We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sun Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Palace Hotel
Calle 7 de Enero 1368, Chiclayo, Peru (Formerly Hotel Embajador)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, just a couple of blocks from the central market and its interesting "curandero" stands. The city is otherwise quite noisy and not of great historic interest. This hotel is a comfortable, hospitable place to stay, run by a family which goes out of the way to help the guest. It is clean and apparently rather new, but the big pull is the service, which was clearly lacking at the Casa Andina Gran Chiclayo, where we spent the last afternoon, at the pool. The reception and restaurant staff there were lazy and clueless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
42
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa FE NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our archaeological trip to the northern Peruvian coast, having found the hotel on Trip Advisor and making our reservations on the hotels very friendly web-site.

We were picked up at the airport by a taxi driver sent by the hotel and we knew immediately that we were in good hands. (He served as our driver/guide for the rest of the visit).

The hotel is about two years old, immaculately clean and has all the amenities you expect from a five star hotel; flat screen TV, hair dryers, beautiful linens, modern bathrooms, instant room service.

The husband and wife owners are new to the hotel and want feedback on how they are doing. They are "just following their instincts" , but oh what instincts. Every thing is beautiful done. They know how to choose warm, friendly and very competent staff. You can get a drink or a snack throughout the day.

You could spend a lot more for a hotel in Chiclayo but you won't get a better nights sleep or a better value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Sam A
This is a family owned-hotel, but you wouldn't know that it is by the service that they provide. This is a very sparkling and friendly place. I was surprised that I could order food that wasn't on their regular menu and they went out and bought the ingredients and prepared the food for me! I wouldn't have imagined that I would be treated to the excellent service that I received at hotel. Apart from the service, the owners and staff treated me as part of their family. It is a place to experience. Whenever you are in Chiclayo, give them a try. You will love it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here initially for one night after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. We were met by staff from the hotel at the bus station as we arrived (a free pick-up service), which took away the stress of finding the hotel and upon arriving we received a warm welcome. With Chiclayo (and the north) being less on the tourist route and having little Spanish between us we greatly appreciated staff who spoke some English on reception.

The rooms were absolutely spotless, we had on-demand hot showers and internet with wi-fi. The rooms were a little noisy due to tiled echoing coridoors, but this was only until 10pm and with some white-noise on whilst we slept we had no problems sleeping. The hotel is perfectly located close to the main square and staff were very helpful in organising a day trip to the local sites (the Museo Tumbes Reales de Sipan is definately not to be missed!).

Throughout our stay the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly in this family-run hotel, to the point where, when we returned on our way back south, we stopped in to request a shower and somewhere to store our bags for the day until our next bus and they gave us a room to use for the day at a very reasonable price. We couldn't have asked for more!

Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone to stay here when visiting Chiclayo!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford,oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

It started with the pickup at the bus station and they finished it up with a ride to the airport. In between, they were helpful, friendly, very accomodating to any requests and cheerful in all interactions. It was like being part of the family. The shower was great, the beds comfortable, the room quiet, breakfast was nice and filling, and walking was easy from the central location. I recommended my boyfriend stay here for business and he recieved the same family treatment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELEMBAJADORH, Gerente at Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada hikergirl57: muchas gracias por tu comentario! Hotel Embajador se sienta alagado por tus palabras. esperamos poder volver a tenerte con nosotros pronto en Hotel Embajador.
Nuestros mas sinceros deseos. Atentamente, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

When your hotel owner comes to personally meet you at the bus station, you're in for something good. This is a modern hotel with lots of snazzy touches. Most of all, the owners, Andres and Maria are as sweet, hospitable and eager to please as you can imagine. The rooms are spotless, the shower hot, and the street relatively quiet for a bustling Peruvian city.
The staff was consistently helpful and looking out for us. Chiclayo is a great city with lots of attractions- museums, beaches, horseback riding- nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELEMBAJADORH, Gerente at Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
estimado SoOregonTraveler: Gracias! tu comentario es muy valioso para nosotros!
nos alegramos de que tu estadía en Hotel Embajador haya sido une linda experiencia. esperamos poder tenerte con nosotros de nuevo. Saludos Sinceros.
Atentamente, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spent almost a week in this cheerful, relatively new, very clean, family-run hotel, enjoying the wonderful museums and archeological sites nearby. The location of the hotel is excellent, being very close to the “centre” of things, like the immense and fascinating Mercado Modelo. The lobby is bright and welcoming and everyone smiled and was as helpful as they could be despite the language barrier. Breakfasts were very tasty and prepared to order. In fact, the small dining space on the top floor is open from early morning until about 10 at night, and we on occasion had a light lunch there, although they can also offer larger meals.

They provided pick-up for us from the Chiclayo bus station. Our room, decorated in bright orange, lime green and turquoise – great fun colours – was very clean, and although a bit small, accommodated our belongings. Our bathroom had a large shower stall and bright lighting. A good table-top fan was provided and the room temperature was mostly comfortable. We also borrowed an extension cord, since there was only one electrical outlet for the fan, our computer, and charging a cell phone and camera battery.

During a month in Peru, we discovered that there aren’t many places that are really quiet. Peru seems to have a noise-loving culture. Car horns, car alarms, outdoor loudspeakers, street musicians, loud cell phone conversations, vendors yelling to get your attention and more combine to create a very noisy environment. No one seems to mind – they just talk louder.

We had requested a quiet room. Located at the back of the hotel, yes, we were away from the incessant street noises. However, there were lots of other noises to contend with. The room doors couldn’t be closed without slamming – and there was lots of slamming going on, especially with numerous young children – mostly members of the owners’ extended family – around. Our window opened onto a large, bright air shaft that seemed to amplify noise, such as construction (banging) at strange hours, and a very noisy little boy, about three years old, who cried loudly and shouted, often until very late at night. On our last night there, he was awake and being very boisterous until almost midnight!

The floors throughout the hotel consist of large, shiny white tiles, kept spotlessly clean. However, those same tiles in the shower stall become slick as ice when wet, and there is nothing to hold onto. The hotel needs to provide rubber bath mats or a grab bar in this very slippery shower. We have no way of knowing if the other showers are similar, although we suspect they are.

The beds were comfortable but the pillows are very small and filled with “clumps” of foam rubber. They weren’t very restful to sleep on as the foam bits kept shifting.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Hotel Embajador, and we couldn’t have asked for nicer hosts. But we can’t give them an “excellent” rating because of the concerns noted above.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "quiet" room near the back of the hotel unless you are an exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELEMBAJADORH, Gerente at Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado JBWanderers: Gracias por tus valiosas y lindas palabras! mil disculpas si algunas de tus expectativas. no fueron del todo cumplidas, y hemos tomado en cuenta tu comentario para mejorar en todo lo posible, un sincero saludo de parte de todo nuestro personal.
Atentamente, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Address: Calle 7 de Enero 1368, Chiclayo, Peru (Formerly Hotel Embajador)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.