We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 8437 Zone 7, Farallon 8437, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I travelled there in January and the weather was perfect. The resort was very nice with staff more than attentive enough without being pushy. Food was pretty good but for some reason after the first day there was no bacon for breakfast. Lots of tours available and this was our chance to see one of the oldest cities in the New World. The Panama Canal was wonderful as was the Anton Valley.
The only real negative was the garbage dump a few klicks up the road caught fire. And the smell was atrocious. Depending on who you talked to it was a message being sent to the resorts by a corrupt official or an act of god. In any case it was brutal for a day when the smoke covered the resort.

Room Tip: Go for a room off of the pool. Quiet and very clean. Tip the housecleaning staff. They are the lowes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    273
    171
    99
    71
See reviews for
294
258
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlginton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have been to this resort numerous times with our three girls and it has been outstanding. The service is great and the staff extremely friendly. Our girls were well looked after and wandered around together. Very safe. Food was excellent, but please try the local fare they cook. Much better than the westernized fare. Room were big and clean.
Will definitely go back.
And do yourself a favor if you go....try to speak a bit of spanish to the staff ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama Republic of Panama
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The worst food I have ever had anywhere ! Everything was overlooked and had some sore of sauce on it.the chef at this Hotel need's to get into the 20th century with his cooking skill's.
The only thing that was editable was the fresh fruit,we stayed for 2 nights and the second night we went to eat out,because we couldn't face an other night of the terrible food.
The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean,but as I said the food really let the whole place down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Location is beautiful. Facilities are outstanding, Staff was not as fluent in english as other locations visited. Rooms are huge!!!full kitchen etc. Resort is an all inclusive resort. Plenty of food plenty drink in a beautiful location This will be a must visit location as soon as the new airport opens in Nov/DEC of 13. several new resorts are ready for occupancy and several more are under construction. setting is outstanding great view of the Pacific ocean The only Place in the western world to watch the sunrise over the Pacific ocean. access to many of Panamas natural wonders . again a great place to get totally away in comfort.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place ask for an ocean view room or better yet a pool view in high season shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I don't think I will go back. We booked 5 rooms, but when we arrived they could only give us 3 rooms because there were no more available. The manager gave us a 2-room-suite in exchange and we accepted. When we went up to our suite, these are our observations:
1. The sofa was dirty.
2. The living room table and the kitchen counter tops where covered with dust.
3. There were no pillows in all beds.
4. The A/C controller had no batteries.
5. No TV controls were missing.
6. No hair blower.
7. The locks for the sliding glass door to the balcony was not functional.
8. Only one bottle of water for a suite?!

We paid for all inclusive, but we feel cheated. Since we only had one bottle of water in our suite, we asked for another one, but they told us that it was going to be charged. They informed us that they can only give us one for courtesy. What happened to "all inclusive"?

Then, it came time for dinner. We're told that this new compound did not have restaurants, that we have to walk to the other compound for the restaurants and the snack bar. It is Ok for us. We don't mind walking. The problem was that it was raining and although they provided the car to get us there (which was very crowded because everyone wanted to get there), we got soaked anyways getting in and getting out and still had to walk a little more to the restaurant.

And the worst of it all is that in this new compound nothing is inclusive. They advertised it as all inclusive, but they don't mention that it's not within the building. So next day, at the pool, we came to the surprise that we had to pay for the bottled water and snacks!! If we wanted the all inclusive, we have to walk to the other side again. This time we were not OK with this. The kids wanted to be in this pool, that meant that we had to walk to the other hotel, get the water and snacks and walk all the way back. Not good.

Besides all these inconveniences, we had to tolerate the rudeness of one clerk at the front desk. Her last name is Smith. She would not understand that we’re not satisfied and all her answers are the same: “it’s hotel policy…”

Keep your policy, we’re not going back and we’re not recommending it to our friends.

The other clerk, her name is Elizabeth, she’s very kind, kept her good humor in spite of being alone at the front desk and the long line of guests waiting to be attended. This should be recognized.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

i went with a group on my mother behalf i ask for a room with one bed but when i came here i told them i dont want to share room because my husband its coming tomorrow ..well they OBLIGATED me to share room until my husband came...in other words i dont have the right to be in a room by myself either and they told me that in order to do that i have to pay for an extra room....funny thing is i alredy paid my reservation.....what kind of customer service is this??? and the lady that was in the front desk a lady with a white shirt and black long hair was laughing...no manager or supervisor gave me a solution. this hotel is no even 4 stars. is the worst service ever.i came here 1or 2 times a year. i work in luxury hotel industry and let me tell u people if u want to come to this area of panama go to sheraton bijao or buenaventura.
im sure here they dont even have a quality control reading this reviews.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

First the beach in this area is awfull, dirty, water is brown and dirty.
I think the sewers go into the water near the beach because sometimes smells terrible.
the rooms need refurbishment, they smell at humidity.
food is of mediocre quality
service is nonexistent
This is a cheap place with cheap guests

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 8437 Zone 7, Farallon 8437, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel And Resort
Playa Blanca Hotel Farallon
Hotel Playa Blanca Panama
Playa Blanca Resort Panama
Playa Blanca Panama City
Blanca Panama Playa
Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort Panama/Farallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Blanca Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.