We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in David!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres en Ville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in David
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres en Ville
Save
You added Chambres en Ville to your Saves list
Avenida 5th Este, David, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 David B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in David!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The room we were in was old but spacious and clean. They have newer rooms too, which looked very nice. The outdoor community kitchen was very clean (clean fridges!) and equiped with everything you need. There is a spacious garden with a pool. Last but not least, the owner is very helpful and friendly! I recommend staying here when you are in David!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
29
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I chose to make reservations and stay at this hostal based on the trip advisor reviews. It was a good choice.
Pros - Price $27
wifi
size rooms
coffee in morning
use of kitchen
small pool
common space
safe
and a pet toucan you can feed fruit to
AC
TV
Friendly family running the hostal
Spanish/English/French spoken


Cons
Difficult to find
Rooms are a little beat up
If you want room cleaned or bed made you have to ask or deal with it the way you woke up with it.
Suicide shower for hot water and water pressure in shower

Overall very good!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Luis, the owner, is a very special man. He works hard trying to improve the units and
common areas. He will assist you however he can, very friendly and speaks English, Spanish
and French. The rooms are small and basic but clean and comfortable. The common areas are
open and constantly being improved. The refrigerators were spacious and shelf space was provided
so you can store your food once you bring it back to the Hostel. The Hostel is within easy walking
distance to the Romero's supermarket and the Parque Ceravantes where street vendors sell veggies
and more. We walked about 5 blocks toward the center of town and found a great outdoors market
that sold pineapples for $1 and a great selection of cheaply priced veggies. We parked our rental
car inside the gates and never on the street.

For the money it is a very nice place and Luis could not have been nicer and more helpful. We hope to see him again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I went there several times during my month in Panama and I liked it a lot. The owner is quite cool and the common area with the pool very nice. Free internet, nice peoples and the 2 dogs were fun to play with. The rooms are normal and fairly clean so thats good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The pool is great, the rooms are average and the owner, Luis is excellent. Insisted on taking me to the ariport at 6:30am and paid for my taxi when I arrived from the bus depot. Good outdoor common areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Excellent Place to stay. Chambres en Ville it was very nice for us. We've been for a little over a week. The room is clean, We looked at several other places, but they were dark and musty. This place is light, clean, and the people that run the place are very nice. Just Go and Enjoyed !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We slept 2 nights in this hostel. Based on previous reviews and lonely planet, it was a bit disappointing. The room including the bathroom could use a facelift. It is a little worn and dated. It also could be more clean. Though the big spaces and the use of large communal kitchen is good to mention.There is quite a big pool which you can use. No coffee or breakfast are offered. The owners are very friendly and the location is fine. At the heart of David and everything close (supermarket, and some restaurants for breakfast or dinner). If you are in transit the hostel is ok. if you are visiting Boquette it is worth take a hotel there. Buses are driving frequently and it takes 1 hour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres en Ville

Address: Avenida 5th Este, David, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in David
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Chambres En Ville Panama/David

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres en Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.