We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romantica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Romantica to your Saves list
Villa Romantica
Isla Contadora | Playa Cacique, Panama Province 4470, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

From the first minute I felt extremely welcome at Villa Romantica; I arrived early in the morning so my room wasn't quite ready, but was instead taken out on a funny boat trip with the hotel owner and other guests. The staff is energetic and always smiling, and it was sad to leave Charly (owner), Yaris (manager) and Marceano (bar keeper) after four nights. I stayed at the honeymoon suite, which is absolutely worth the price, with a private balcony overlooking the ocean and more privacy than the other rooms. Fabolous stay, would definately go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    38
    17
    25
See reviews for
49
122
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

If you are looking for activites and nightlife, this is not your kind of island... is very quiet. Nothing much to do here except dive and snorkel.... we wanted some quiet time together and that is what we got. Beware of the water on the island... I was very sick for about 24 hours while there.

Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed over a week at Villa romantica and had a lovely time. Our room was nice, although the TV was oddly located and the room could have used a table and chair, the food tasty and the staff most accomodating. It is a quiet place, the island is tiny but the beach is good and the sea water is nice and warm. Lack of a pool not a problem. We certainly enjoyed touring the nearby islands in the glass bottom boat with host Charlie and people from all over the world. Breakfast which was included in price was ample and always featured fresh fruits. It would be nice to see a few sandwiches or small snack type items on the lunch menu, but we usually don't eat much in the middle of the day. Best dinner choice is catch of the day, but other items were good, too. We have visited Panama many times, been all over the country, and this was a good value if you are seeking a quiet beach holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

I have travelled in panama everywhere... but this is the most accomodating place we have been. considering the price and the fact that charlie the owner is supernice... They came to pick us up at airport, drove us around the island when we need it, and the hotel is also located in a nice clean beach... I also liked the fact that it is more a house than a hotel, so we could use the big computer behind the reservation desk to check things with no extra charge, and also the food was very good, cosnidering that we tried the other places in the island and regretted the fact that we should have eaten at villa romantica.
The draw back is the fact that is warmer in this part of the island, but considering the cat that the beach is litterally outside your room and the ac was very strong it was ok..

Charlie also di the check in for us on the way back, so we actually left the villa romantica 5 minutes before the plane landed....

definately would reccomend it to people who wants to relax and enjoy the beach...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed for a week in the Honeymoon Suite. The service was absolutely amazing. The food was delish and the surroundings were breathtaking. We were able to take a tour on a glass bottom boat with Charlie the owner and Yaris the hotel manager. They were so helpful and informative and so friendly.
My husband and I were planning a trip to Europe next year, but now we have decided to visit Contadora and Hotel Romantica AGAIN. We can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Perfect place, situated just in front of playa cacique, probably the most quiet and beautiful beach in contadora island. Charlie the owner was very friendly and real fun. The restaurant chief, Preciado, was a very pleasant guy that made us feel home. The hotel itself was very confortable, very wide and clean and confortable, we had cable tv as well. The restaurant was very good, we only had fish, it was the best fish cooking we haver ever eaten, delicious, at reasonable prices, which I did not understand why lonely planet did not mention anything about it, I will definetely write them back to tell.
we made two boat-s tours and it was fantastic, very well treat, swining, driking and having fun, make sure Charli is on board. highly recomended, you will fee like at home.
Cristina i Carles from Catalonia october 2009

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed a Villa Romatica for 3 wonderful days....great experience. Good service, food, and a wonderful friendly attitude throughout the island. Marciano, the bartender/waiter a Villa Romantica restaurant was really wonderful in making us feel special, with his attentive service....our new amigo!
We also rented a small fishing boat with it's captain, Toribio, [--], who took us to several of the other islands in the area. The highlight was seeing Humpback whales really up close, frolicking in the waters....very cool!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romantica

Address: Isla Contadora | Playa Cacique, Panama Province 4470, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Contadora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family hotel, situated directly at the most beautiful beach of Contadora, the Playa Cacique. Friendly and calm atmosphere off the beaten track. Ideal for relaxation and recreation. 17 Charmingly furnished rooms, 10 of which with view of the sea. Honeymoon-suite, panorama terrace, stylish restaurant directly at the sea. Fresh fish and seafood every day, hot stone and fondue menus. Good value for money. Friendly and partly multilingual staff. Internet free of charge. Free tours of the island. Snorkelling equipment and fishing rod. Minigolf free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romantica Hotel Contadora Island
Romantica Hotel Contadora Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.