We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found, again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madang Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madang Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Madang Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang, Papua New Guinea   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Madang
Cairns
2 reviews
“Paradise Found, again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Brilliant, as it was the last time I stayed.
Everything from the Waterfront or Deluxe rooms to the entertainment in the Haus Win over dinner is superb.
The room prices are extremely fair, especially compared to other places in PNG.
Staff are ALWAYS friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Go Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Tthanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again at the Madang Resort. We will pass on your comments to the staff whom I am sure will appreciate the positive comments you have made.in regard to services provided. We look forward to your visit again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
15
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A waterfront bungalow overlookiing Krangket Island and the Harbour Entrance was the perfect place to write up reports, conduct interviews and keep on top of the email traffic with the great swimming pool just a short walk away as well as the excellent Haus Win Restaurant for lunch and dinner breaks. The food was 1st Class and the service extremely efficient

Room Tip: The waterfront bungalows are superb. I can certainly recommend room 67
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, as I have responded many times it helps us see our services through the eyes of our guests and where necessary make improvments. You may have witnessed a number of activities around the resort including the sandy beach in the Forum Park and a new Haus Win (traditional round haus) which we hope will be opened within a month providing a top class venue for functions, relaxing beside the lagoon and a place where we can launch the kayaks, catamarans or simply enjoy a swim.
We look forward to your next visit, again thank you for the review.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Madang Resort hotel is spread out over many acres and their waterside villas are superb. The room service is unobtrusive and the reception staff and those in the restaurants are friendly and helpful. The food is fresh and wholesome and there is a good wine list. Sir Peter Barter is present to keep a paternal eye on the smooth running of his hotel, which has been growing in size and reputation for the past 45 years. I had a relaxing and refreshing week away from it all.

Room Tip: Go for the watyerside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a response, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We returned to Madang in March this year after having lived there 45 years ago. We had a great experience at the Madang Resort and our short visit to Madang. As we were teachers at Tusbab High and Kusbau Primary in the 60's the experience of returning to these schools was rewarding. Mr Busy Bee Kudjip was helpful and knowledgeable in driving us to the various places we wished to revisit. We walked around the town visiting old and new areas,; the markets have grown considerably. The people of the Madang were very friendly.

The staff at the Madang Resort were very professional, efficient and attentive. Our room over the water was excellent and I would advise anyone visiting the resort to request one of these rooms. The grounds were well maintained and beautifully presented. We enjoyed walking around after dinner each night. In such a short time we came to know many staff members who were always obliging enabling us to enjoy our time there. To mention just few and no doubt I will miss someone: Reggie, Cathy, Edward, Michael, Toby, Busy Bee, Nigel, and many others.

We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
THANK you for your review. A lot has changed in 45 years, you obviously were in Madang at Tusbab and Kusbau before we acquired the "old" Hotel Madang in 1973 and began rebuilding, expanding the hotel to the resort it is today. We continue to expand and upgrade facilities at the Resort and having just completed the new Haus Win Restaurant and Haus Kibung Function Room we are in the midst of landscaping Forum Park which will become a sanctuary for relaxation with a sandy beach, lagoon and a central traditional Haus Win which can be used as a venue for functions, BBQ and base for Kayaks and sailing boats for our guests.
I am sorry I dod not personally have the opportunity to meet you during your visit but pleased yo have made friends with the staff, allof whom will be given a copy of your review.
Thank you again, we hope to see you again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the pool. Plus cocktails with a fruit in it that I'd never had, or seen since. Food was very good. Also, theres a hut nearby that sells hand carved death masks etc.

Fruitbats live in the trees nearby too, pretty cool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we take feed back from guests very seriously and whilst you enjoyed your swim in our pool and enjoyed a fruit cocktail, I am a little confused about ratings you gave on quality of sleep when you state you did not 'stay there'. We hope on your next visit you will stay with us and fill in all boxes after your experience of spending a night, or hopefully nights at the Madang Resort.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had made a booking with Malolo Plantation Lodge prior to my arrival in Madang. They didn't come to pick me up and didn't answer the phone. Staff at Madang resort hotel were very helpful in attempting to contact them and resolve the sitaution. My unplanned initial stay at Madang resort was of much higher standards than Malolo (that I later got to go to). There was electricity, working air condition, TV in the room, bottled water for sale, restaurants with nice selection, a great pool, and of course a nice the dive center. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your response, I was made aware of you being stranded at the airport without transport to the Malalo Plantation Hotel and the effort mafe by Toby and Donald to assist you making contact with the hotel and we were glad to be of some assistance to you during this unfortunate incident.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have just returned to Australia after spending 10 days at the Madang Resort and I am in the process of planning my next trip. I spent the first 20 years of my life growing up in Port Moresby, however, before this trip I had not been to Madang. Madang was delightful, from the wonderful markets to the beautiful vistas and century old trees forming canapies as you drive up streets. I had forgotten how crystal clear the water is in PNG and the colours of the crotons need to be seen to be believed. I was transported back to my youth on many occasions.

The Madang Resort was everything I had hoped for and more. The 15 acres of landscaped gardens are pristine and are easily accessible with walking paths to be able to view the hundreds of different plants, trees, palms, orchids etc. As an avid gardener, I was aware of the work required to keep the gardens up to such a high standard. We had the pleasure of celebrating Christmas Day with family at Haus Win and the food was exceptional as was the live music. The views from the restaurant of uninterrupted views of crystal clear water and the villages on the islands was truly breathtaking.

We ate at all the restaurants at the resort and were never disappointed in the standard and quality of the food. As a vegetarian, the menus had an extensive range of dishes to choose from. The staff - from the management, receptionists, porters, housekeeping, waiters, gardeners, cooks etc were absolutely delightful and nothing was ever a problem for them to help or answer a question. Their smiles are genuine. Our apartments were fantastic, clean and comfortable.

I have worked in hospitality for many years and the staff of the Madang Resort need to be commended for their high standard of service and wonderful hospitality their give to every guest. I spoke to many guests staying at the resort and their sentiments were the same. I loved that all staff wore a name tag so after 10 days we were all 'tambus'! The facilities offered are extensive from fishing, diving, snorkelling, sailing, kayaking, canoeing etc or if you are inclined, you can sit by one of the beautiful pools with a book and cool drink and relax. Anyone looking for a break away from the 'rat race' will instantly feel relaxed and at ease as you enter the gates of the resort.

I highly recommend anyone looking for a holiday which when you leave to return home you will take with you wonderful memories of beautiful people and a wonderful country. I guarantee you will want to return.

Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou to the Madang Resort staff for giving us a wonderful family Christmas we will remember forever. We look forward to seeing you all this year on our return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are very proud of the Madang Resort, 40 years of hard work have resulted in making it one of the best properties in the Pacific. It gives the staff and myself a great deal of gratification in reading how satisfied you were during your stay and we hope you will again visit us in the future.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 176 rooms, villages, townhouses & cottages set on 20 acres of gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium,PADI Dive shop, Marina, Kayak, canoe, Cat sail, Game Fishing, tour desk & concierge A The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business.Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madang Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.