We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in Lae” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae International Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lae
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lae International Hotel
4th Street, Lae, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lae
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in Lae”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is not much I can add to previous positive reviews because my stay at the Lae Inter was very enjoyable and had great sleep each night.

Breakfast buffet had a good choice of food (although I had to ask for water which was strange). I wasn’t taken away to heaven by the Vanda Restaurant upstairs (will review separately) but in contrast, the pizzas downstairs in the bar were nice and great value for money – highly recommended.

Service was great all round; no issues here.

Value for money: yes, it’s expensive on face value but not in the context of the location which carries the additional cost of security and being able to provide a consistent food service.

PNG Tip: when departing Port Moresby from the Domestic Terminal, turn left instead of turning right from the security/metal detector because there is a new air-conditioned waiting area on the road side of the airport (as opposed to the humid older waiting area on the airstrip side).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Weekend Hussler,
It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had a very enjoyable stay at the Lae Inter and that our hotel was able to provide you with a good night’s rest. Doing business in this town is not always straight forward and having somewhere to stay that is safe, home away from home makes the visit a whole lot smoother.
Your observation about offering water at breakfast is valid. We could certainly offer bottle water to our overseas visitors and I will mention this to our restaurant supervisor as part of our breakfast service.
We have a good reputation for our pizzas and they are popular with locals and guests, particularly on Wednesday’s when we run our pizza promos. Our pizzas chefs make a thinner crusty base and when combined with our many toppings they are really yummy.
Our hotel staff work tirelessly to provide guests with quality customer service standards and their natural friendliness will certainly add to everyone’s experience. I am pleased you felt this was the case.
While you mention you perceive the hotel to be expensive there are factors contributing to this and additional security service costs which we provide, have to be covered. I might add that our hotel rates are very competitive compared to staying a night in the country’s capital city.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
1
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering you are paying near $300 per night or more, you dont get much in extras.
The room prices are ridiculous. They may soon have new rooms but I bet the rate starts at 600 kina or more per night.

Just two hours away in Cairns $250 gets you a suite.

You would think for that price breakfast could be included since the place is only 3 star or less.

My aircon packed it in. And had to be serviced twice in 3 days. There are no papers in morning to room. Internet is slow. Replacement towels take forever. Leaving your breakfast order on the door handle is a waste of time.

Power and water on and off isn't the hotels fault. But why doesnt the place have back up water tanks. It rains enough to fill them.

And try not to end up in a room with a PNG fmaily next door. The TV will be on and blaring near 24/7.

Still there is not much option in Lae. Its a dog of a city. So its a case of pay up, grin and bear it. And hopefully get out of the place as soon as you can.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear jrmcairns,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lae Inter, sharing your experiences with us and providing feedback on your business trip to Lae.
Cairns has a great range and variety of hotels but it doesn’t face the challenges Lae faces on a daily basis such as lawlessness, lack of police , razor wire perimeter fences, regular power fluctuations, no mains water and Internet dropping out all day.
The Lae Inter has tropical gardens set in a 9 acre sanctuary and we have a secure compound patrolled by guards and this service has to be paid for by the hotel. One point of difference that differentiates us from other hotels is that we offer a tropical environment with many gardens and walking areas. Inside our gates you could be anywhere in the world.
We are currently sinking another bore in the ground to boost our water supplies so when PNG Water turns off the water in town, we have something to offer our guests. We have 6 generators providing power and air conditioning to the hotel and fuel prices are spectacularly high here.
There are no excuses for your air conditioner not running to your satisfaction and our staff should have offered to move you in the event it was malfunctioning. My apologies for that.
I share your frustration when guests next door are making excessive noise. Our Duty Managers are more than capable of subtly asking guests to be more respectful of their neighbours.
We do have new rooms and the feedback has been most encouraging so when next you stay we would be most willing to show you before you make a choice.
Kind Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lae hotels

Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

No complaints from me. I found the service excellent, everyone is friendly and keen to help. The restaurants serve fantastic meals and the buffet is always good. The grounds are well kept and my room was clean and comfortable. The wifi is average, but I've had a lot worse in PNG. And yes I felt very secure with the visible presence of security guards. Always great to get back to after a days work in Lae.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Gary K
Your feedback has been very much appreciated by both our front and back of house staff and it is good to hear you had an enjoyable experience. Many guests reflect on the can do attitude of our staff, their efforts to please you and a friendliness which is the hall mark of service in Papua New Guinea. We are pleased you found our selection of menu/buffet dishes to your liking and shortly we will be introducing a suite of new menus to reflect the reconstruction of our modern Kokomo kitchen.
In a country like Papua New Guinea we take the business of security seriously and our guards patrol our large 9 acre estate 24/7. Guests choose to stay with us for this very reason.
Next time you visit the country I would recommend bringing your own dongle as connecting to the Internet when the server is down can be very frustrating. We offer Wifi and Hotspot at the Lae Inter.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another comfortable stay in our tropical sanctuary when next you travel to Lae on business.
Kind Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is secure is secure, I had only the buffet breakfast this was nice with a lot of variety. I did enjoy the espresso coffee. The room was good but a little tried, the shower and bathroom could do with a makeover.(Room 327). My overall experience was positive ,the highlight was the good night sleeps in the bed and linen they used high quality. Internet connection was O.k . The staff are pleasant and make you feel welcome. By the way, there is some construction going on and it a little of a rabbit warren due to the fact it's big complex you can get lost. By far the best hotel in Lae and your best option Good luck

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Willysduck,
Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and we thank you for sharing them with us. Indeed we take the security of our guests and staff seriously and the Lae Inter has a solid reputation as a safe hotel to stay in Lae. The hotel property offers space, tranquillity and privacy and it is good to hear the room provided you with a good night’s sleep despite your reservations about the overall ambience. Our staff work very hard to exceed guests expectations and their friendliness and care are a trademark of our hospitality.
Our breakfast buffet offers a great range of fresh fruits, homemade muesli and omelettes made in front of you.
The construction of our new Conference and Meeting facility will offer unparallel function space in the Province, once completed. Both the gymnasium and kitchen, which are undergoing refurbishment, will be finished shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at Lae international hotel many times during the past years i visited Lae as there is no other hotel that is better than it. It is an ok hotel if you compare with other international hotel in other countries but it is the best you can get in Lae. Room conditions are ok , clean and have flat screen TV with all the cable chanels which is good as there is not much to do and could not go out alone due to safety concern for foreigners in Lae, so staying in the room watching TV programs is better than nothing. The aircon and water works fine this time through my one full week stay. Last time there was a problem with no water so i had to take water from our factory . Luckily this time it is ok.
Also, the internet connection is ok this time, last few stays - it was horrible , slow and expensive.

At least, i think the food is ok, and the hotel is safe enough and has big space so you could run around inside the hotel compound if you wish to excercise. The gym is poor -not much equipment - only have some weight lifting equipment, not threadmills, no bicycle and other modern equipment.

Anyway, i would say it is a safe place to stay in Lae and comfortable enough and you can not find any other place that is better so there is not much choice anyway. Price is expensive but what can i say - things are expensive for foreigner here.

Room Tip: not much difference any room you choose, but maybe those near the main lobby would make you feel saf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sombatbkk
We are most appreciative of your ongoing support of the Lae International Hotel and for providing us with feedback on your last visit. Ii is pleasing to note improvements since your last stay, particularly in Internet and water. The latter is supplied by PNG Water and in the event they turn it off for maintenance purposes the whole town suffers. However the hotel has its own bore water and we are currently sinking a second bore to ensure our tanks are permanently full and can keep up with demand.
The safety and wellbeing of our guests is a top priority and our 9 acre property is patrolled 24 hours a day by security staff. Indeed many visitors and locals come to run or walk around the hotel as it is a safe place to keep fit.
The gymnasium is currently undergoing an upgrade and new treadmills, rowing machines and punching bags will replace existing equipment.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, PNG
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lae is a tough place.. And an even tougher place to do business. David and his team do a fantastic job running this hotel in the tough enviroment. Food is great in all aspects. Friday night buffet is classy and cheap (K85 ($40) for a seafood buffet - all you can eat) Most people would spend that much at KFC or Maccas for a meal! Rooms are being renovated and the new conference centre and pool will be world class. I have personally stayed there for 4 weeks at one stage then a few nights here and there in the last 2 years. Always had good service. If I had any complaints, I would raise them on the day and they would fix them. No use going home and then complaining as nothing will ever improve. Best in town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Tincoll,
May I begin by acknowledging how much you enjoyed staying at the Lae International Hotel and thanking you for positive feedback about our food quality and service standards.
The hotel is going through an exciting phase with the completion of 40 newly renovated rooms, construction well under way of the largest conference and meeting space in Morobe province, a brand new modern kitchen ready with tasty menu’s and very shortly we will start the refit of our gymnasium.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our new facilities.

Kind Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I will start from the positive points - NONE. Other points - check in, - they could not find my booking although I had a signed copy from one of the members of their accounts department. They want to rip you off for everything - water only available twice a day - swimming pool closed until 2014 - rooms tired and old - TVs old and poor picture, if it rains the TV does not work at all - hot water only available for 2 of the days I stayed there - they try and force you to have the expensive buffet whether you want to or not.

All the pies of the day taste of curry - service really slow and the waiters avoid you. They want you to wear a collared shirt at night but let the builders use the restaurant in their dirty work clothes! They leave dirty marks on the chairs.

They have what they call fine dining BUT its just the same old tired food served a floor higher.

This is probably the worst hotel in PNG and needs a really top notch Manager to bring it around.

The Boutique Hotel in Wewak, Ela Beach Hotel and Airways Hotel in Port Moresby are 1000% percent better for the same price.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there then stay in the #400 rooms as they are near the reception/restaurant but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Lae International Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear p1g1scott,
It is with great disappointment I read about your dissatisfaction with the Lae International Hotel. I share your frustration at check in and with a confirmed reservation it should have been a simple case of welcoming you to the hotel and taking you to your room. I do apologise.
We have no control over our external water supply and when PNG Water in Lae randomly shut the water off, we have to rely on our own water supply. We are currently sinking a new bore to increase our own supply. Had I been aware that you were experiencing problems with your room I would have moved you immediately to an upgraded room.
The loss of satellite TV picture happens when it rains here in Lae but the local channel should have been available and I will check on that.
The Kokomo Restaurant offers diners a choice of Buffet, Pizza Shop or A la carte dining and staff are trained to present these menus for your enjoyment. They are very competitively priced against the leading hotels in Port Moresby. I will pass on your Pie of the Day comments to our Executive Chef to ensure customers get a good variety. Thank you.
Vanda Restaurant offers guests a fine dining experience and our menus reflect this with the accent on taste and freshness. We have recently introduced Gueridon Service and guests can choose from a range of flambé dishes cooked at your table, a first for Lae.
The Lae International Hotel received the Leading Hotel Award in PNG by the World Travel Awards in 2012, an award voted by customers. We take our business seriously and are working on a program of continuous improvement. The Kokomo Restaurant kitchen is undergoing total reconstruction and a brand new kitchen will be rolling out innovative and exciting menus soon. A 450 seat business Conference Centre is under construction and will open next year and have the largest facilities in Morobe Province. We have just finished refurbishing 40 deluxe guest rooms, offering excellent standards of accommodation.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lae International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae International Hotel

Address: 4th Street, Lae, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Lae
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lae International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lae International Hotel to your Saves list