We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good choice in David!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuatro

Cuatro
Avenida Obaldia y Calle Estudiate | Casa #6176, David, Panama
+507 730 5638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 restaurants in David
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Kentville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Very Good choice in David!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We selected this restaurant from reading up on it on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is in a former home and has several rooms and areas for dining, adding to a welcome level of privacy. There is also a nice bar area as you first enter.The menu is also in English, so no problems ordering. Service was pleasant, helpful and attentive. Almost too attentive :) but not actually intrusive. Our young waiter was most anxious to please. The food was beautifully prepared and served fresh and hot. The menu had interesting offerings.The wine was excellent. All in all a very pleasant dining out experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    37
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Star !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place deserves all praise given to it, especially since its young chef/owner chose to open a very fine restaurant in a region not known for such an investment of skill, energy, and capital. There is nothing comparable outside of Panama City, and only a few within the City. Chef's training abroad and devotion are present in every plate. Menu emphasizes local ingredients but brings them to the diner as a new and very pleasurable experience. Service was a bit over-eager on a slow night, but polite and pleasant. The rooms are simple but tastefully decorated. Bravo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hand's Down Best Restaurant in Panama!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everything was amazing, especially liked the shrimp Bellini's, and the sangria's were to die for. Their were 4 adults and 2 kids and we split 3 appetizers and 2 entrees. Everything was so good it was hard not to lick the plate clean. I cannot wait to return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The first place we take special guests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Cuatro is owned & operated by Louis, a local Panamanian master chef trained at the Culinary Institute of America in New York, and has put together a friendly professional staff to make a great meal even better.
The great location is just off the famous Panamerican Hwy, with plenty of good parking and close to the center of David.
This is the place we take special friends & guests and go when we need to by pampered.
The chef really goes out of the way to get the freshest ingrediances, best cuts and attention to detail.
Don't miss it, Gary & Jennifer

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best food I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Simple and stylish decor and professional service are a bonus at this restaurant, the highlight is the amazing food.

I had shrimp spring rolls followed by grilled octopus and then chocolate fondant. The portions, although not enormous, were very fair and the quality extremely high. I was full, but could have eaten the same again just to taste it again!

Prices for mains from 16 to 20 dollars make this place expensive for panama, but considering the high quality I would definitely call it value for money!

If you have space in your budget and a spare evening in David, definitely check this place out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuatro also viewed

 
David, Chiriqui Province
David, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Cuatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.