We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just return from Panama; the resort is massive, the food was wonderful!!!! it's unfortunate that the staff is very unfriendly. My family and I had chosen to meet in this hotel for a holiday after not seeing each other for five years; we were a group of five coming from different parts of the world. We all agreed that the unfriendly staff put a damper on our holiday. We had the impression that the staff were not helpful or friendly. The reception staff were not polite and not willing to answer simple questions in a kind way. We were very surprised to find this kind of attitude for a Spanish speaking country. We have travel a lot in Latin America, central America and the Caribbean and have found the friendliest and kindness people who make you feel at home. Needless to say this was our first time and also our last time at this hotel. If management is reading this message I will please select your staff carefully there is plenty of room for improvement....remind your staff that a smile goes along way. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Maritza,

Thank you for your visit on September.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As a Manager I can assure you that this matter will be taken care of.

Our staff will be encouraged to adopt friendlier attitude and disposition.

Hopefully we will have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    1,025
    613
    225
    149
See reviews for
660
1,046
61
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice resort. Proficient staff. Buffets not 5 star but reasonable quality.

This is an all inclusive hotel with a large pool perfect for children of all ages!

We stayed in villas which were spotless and comfortable although no WIFI. The grounds were clean and safe.

Excellent ocean views and clean beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Roadguy,

We appreciate your stay at Decameron Panamá in August.

We are glad to hear that your experience was satisfactory.

Hopefully we will have you soon.

Kindly Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My favorite part of this resort was definitely the beach...huge, clean and beautiful.

The resort itself is absolutely massive, with plenty of restaurants and pools to choose from.

We were a group of 4 - 2 couples. We had a great time, but there weren't very many guests our age there. The disco seemed like more of a local hangout...I wouldn't really recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisse C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Greetings dear guest,

We appreciate your review regarding your stay in November 2013.

We are glad to hear that your experience at Decameron Panama was as you expected.

Hopefully we will have you soon.

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to this resort (using the all-inclusive option) six times. Can't wait to go back for number seven! Plenty of different restaurants to choose from like Japanese, buffet, Italian, Steakhouse & Seafood. Many options for how you can enjoy the sun (beach, family pool, adult pools and activity pool). Staff has always been friendly and helpful. Only two negatives- first, no wi-fi. Internet kiosks set up in the lobby's that really offer no privacy. Second, it's 90 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: We liked all of the rooms we've had with the exception of the "Garden" rooms. The res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Kelli,

Thank you for your comments and your fidelity to Decameron Panama.

We are very glad to know that your experiences were what you expect.

Regarding your negative comments, we offer free WiFi in our lobby's, so you can stay connected, also the Hotel is located in Playa Blanca, and this specific location has an arch that permits you to enjoy a better climate than other beaches here in Panama.

Hopefully we will have you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While vacationing in Panama we decided to just head to the Decameron for a one night stay. We headed down to the resort which was a two and a half hour drive from the bus depot in Panama City. We took a "dollar Van" type of ride that charged us each six dollars for the ride down. While listening to reggaeton we stopped often to pick up and drop off local travelers>

Anyhoo, we get to the resort with no reservation. The staff was helpful but looked at us like we were crazy for just popping up on the resort. Because we wanted a room for only one night they easily accommodated us.

The Room: Was average, 3 start facility. The room we had needed updating and knowing we were a couple, they still gave us two double beds (with an actual third day bed type added to the room). Our room had a balcony facing the water which was nice.

The Drinks: Were amazing and flowing, they have a punch named after the resort that I highly recommend
The FOOD: Average, nothing to right home about. Literally a lot of frozen food options. The Buffet's were nice, lots pre made and made to order options to choose from.

The Pools: PERFECT. The pools make up for the bad rooms and bad food. My Favorite was the pool with the swim up bar but they have about three or four different pools to choose from along with the property being on the beach. Only thing is you cant have your drink in the water with you unless you are at the pool with the bar.

They did allow us to hang out on the grounds after we checked out to keep eating and drinking until it was time to depart. We got the basic package bur compared to 5 star all inclusive I dont think I would have been impressed if we did pay for the upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings dear customer,

Thank you for your comments on you stay at Decameron Panama.

We are glad to know that our staff was able to accommodate you without reservation.
We appreciate every comment, currently we offer you 8 different pools and 10 different restaurants so you choose.

Hopefully we will have you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went as a family of four siblings and we loved the resort, I know the boys made the most of the golf course too! If you visit you must definitely try the massages on the beach front or you also have the option to have them indoors too.
There's also entertainment most nights, some catered to an older market!

However, for the amount we paid for an all inclusive we would have hoped there would be more options when it came to food. At breakfast and lunch they only have buffets available, in most all inclusive places we've visited we've usually had services where we would be catered to out needs. Also vegetarian options are extremely limited, and usually the same daily. The way the food was handled was also a bit questionable but all negatives aside the dining experience was lovely in the evenings.

I would, however, do a little more research before booking here as some of the excursions were incredibly expensive per person! If you like your scenery with a little adventure then the ATV for 3 hours is definitely worth it!! Especially if you'd like to pick your own fresh mangoes off the trees!

Overall we had a lovely time, but it's one of those places where you would try out just once.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay in July at Decameron Panama.

We are happy to read that you were able to enjoy our SPA and Mantarrayas Golf Club.
Corresponding your comments we will be taking them to the correct department, however, we can assure you that there are plenty options for vegetarians, you can also ask for different food.

Hopefully we will have you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a nice surprise and better than expected. The Italian restaurant was as good as many in the U.S., as was the Asian and seafood restaurants. The buffets were always fresh and offered a good variety but plan on making reservations at the restaurants also. Jet skis were very fun and the evening shows were well done. Take a taxi to the nearby small town to experience the local markets.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Decameron Panama.

We are glad to read that your experience was better than expected.

Hopefully we will have you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama is an all inclusive hotel located about 2 kilometers of white sandy beach in Farallon, Panama. The hotel is located on the Pacific coast, close to many tourist attractions. Also, the city of Panama and the Tocumen International Airport (PTY) are located 120 miles away. The Royal Decameron in Panama hotel offers 852 guestrooms in low-rise buildings and 370 rooms Villas. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, closet, safe (local charge), direct dial telephone (with deposit cash at the reception) and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Also have a minibar as part of the all inclusive plan and the villas are located on the golf course. Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers eight pools for adults three wading pools, three hot tubs, a casino, a golf course with 18 holes and a full spa. This beach hotel also offers a variety of organized activities on land and water for the whole family, and two convention centers for business travelers. The Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort has 11 bars, a nightclub and 10 restaurants ranging from traditional to the more exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino Panama/Farallon
Royal Decameron Resort Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.