina are a confusing lot - they run this place as well as the beautiful Isla Suasi (Lake Titicaca); the boutique Casa Andina in Cusco and the very average Puno lakeside hotel amongst others. I am never sure what I am going to get although the management try to differentiate with names such as Private Collection, Classic etc. It doesn't work really...

This one in Chiclayo is good value and comfortable but don't expect any style, ambiance, warmth or fun. It's a bit like Chiclayo itself..... The only reason I can think of being here is the Lord Sipan Museum..... (and maybe the Fiesta Restaurant!)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room and look before you say yes. Suites are HUGE and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While this hotel looks rather plain from the outside, it has potential. Based on their website and other reviews, they have been remodeling for quite some time. They need to finish! The room we had was VERY dated and the carpet had several stains. The plumbing is sub-par with only warm water. On the positive side, the staff is very friendly and the on-site cafe prepared an excellent salad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really try hard to found something i liked while stayed at this hotel ( comparing with short business stays in big hotels around the globe ) But i really can't . The room was huge , but very Humid when i first entered and had a moldy smell . Cheap and low quality materials are all over the place . The A/C was a challenge . If you Don't turn it on , the heat and the humidity will not let you sleep , if you turn it ON , you will NOT sleep due to noisy operation . I mention this to front desk ( plus other issues ) they promised that they will take care of it , But nothing ever happened during my stay . I asked to change room and they denied due to availability ( They said )Not very clean , and the bathroom was very aged . The street noise was a nightmare . !!! A main street is adjusted to the hotel and the Chilayen drivers like to drive with the fingers permanently pushing on the horn or the ...''PIOU-PIOU'' electronic sirens . There was NO wall ( but a glass wall with glass doors to the road side of our room ) so with the absence of insulation there is NO WAY to stay in your room due to street/horn noises . Breakfast very greasy for our standards . A relief when i checked out , and i hope that i never have to came back .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in a recently refurbished room. The paint was still drying in the hallway if our noses were accurate. Although it was a good looking room, the plumbing was seriously challenged. The stopper in the sink was apparently one of those spring-loaded ones that you push on and it pops up but no amount of effort would cause it to spring up by that method. The installation of the water faucet over the sink was so far back that water flowed onto the marble surface instead of into the bowl of the sink unless you turned the faucet on fully. The toilet did not deliver enough water to accomplish a flush so we delivered some water to the bowl by virtue of the shower hose. Members of our party in other rooms had plumbing issues, too. Hopefully, the challenges were limited to a recently refurbished wing.

Room Tip: Check the plumbing before you settle in and ask for another room if it appears to be challenged. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.