We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Scuba diving lesson
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to many different countries/hotels down south and the Royal Decameron is the only one we've been to multiple times. The people there are amazing, the food is tremendous, and the pools are great. The only "drawback" is the ocean/beach. Since it's on the Pacific side, the beach is not the best. However, the pools make up for it.

I would recommend this resort for anyone.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, you might want to get a room close to the beach because if you are &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    1,096
    643
    234
    152
See reviews for
712
1,095
64
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our week of sunshine and great weather. The beach was terrific and the grounds were lovely. We enjoyed seeing the peacock wandering the ground and many large iguanas. We did have a room at the beach - the only drawback was lots of stairs to go up to the lobby. The room was clean enough, the air conditioner worked ok for the most part and we did get our room cleaned properly. No face cloths in the room though, you may want to bring your own.

We didn't enjoy the long ride out from Panama City. We were tired and came in to the airport late afternoon and therefore it took almost 3 hours to get through the city traffic to get to the resort.

We spent the first few days relaxing on the beach and working on our tans. We had great weather and enjoyed the pools. August isn't really tourist season so the resort was very quiet for the most part. We did a few day trips as well. We used Panama Roadrunner to take us on a city tour and visited Casco Viejo which is the old city and then spent some time at the canal watching the ships go through the locks. We also used Roadrunner to take us in to Jungle Land tour which was a day in the Gamboa rainforest. Two amazing days for us. Way better than being stuck on a bus,.

The food in the a la cartes was ok, the buffets were average but there was enough variety that we always found something to eat. We are planning a return trip this coming February! Not such a bad place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid Aug.2013. We stayed in a beach front room with a king bed in block 12 on the 3rd floor, the view was awesome, the room clean,put the clean my room card on your door when you leave or it may not get cleaned daily.We loved the location of our room convenient to everything, we did not think there was to much walking to get to restaurants or anything really.We did have an adjoining door in our room that did not filter noise so try to avoid that if you can we did have a few late night issues with guests on the other side of that door. The food was good lots of selection, always fresh roasted meats being carved at the buffets at lunch as well as dinner and salad bar was always fresh. We took a few excursions with a Canadian tour company called Road Runner and enjoyed having an English speaking guide. I would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Beachfront, King bed,Block 12,3rd floor, no adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to the resort for a day and the activities were fun but the food was AWFUL. We could barley even eat most of it. Drinks were watered down, too. Staff at the bars were nice but the front desk staff was very rude and even ignored us for while. I would recommend visiting a few local restaurants like La Fogata and Cami E's. Both serve great food with friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I travelled here in april 2013. It was his first time at an all inclusive resort. He absolutely loved it and insists we go back very soon. The food was great, lots of selection. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

On checkin, they do not give your bags from the bus; instead you are provided with a beverage and the luggage are delivered to your door. We didn't like this much; especially when we noticed peoples luggage sitting outside their doors hours later. We had the understanding that the luggage would be delivered to our rooms and placed inside...they leave it at your door...so make sure if its an early arrival you have a swimsuit in your carry on :) Otherwise checkin went smoothly and quickly.

We had an issue with the AC leaking in our room and called the front desk, someone was at our room fixing it within half an hour and it was repaired and working fine within the hour. We had no other issues with the room. It was clean and met our expectations. We had a balcony but they have a rule that you are not allowed to dry your suit or towels on the balcony, so remember to bring a clothes line to hang up in your room somewhere.

The beach was great and the selection of pools was wonderful. We enjoyed the adult pool with the swim up bar most afternoons for a quiet place to hang out, however the main pool in the mornings was fun. Its where the music playing and all the entertainment and activites were. Evening entertainment wasn't the best; we attended for about 3 nights and then lost interest as each night was pretty much the same as the last. We did enjoy the giant chess board.

My husband doesn't drink alcohol, so the expresso bar was his favorite place to stop throughout the day; excellent service and according to him the drinks were great too.

We went on the 3hour ATV tour, that was a blast!! Also rented a seadoo from the beach and went around the island. On our last night we did the city and canal tour and stayed the last night at the Hard Rock Hotel in the city. Well, thats a whole other review in itself, it was amazing there!!

There is a little market down the street about 5 minutes where you can buy hand crafted items and a store to purchase drinks and snacks and such (tip--redbull is cheaper there than in the lobby store). We went to the market almost every day :)

The resort also offers wifi for a fee; its not exactly a deal but its reasonable compared to other places I have been.

Also, we were on the second floor, but we observed peacocks tapping their beaks on peoples patio door windows and cawing loudly in the mornings, so you might not want a ground floor room ;)

Room Tip: dont choose ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's a fair 4 star resort with the usual level of comfort we expect from a 4star.Rooms are large and clean with comfortable beds,furniture in good condition and decoration inspired by local art.Each has a balcony with chairs.Ocean front rooms are also pools front,restaurants front,walkway front,etc.So,if you want to be close to the action you might like those,if you want to see the ocean but stay away from the music and pedestrian traffic do chose an ocean view room that will be located on higher ground.Buffet food is pretty good with lots of fresh fruits and veggies,fish and seafood,grilled meats,pastas and the always welcome local dishes.It is impossible not to find something to your taste.We personally did not go to à la carte restaurants because we prefer the variety of the buffet (when it is a good one!)

The beach is definitely worth it: 4 to 5 kilometres of nice sand ( including floor of the ocean) water is at a perfect temperature,smooth waves and no unfriendly visitors in the water.

It is a very large resort so you might have to walk a lot but since the surroundings are very beautiful it is fun.There are stairs and inclined pathways so this could be a problem for elderlies or peoples in wheelchair.

The pools closest to the beach were too busy for our taste with loud music.The smaller pools on higher ground were less crowded.

The resort is a two hour bus drive from the airport of Panama City BUT A NEW AIRPORT IS SUPPOSED TO OPEN IN DECEMBER AND WILL BE LOCATED 5 MINUTES FROM THE HOTEL.
Only question,will it be too close?

It is a nice resort,a good value for the price and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 3 days/2nights with my 18 yr old son.
Room was clean and comfortable, older TV. AC worked well.
Rom was far away but there was transport service which worked most of the time.

Food was good quality buffet, great choices, clean, Fresh, not gourmet.
Drinks were fine for all inclusive, no fancy bar.
Gym was good, well kept and clean..

Facilities in general were clean and in good shape.

This is a massive resort, so there is no privacy, lots of people, some waits, but in general a good experience.

I feel I got value for what I paid. If you want fancy food, comfort, service, then go to a more exclusive hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama is an all inclusive hotel located about 2 kilometers of white sandy beach in Farallon, Panama. The hotel is located on the Pacific coast, close to many tourist attractions. Also, the city of Panama and the Tocumen International Airport (PTY) are located 120 miles away. The Royal Decameron in Panama hotel offers 852 guestrooms in low-rise buildings and 370 rooms Villas. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, closet, safe (local charge), direct dial telephone (with deposit cash at the reception) and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Also have a minibar as part of the all inclusive plan and the villas are located on the golf course. Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers eight pools for adults three wading pools, three hot tubs, a casino, a golf course with 18 holes and a full spa. This beach hotel also offers a variety of organized activities on land and water for the whole family, and two convention centers for business travelers. The Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort has 11 bars, a nightclub and 10 restaurants ranging from traditional to the more exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino Panama/Farallon
Royal Decameron Resort Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.