We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, but awful food...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Farallon
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach, but awful food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came for a week in November with my partner and parents. We enjoyed spending time at the beach and in the many pools. Massages on the beach were quite relaxing. However lots of children around, so not as peaceful as I am used to having at all inclusive resorts. The food was awful.. It was hard to pick out anything to eat other then bread at many of the buffets for breakfast/lunch. Dinner menus were a bit better, and we actually quite enjoyed the Thai themed restaurant. The bar near lobby 1 was fantastic. Great staff and delicious cappuccinos. We rented a car and found that there were not many day trips in the area to do. Anton Valley is a must if you do have a car. Our last night there they had incredibly loud fireworks and a wedding party outside our room which lasted until 5am and we had to be up at 6pm to get to the airport.... Overall it was a good trip, but wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    950
    576
    215
    132
See reviews for
581
984
56
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here in April 2013. It was a very clean and pleasant place. The food was great and the staff were very happy and smiling. The offshore fishing was top notch and the whole experience was absolutely wonderful. I would go back again any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer, ab
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got an amazing deal for this vacation spot so went with very low expectations even though it's a 4 star. The resort is huge and on a hill so be aware for anyone with mobility issues. Most of the rooms are at the top of the hill but all the restaurants are at the bottom with lots of stairs or steep roads.

food: was average with plenty of restaurants to choose from. The meat tended to be overcooked in all the restaurants so be prepared for that. On the last night we found the best place to eat.....the sushi restaurant. We're not even big sushi fans but it was amazing. Our next favorite was the thai. Sorry I cant remember the names. Food tended to be served cool...never hot but the flavor was good. Amazing coffee in the main lounge area just below lobby 1 (main lobby).
there are 3 lobbys so none are very far from the rooms. Regular coffee is available in each one-self serve.

pools: They seem to be everywhere! All along the beach area are pools as well as 2 in the upper room area. There were tons of locals and children at those pools so we were always spending our time in the adult only pool which is at the top of the hill at the far end of the resort....opposite end of lobby 1. Its also the only pool with a swim up bar. NOTE: bathrooms are basically under the pool. the stairs are the opposite side of the pool from the bar-past the showers. And beware of the drop off about 7 feet from the stairs once your in the pool. It became the running joke to those of us in the pool as to the reaction of people as they walked off the drop cause the pool is quite cool. lol.

rooms: This resort anywhere else wouldn't be a 4 star. It is on the older side but its the basic maintenance I found was lacking. Things that are an easy fix like the shower head moving, bathroom tiles cracked, the grounds not being cleaned. The rooms were clean though. The air conditioner really didn't work well. It ran all the time and only slightly cooled the room. So instead of being 30 outside it was like 28 in the room! lol At first we were disappointed in our room because of being so far from lobby 1 and being at the top of the hill away from the main pools and food. But after we walked around, we really liked where our room was. Close to the casino, adult pool and lobby 2. Also away from the disco and main lobby where the "entertainment" was so it was really peaceful at night.

casino: drinks are not included and have to be paid for....mind you a beer was 1.60, so no biggy. They have tons of slot machines and usually a few poker tables open. if you're a winner, make sure you do the math. Some were complaining the staff tried to cheat them on winning ticket payouts, giving them $200 instead of the actual win of $2000. fyi

SPA: my husband and I really enjoyed our massages. If you go to the info session, the ladies from the spa will be outside ready to book you an appointment at a discounted rate. We were warned not to book over the phone because English isn't well spoken or understood in panama. best to book in person.

Excursions: the only trip we took was to the yayas falls. Lots of stairs there so be aware of that. We spent about an hour there including the walk there and back and spending time at the falls where you can go for a dip.....but its cold! Bring a towel and a snack. a snack is provided but its all prepackaged stuff like cookies. nothing nutritional. The best part of the trip was the drive through the mountain villages to get to the falls. You actually get to see how locals live and get some history of the people and the culture. You will stop at a mall on the way back to the resort for lunch so some bring some money. It wasn't mentioned when we booked. The guide was awesome...cant remember her name!

entertainment: what entertainment?! We aren't late birds anyway but from what we saw it was mostly karaoke and local singers. No shows, and all in Spanish. again, English is not commonly spoken or understood.
Down the beach there is a bar called "woodys". Its owned by a lady from newfoundland and has great bands on the weekends. Also free WIFI so don't pay the crazy fees on the resort (like $15/day). I would suggest going with other people. There tends to be groups of locals hanging out on the beach and its pretty dark. We didn't see anything sketchy while there but there are a lot of drugs in the area. The female server there is so good. She serves the whole bar all on her own and we were never waiting. She makes crap wages so tip her well. And I believe she works 7 days a week.
Panama in general is still behind as far as recycling and trash awareness. There is garbage everywhere. Not on the resort but everywhere else. If you walk out of the resort to the left and walk down the road there are a few local vendors selling panama stuff. Decent prices and selection. They are willing to bargain but they are poor so try not to go to low.
If you go with Air Transat there is an option to spend your last day in Panama at the hard rock hotel after you do a tour of the Panama canal. I heard this was a great option. I think it was an extra 180 a couple?? or each?? The weather was absolute perfection. So hot that if you weren't in the shade, you were getting burned very quickly. There was always a nice easy breeze.

overall we went looking for a relaxing, hot and uncomplicated vacation and that's exactly what we got. I would recommend Panama keeping in mind the flights were long and we had delays both ways......Air transat...no surprise there. Also, the airport in Panama offers very little in the way of food. There are no restaurants only small food kiosks that run out of food and I'm pretty sure I got sick off the only thing we could find....a hot dog! lol

I hope this helps anyone travelling to this resort!

Room Tip: Mobility issues choose a beachfront. If you want to be away from the action with a bit more peace st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It takes about two hour to get to the resort from the airport. Hoping that the new airport that's 5 minutes away from resort will be open to international flights.

Once at the resort, we had a beachfront room. That's the only way to go. From there everything is accessible; pools beach restaurants, bars and snack bars. They made sure everything was less than 2 minutes away. The reason is the resort is built on a downward sort of a hill. All three lobby's are on top and room go down towards beach and most of the restaurants.

Beach is beautiful, weather was Amazing., food was very good. Lots of varieties. Service very good, staff so nice. Rooms are clean but don't expect a fully renovated hotel. That being said we we're happy with our room. The ocean front room has an amazing view. We were in building # 31.

Downside : you have to pay for your security box and WIFI. Also, no mini-fridge in rooms, but that's ok since they provide very room with a 1.5 lt of water daily and like I mentioned before, restaurants and bars everywhere.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my first time to Panama and would certainly go again. The food was good, the weather was awesome and the drinks were great. We did try a couple of the ala cartes, but found the food was better at the buffets. Staff is really nice. One of the girls in our group has to have surgery on her knee, so we took shuttles if we had to go up the hill. The resort is huge, very clean and grounds well kept. We upgraded to a room down near the beach, which was awesome. We didn't have to walk far for the buffets, the pool and the beach. I would definitely recommend this resort.
We hired a cab driver from the resort to take us to the Canal, boat trip and the market. He took us where ever we wanted to go for $60 each for the whole day. He was great, spoke english very well and brought a driver with him so he could focus on us and answer any of our questions.
Yes, you do waste 2 travelling days......5 hour flight and 2 hours from airport to resort, but we knew that when we booked so we were prepared for it.
I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Not a place for someone who has trouble walking. But the shuttles are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at the Royal Decameron in Panama for the first two weeks of March 2014. This resort is huge but well maintained with 3 different lobbies. The grounds are well maintained. If you don’t like stairs, this is not the place for you. We were in building 16 and had to go up 104 stairs from the beach to our room. There are lots of a la carte restaurants and at least 3 buffets – one for each lobby - open for meals. All restaurants were good, cannot complain about the food at this resort. The only complaint from us is the variety – always the same food day after day. Rooms are good size, somewhat outdated, but kept clean. We were a bit frustrated - we had to pay extra $3.00 a day for a mini fridge that took almost 2 days to show up. Apparently the resort only has about 50 fridges, so we had to wait for someone to leave to get one. There is also lots of open bars all over the resort – at least one in every lobby and pool. Service was slow at some and OK at others. We noticed that the younger bar tenders were nicer than the older bar tenders. The best bar was the one in Lobby 2. The bartender was the best, always happy and smiling and very friendly. We spent the first week at the pool in lobby 2. At first, the animation crew were very nice and playful. They would ensure everyone got to participate in their daily games. After a while, they did not want us (Canadians) to play. We tried to play volleyball or sand bags but to no avail. We were never chosen so we decided to go to pool in lobby 1 and got better service and fun there.
We booked 1 excursion from the hotel - Decameron Explorer - to visit the Embera Indigenous Community. On our way there by bus, our tour operator explained to us that we had to stop at a grocery store to buy groceries for the Indigenous village because they could no longer hunt for food as all the animals are gone and their village is now on a national park. We were told we could purchase beer, rice, beans, etc. so we bought beer, rice and cookies. Once the bus stopped, we took a small ride on a piragua (small wooden boat) to the indigenous community. Arriving at the village, we were told to either give our bag of goods to the people of our choice or put the items on a table and it would be shared by the tribe. We decided to put our items on the table. We had a meal (fish or chicken) served in a bowl made out of a banana leaf. It was good; then the villagers danced and played music then some tourists had temporary tattoos done on them for a small tip. We then went to their market to purchase trinkets made by the locals. Someone in our group then noticed that one of the guides from Decameron Explorer took all of the beer and some food and put those items in a bag and was leaving with it. We confronted him and he told us that we were not allowed to give beer to the indigenous people. We explained that our guide had told us that we could so he finally gave the beer back to the tribe chief. He still left with a bag full of food though. This kind of ruined our day trip. When we arrived at the hotel, we told our Nolitour representative. Not sure what happened after that!!!!
All in all, we liked our trip but were a bit disappointed with the lack of fauna in Panama. We were told that with the deforestation, most of the animals were either dead or moved to higher elevations. There was also a lot of garbage everywhere on the side of the road. It’s a pity because they have a beautiful country and could ensure tourist get to see their animals and plants. Over all we loved our vacation to the Royal Decameron in Panama, but would not go back to this resort as there are a lot of other places/countries to be visited.

Room Tip: In our opinion, choose rooms close to lobby 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just came back from our vacation.My overall rating for this hotel was very good.Hotel is very clean and very well maintain.Beach is nice and clean.Food is well prepared with lots of choices.Room service was excellent.Servers need some more training but it is not a big problem.Rooms are nice and big.Every room has air conditioner and it is very quiet and efficient.Resort is built on the hill it not good for people with limited movement but transportation is provided when needed.Rooms with ocean view have nice panorama of ocean with a sound of waves. Weather was nice.We will go again we are looking forward to be there again.I woud recommend.

Room Tip: Chose the room that is not close to main reception if you want to sleep soon.Have room with ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Golf & Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino Panama/Farallon
Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.