We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie, but sorta a goodie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Nacional

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Nacional to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Nacional
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oldie, but sorta a goodie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Dated is right word, but it's pretty clean. Some rooms face noisy street, and interior acoustics can be a problem. Restaurant is just OK. Front desk staff very good, restaurant staff mostly very good. As value, it's OK. All rooms smallish, bathrooms very basic. Internet slow but reliable. Be prepared for lots of tourists, by the busload!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
24
37
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

When booking my room I'd asked for a disabled friendly room, as I'm traveling with crutches & a broken leg. I understand if those rooms are not available, but what was disappointing is that there hadn't been any upfront communication by the hotel regarding this fact.

When we checked in we were informed that the room may not be ready yet, as check in as at 2 pm. When the guy reception turned around to the check the clock it was already 2:05 PM. I hobbled over to our room, only to find it not ready.

The rooms and the facilities are quite dated. The bathroom had mold. I'm not sure why this is getting a pretty good rating on TripAdvisor.

This morning a cleaning lady waltzed in at 10 am. She didn't even knock. We luckily were only staying one night and check out is at 11 am.

I'd say elsewhere in David. Or better yet stay in Boquete.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Lobby was WOW.

Great check in because it was fast smooth,easy and painless. They were busy, but had the staff. I liked it.

The room has a perfect size for the four of us,city view,wifi,TV’s are great...Plenty of channels for kids.

The food at the restaurant downstairs amazing,kids love the pizza and ROOM service was prompt.

The location of the Hotel is wonderful. Walk to high end stores,casinos,coffee shops and David Park.

Every staff person had a good idea of the area so whether it was shopping, eating, site seeing they were very very helpful.

The drinks near the pool and close to the movie theater was really good.. the cocktails presentation are excellent, the staff are extremely friendly.
The setting is beautiful. Great architecture,very relaxing.....while the kids swim at the big pool.

And I recommend try a Panama food named "Sancocho" it's like chicken soup but with Great flavor.

We enjoy stay there,prefer it over OTHERS hotels ...It has all the facilities and service that you need on a trip, it doesn't matter if it's business or pleasure.

When We leave a hotel I always ask myself if I would stay at the property again if I was back in the area and I can say with certainty that, YES I will absolutely return to the GRAN HOTEL NACIONAL the next time I am in David,Panama.

Thanks



Mary and family !!






  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean but dated. We had a ground floor room with a small screened porch which would have been nice except there were no chairs and the back was overgrown. The outdoor bar/restaurant was good, the included continental breakfast was just o.k. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Although Wi-Fi was advertised, we had lots of problems getting connected. Dropped signal frequently. Very frustrating. Room was clean but very old and musty. Lots of noise from water pipes. Staff was polite and friendly and some spoke English. Moved to Hotel Ciudad de David. Much much better.

Room Tip: try to stay in newer section of hotel. some is remodled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night because it was close to the bus station and we were leaving in the morning. The rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the pool. We didn't eat in the restaurant because we prefer local food - we did enjoy the breakfast buffet which was included and was very good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After having stayed at a hostel for part of my trip and hotels for the remainder, I wished I chose a different hotel. While the staff is nice and friendly, the rooms are dingy and feel dirty. The pool isn't chlorinated and the outdoor restaurant was so bad that I had to send back my fish. Good for one night if all you need is a place to put your feet up. There are better hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Nacional

Address: Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nacional is located in the heart of David´s banking and commercial Center, Capital of Chiriqui Province completely remodeled. Its surroundings are great to spend a good vacation with your family, also to plan the business meetings, weddings, seminars, etc.Our comfortable rooms, Jr. Suites, Pool–Side, Master Suites, are mostly furnished with two double beds, and some are equipped with king or queen sizes.There are 3 restaurants on property: the Coffee Shop serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the daily exquisite lunch-buffet, the Italian–Pizza Restaurant offers “A la carte” all day from lunch to dinner, furthermore the Gazebo, located in the small Tropical Garden, the room transforms every night to a Barbecue Restaurant with a salad-bar.For your evening activities the hotel offers “Multicinema” with 6 theater, plus Las Vegas style Casino open 24 hours.Gran Hotel Nacional, “More than a Tradition, a Chiriqui Heritage”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel David
Gran Hotel Nacional Panama/David

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Nacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.