We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should wait the end of the works before giving it the "select" label” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Select Chiclayo to your Saves list
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Should wait the end of the works before giving it the "select" label”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Casa Andina took over the management in March 2011, so 1 year ago. The objective is to make a "Casa Andina Select" of it.
Well, the service is really nice, as it is in most of the Casa Andina place. The breakfast buffet is also really great. But for the rest, they are still far from what a select should be. The infrastucture is old (they said il will take until end 2012 for the restauration), we get 2 times in 3 days stuck in the unique slow and old elevator (but the boxes of the new one, to be installed in March, are already in the backyard) and the old fashioned windows are not isolated at all, so you have a lot of street noises in your room.
On the other hand, it's difficult to blame the management, since the hotel in undergoing huge renovating works, but you never heard any machine, nor see dust. So it is qusi invisible for the guests.
I give them a 3 today, but it will certainly reach a "excellent" as soon as the works are done, in 2013.
Anyway, it is still the best in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate for sharing your honest opinion with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

As you mentioned on your review, since 2011 Casa Andina is managing Gran Hotel Chiclayo and we are still in a process of restoration and refurbishment. Also, we would like to mention that several improvements have been made since your stay; we now count with two new elevators operating in perfect conditions.

We are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations at that occasion and please, rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration as they help us to point out some matters that might need more attention from us.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
57
13
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

Was right in the center of chiclayo, which was very convenient. I stay in a lot of hotels while traveling and I rarely find staff so friendly and helpful even in their second language. The services were nice, especially the buffet breakfast. I would also recommend trying the evening dinner at the hotel at least once as it was surprisingly good. Although the rooms weren't brand new they were in excellent condition and the staff were very responsive to any requests I asked of them. Overall a very good hotel and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Looks like a communist building of the former Soviet Union. Big spaces without a soul. The elevators didn't work so one had to use the service elevator. The service was zero. The rooms worn out with very bad lighting. Bad design and no taste. Poor breakfatbuffet. Apparently the hotel had been taken over by the Casa Andina chain in April 2011 and some modernization was on its way but after almost a year we didn't see anything of it. Overall bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It saddens us to know we were not able to exceed your expectations and that you left our hotel without living the real Casa Andina experience. As you mentioned, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina’s administration since last year. And since then we have made a plan for a mid-range project to redesign the public spaces and hotel rooms, floor by floor. We have recently installed a new elevator, which was our main concern.
Take into consideration that you can find other Casa Andina hotels in Arequipa, Colca Canyon, Chachapoyas, Chincha, Cusco, Suasi Island , Lima, Nasca, Puno and Sacred Valley. We will always be pleased to serve you.
Kind regards,
The Casa Andina Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Casa Andina have just bought this property recently and have some great plans for it - renovations have not started. However this will take some time and it is now quite tired and I would not consider a 4 star hotel. it is 3 star with the facilities of a 3.5 star hotel, pool, restaurant and cafe are all excellent. Rooms are tired. I work for an agency and taxes are always included in our discounted rates for our clients. The hotel is still one of the best options for Chiclayo and a great location and a decent sleep. The rooms are the most tired things however a decent sleep was had for 2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a back room, less noise with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable comments on trip advisor´s website. Certainly, Casa Andina has just bought this property. We have started with certain adjustments of the internal service processes, but we also have several infraestructure and maintenance improvements scheduled for this and the next year. We sincerely hope to have you with us in a not too distant future to offer you the real Casa Andina experience.
Cordially yours,
The team Casa Andina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed with my family for a day as a walk-in, the hotel is located in a safe location, but not for touristing the area, there is only a simply park, thanks god they have a safe garage inside.
We received a nice welcome, service is good, also the food at the restaurant is acceptable but the rate don't make sense for an old building, despite everything the new company who owns the property, "Casa Andina" is actually making changes to refurbish the atmosphere ( rooms, public areas, etc.) ! but until they finish completely they have to decrease the rate., too expensive for what you get. Hope they finish soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guest,
We very much regret the poor impression you got from our hotel. However, we appreciate the time you set aside to share your comments with us.
Certainly, Casa Andina owns de hotel and remodeling works have already started. We have several changes programmed for this and next year. We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to visit our hotel again in a not too distant future.
Cordially yours,
The team Casa Andina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I think this is the best available in Chiclayo and it was undergoing renovations when we were there. The rooms were ok and we slept fine. The elevators seemed in need of servicing and the main restaurant was not open but dinner in the cafe was fine. We enjoyed coffee on the front patio and there is an atm right in front of the hotel which seemed safe and was convenient. The breakfast buffet was basic but adequate for our needs. We had a balcony and it was fun to watch the birds in the early morning and at dusk. Chiclaya was an interesting place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Grand Hotel Chiclayo
The best of the bad lot of Chiclayo hotels. Currently, undergoing a much-needed renovation, although I don't see the potential given the small room and bath size. The dining room is closed for revelation so unappealing ground-level facility is available. Food is fair to good. Took the hotel's recommendation for local restaurant Fiesta $100 for two, lackluster staff service with only a couple of tables occupied. If you want a first-class tour of the temples and museums Inkanatura has an office in the hotel. Patricia Vargas (pvargas@inkanatura.com.pe) provided top guide and driver and vehicle for $220 per 8 hour day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.