We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind, obliging staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muchik Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Muchik Hostel to your Saves list
Muchik Hostel
Vicente de la Vega 1127, Chiclayo Chiclayo centro, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very kind, obliging staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Me and a friend, we stayed at Muchik Hostel for a few nights. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel, since there is no kitchen or common room (except for the lobby).
We had a double room, and paid 60 soles for the 2 of us per night.

The hostel was very clean, our room was cleaned and tidied up every day. Chiclayo isn´t the most exciting place I have been, but in the end we had a nice stay. The hostel is quite centrally located, within walking distance of the Main square (Plaza de Armas).

The owners were nice people, and the man working at the front desk spoke good English. He tried his best to make sure we had a good time, was very kind and helped us in every possible way. He told us a lot about Peru, Peruvian culture and helped us out planning our trips.

Weird thing though, is that my guidebook (Footprint South America, 2013) said it had a kitchen. A bit confusing, because it had the right adress, but a completely different description. Anyway, I would recommend this place, if you are looking for a clean, quiet and nice hotel with good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hostel is very familiar and boutique concept in one of the most crowded and noised cities in Peru. They are very secured and confident. The best thing are prices, very affordable for the rooms and place, most hotels and motels in Chiclayo city are much more than Muchik. The staff is very friendly and helpful to show routes and places to visit. They have some maps of sightseeing and near towns. They offer very early check in, important issue if you come at morning by bus from Trujillo or Lima.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The private room for two was a bit pricey at 30 soles per person, but the accommodations are worth it. Comfy beds, clean rooms, wifi, luggage storage, central location and a late check out time. The staff is friendly and one attendant speaks English. They also seemed to have improved security since the laptop review, but I'd be extra careful here regardless. If you find yourself stuck in Chiclayo this hostel (more of a hotel really) this is the place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jena
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spend a couple of days in the dorm of Muchik hostel (25S per Person/night). The staff of the hostel is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is modern and clean.
It is more a hotel than a hostel (no kitchen, no common area, no backpackers) but it has wifi and a dorm. And the room was cleaned every day and the reception is open 24h (which is helpful if you arrive late at night).
It would have been nice to have waste bags in the toilet bin and if the hostel invested in buying sheets that fit the beds (it's not a good feeling, neither hygienic to wake up on the mattress).

Room Tip: The dorm (6 beds) is big and with its own bathroom. It looks out on a busy street so take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muchikhostel, Front Office Manager at Muchik Hostel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for writing and highlights our values: cleanliness, friendliness, good conditions of our little hostel. It is true that failure to implement some services but that are within our growth plan, we expect more tourists to come to our city to grow and improve standards. Thank you for your message.

Muchik Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were very happy to find a place like this in dusty and chaotic Chiclayo. It was the only place in Peru where we did not need to sleep with ear plugs! It felt more like a hotel than a hostel though. The room was super clean, the bed was large and we had tv and private bathroom too, for just $25 a night. It might be a bit more expensive than hostels in Chiclayo but you do not get the tranquility you get at Muchik. The staff were also very helpful and the owner loves to get to know her guests. There's also a cute little breakfast/lunch place right next door and the women there also offered to cook us dinner for less than 10 soles. The only downside to this hotel is that the wi-fi signal is not that strong, but then again remember you're in Peru. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more peaceful it gets but the wi-fi is best on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice place to stay when in chiclayo. Taxi max. 2 soles from all the busstations.room ar clean, location is central, deskservice is good, price/quality is good. There is wifi at the reception and there are more then enough things to do and see in chiclayo for 4 days

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's hard to find actual dorms out here, the dorm rooms are clean with new tile work in the bathroom. The room does get hot in the summer (late December-March) and the bathroom door didn't always close right. The owner speaks some English and is very happy to practice, tell you stories, and help you out. The guy really went out of his way to help me find some local food after some prodding about not wanting the touristy food in the parque principal. He was a bit overprotective, I think in reaction to the last review (and theft incident) and accompanied me to the room after a new guest arrived to make sure everything was there. I'm not sure why he knew I had accidentally left my camera under my pillow, but he was very concerned. Wifi barely works near the door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muchik Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchik Hostel

Address: Vicente de la Vega 1127, Chiclayo Chiclayo centro, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MUCHIK HOSTELWe offer to you the best location at best price! We are three blocks from Chiclayo’s main square, five minutes from the airport, in a neighborhood that counts with bars, restaurants, shops, banks and other useful places.We incorporate to our facilities relect the pre-Columbian cultures of northern Peru, creating a special, relaxed, fun atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay We have professional well-trained staff, willing to provide any information you need to visit the city and its surroundings. The quality of our servicehas been certified by Promperu Get comfortable and enjoy our city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muchik Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muchik Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.