We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 118 Panamerican Highway | Rio Hato, PA, Farallon, Panama (Formerly Royalton Panama Luxury Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The worst food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love the amenities at this place; however, there are only three restaurants. The buffet was only open for breakfast and lunch (food was ok). The Aqua restaurant food was horrible. The snack bar was ok. We had dinner two nites at the outdoor location, although selection is very limited the food was better; service however was slow at both locations. The rooms are nice, but service was very poor. The one nite they had a show it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear DeeGibbs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca.

We are more than glad to know that you liked our amenities and room. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed and relaxed. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations.

Please accept our apologies if our food did not meet your standards. We are currently working with our Chef and Staff implementing new menus and items to meet our guest expectations.

We hope you provide us the opportunity to show you the improvements in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    151
    126
    76
    76
See reviews for
146
216
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having read the recent reviews, I can only conclude that the reviewers were overly critical or had limited travel experience. I stayed at the building to the left of the main building on the 4th floor.
Great rooms and great view. Loved the pool bar with its great service. We ate at the restaurant on the second floor of the main building and appreciated not having an other buffet. The food was not gourmet but I wouldn't go to a hotel for great food. We did have a buffet breakfast in the building near the beach. There was no A/C but in the AM it wasn't needed. Everybody staff member I dealt with was friendly even though English wasn't their strong point. You're right..it's in the middle of nowhere but if one did any research, it shouldn't be a surprise. It took a few tries to figer out the hot water but once you realize that the cold water faucet isn't turned on, I got all the hot water I wanted. I was with a tour group and everybody was happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

hotel suites were very nice, they even had a Jacuzzi.. o yes!!! a NON working Jacuzzi and a NON working bath tub. desperate for maintenance the hotel structure manage to stands out.. but the service wouuwwww the service... where do i start 1. the manager (magdalena I believe) was as rude as she could be, the word polite was not in her vocabulary,2. we had to beg for a good morning from the staff and even one guy from the entertainment crew insult a friend of mine. 3.Food was horrible.. if horrible can start describing it. we were 20 people and we all agree that this was the worst experience ever. if you are planning to go just DONT. Wyndham hotels should definitely remove the franchise coz they are a true joke. they even write GRAND on the name.. GRAND please....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Lara Y,
Thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel. We have taken notes of your comments regarding our service they help us to improve our standards.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our interest is to give the service offered and expected by all guests who come to the Hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologize for any inconvenience.

We hope that these inconveniences do not prevent you or your family to choose Wyndham Hotels for your next vacation or business trip´s.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile


This place opened as Nikky beach but they not meet the standards and they retired the franchise. Then they open as royal something and now is a Wyndham Grand (Grand??????)
The hotel is nice, the beach is beautiful and the pool is well designed. The hotel scream for a maintenance.
Rooms are comfortable, beds cozy inviting you to sleep after a day at the sun. They have full appliances and a couple of cans of soda and beers in the refrigerator. Linens are ok, not the best and bath towels small.
They have two restaurants a la carte, a BBQ and a Mediterranean but they only have few seats. The hotel push you to the buffet where the food is TERRRIBLE BAD and lack of service. No clean, spotty and with few personal. One more thing, they put water in the wine bottle! Terrible.
They said they have a sushi bar, I had never found it.
In general is not very clean, pool has leaves, straws and cups, restaruant are not clean at all: I seat and stain my short with strawberry ice cream on the chair. Terrible.
I would never come back again, this place is a 2 stars motel disguised on a 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mr. MarioPTY,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

We appreciate you for bring to our attention these situation which have helped us to identify improvements opportunities. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have had with the service.

We are sorry that you did not meet the Sushi bar. The Sushi Bar is located in the Lobby at the Back of the Lobby Martini Bar.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service, feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Wyndham Resort at Playa Blanca had particularly beautiful swimming pools and access to the beach! Great for relaxing after a day of touring! The also had very nice rooms. However we were just very disappointed with the eating conditions at the Muelle restaurant in building ‘N’. It was not air conditioned. For our group of seniors, it was very unpleasant and could even be described as a dangerous environment where we could not escape from the heat and humidity! We were told the A/C had broken and later it was suggested that it was just not turned on because it was off season!

At the Beach Club outdoor restaurant, the dinner chefs need to work on their steak and salmon preparation. The salmon was very salty and the steak was very tough. It was bad.I personally experienced that issue and talked to several other guests that felt the same. I must say that the seafood was always very nicely prepared. The service was also extremely slow. The wait staff was very polite, it just took forever to get the food to the table after it was ordered and it also took a long time to clear the dishes when we had completed the meal. They certainly need training to bring them up to the level of professionalism that will enable them to provide an efficient, yet relaxing meal.

On the whole the resort has wonderful potential, they just need to work on these key features that will make this resort live up to the quality that the Wyndham name evokes.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you request is finished. Some in our group had unfinished rooms which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Voyager1949

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca.

We are more than glad to know that you found our swimming pools beautiful and that you could relax after your day of touring. We work hard on maintaining an atmosphere for the guest to feel welcomed and relaxed. It was a pleasure for our staff to serve you during your vacations.

In deed we are having some problems with the air conditioner at the Muelle Restaurant, We are truly sorry about your bad experience. In name of the Management we apologize for any inconvenience, we will like to mention that we are working in order to have it functioning.

Please accept our apologies if our food did not meet your standards. We are currently working with our Chef and Staff implementing new menus and items to meet our guest expectations.

We hope you provide us the opportunity to show you the improvements in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really a disgrace for Wyndham to have their name attached. Wyndham corporate ned to come take a look at this place.. dirty carpets, chipped paint, dirty glass everytwhere.. They need trained help thats for sure. Obviously this was a low budget hotel who bought the Wyndham brand franchise. Glad I decided to book another hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Larry S,

On behalf of the management of the Hotel we want to express our concern, at the same time ask for our sincere apologies.

We have taken note of all the points and informed Food & Beverage and Housekeeping department. Your comments will help us improve our services.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our interest is to give the service offered and expected by all guests who come to the Hotel.

We hope that these inconveniences do not prevent you or your family Mr. Larry S. to choose Wyndham Hotels for your next vacation or business trip´s.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Wyndham, it's not Grand. It's a nice hotel, the drinks (all inclusive) were good - but you have to wait almost 25 minutes to get a drink in the Lobby Bar, The food was OK. The breakfasts were especially good with a wide variety of foods, but the restaurant is in a very bad shape, looks old and sad besides there is no air conditioning in the buffet room!!!

I paid for a suite with a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath. There was a balcony, the kitchen was stocked with whatever you would need for cooking, it was very nice, but (again) I had problems in the shower and I didn't have hot water the first 2 days.

I agree that the resort is a bit tired and in need of some upgrading, but I have to admit as well that the Staff is always willing to assist you with a big smile on their faces, except for the guys in the lobby bar, they are not nice, they serve you like a second hand customer.

I think this could be a high end resort, however they need to work very hard if they want a traveler like me to come back, I will have second thoughts before I stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AArauz, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. TMCMexicoCity,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.
We are very happy to know that you liked our drinks and food, however we truly apologize for the delay on the service of the drinks at the lobby we have already spoken with the staff in matter to correct this for the future.

We are glad to know that the majority part of our staff had a smile on their face and were willing to assist you. We will let them know your comments as well we have spoken to the staff that assists the lobby bar in order to commit our aim that is customer satisfaction.

Your opinions and feedback it’s very important for us it will help us to maintain and improve the quality of our service.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely,
Rossetty Requena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca

Address: Km 118 Panamerican Highway | Rio Hato, PA, Farallon, Panama (Formerly Royalton Panama Luxury Resort)
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the spacious and elegant lobby of the Royalton Panama Beach Resort, the simplistic, modern design of the furnishings, combined with the extensive use of beautiful wood accents, sets a tone of understated excellence for your stay. The resort welcomes you and immediately begins to restore and enrich your senses. All five senses will respond to the beauty and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton Panama Luxury Hotel Farallon
Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca Panama/Farallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.