We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s a nice place for one day stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Point to your Saves list
The Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Urraca 50 | Isla de Contadora, Panama Province 055421, Panama (Formerly Punta Galeon Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
“It´s a nice place for one day stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think the hotel requires a high level of maintenance as it looks old. Swimming pool did not look great..so we spent all the time at the beach.
The location is great as it´s near the airport, and the beach is where you take the ferry.
Service was good, in general personnel was always willing to help
Food (breakfast) was not that good. I did not take any other meal so I cannot provide further feedback.
Due to its location, it allows you to negotiate with local fishermen to take you do a whale watching tour..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuna_de_Vida, Manager at The Point, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks your for the review,
As the New Operators of the property we are proud to have the change to give the uplift in service and facility, being the only full service resort, we have the task to show the property well for the benefit of the island and the archipelago.
You are right when you say the property needs some maintenance, and we as the new operators are on it.
The pool has been giving great challenges, but finally we have conquered the challenge and expect to stay clean and clear.
The restaurant has also improved since your stay we definitely hope to have you stay with us again soon and see the changes for yourself.
Looking forward to you next stay and should you book with us please remind us of the critique and we will happy to offer some added value to your stay so that you are able to test the new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    38
    22
    15
See reviews for
41
64
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I really wanted to like the place, and I am not fussy at all about insects or poor service, but the hotel is in serious need of a reality check. It is a 2 - 3 star facility at best and the price they charge per night is unacceptable. The food was by far the biggest disappointment - in fact we could not even eat the breakfast one morning (we recognized familar items from the previous night buffet that were reheated and used for the breakfast) and settled for eating ant-infested cookies and chips from our room.
The ladies who work in the restaurant seem so misrable and I felt sorry for them.

The one positive is that we were upgraded to a nicer room because of loud music from a neighboring room.

The island is quite lovely - and our favorite beach was Swedish beach (if you dont mind a few naked people).

I would return to Contadore, but not to the Punta Galeon. The Hotel Romantica has a wonderful location and the restaurant there is ok. By far the best lodging available is the famed Condadora Island Inn (unfortunately they did not have availability for us)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I had to go to Saboga Island to preview a new development, so we decided to go over to Contadora afterward for a little R and R. We made reservations for three nights at Punta Galeon. After you get off the boat it’s only a few steps to the hotel. It’s a wonderful location on a point of land overlooking Panama Bay. However, the airstrip is also steps away and planes take off right over the beach. On the way to our room we passed the pool which was completely unusable because of the filthy water. We were told that the filter was broken and would only be replaced several months from now. The landscaping was unkempt, and some of the buildings were in an abandoned and deteriorated condition. The rooms we found to be very bare, Spartan, and almost primitive. Paint had been carelessly slopped on door frames and on the so-called artwork on the walls. I tried moving the blinds down and the cord broke. One of the closet doors came off the track and bruised my wife’s arm. The management was helpful in moving us to another room which turned out to be perhaps the best location in the hotel. It was very private and had a great ocean view from our small patio. Unfortunately, this room had problems as well. The electricity in the bathroom was not working and there was no hot water. We had a couple meals at the hotel restaurant, and found the cuisine average but overpriced for what you get. My wife had to use her computer in the morning, but the only wi-fi connection is in the lobby and the restaurant. Although the staff mostly provided helpful and friendly service during our short stay, some of the restaurant staff acted rudely when my wife had to use her computer. They took away her water without asking and turned up the music. That was the last straw. We checked out and found a wonderful hotel on the other side of the island. Not surprisingly we ran into other people who had done likewise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place to stay. Extremely quiet, however. Seriously, there was almost no one staying while I was there. Indeed, there are a few small details that could use some work (like the missing #11 ball and rack from the pool tables) and it is sad to see that some areas are basically closed down probably due to lack of use. But, if you're looking for a quiet place to stay with lots of space for yourself on the beach, an extremely clean room and great food, this is the place to go. But there are few people around, so you may want to avoid going solo here.

About the food: it seems as though there is one cook who basically makes food just as it's ordered. This means that you may have to wait a bit to get your order, but when it comes it will be fresh, hot and tasty. There is a pretty good selection of food available for the full meal plan.

The staff could not be better, hard workers and very eager to make a stay great.

Be sure to check out other places on the island while staying. The abandoned Contadora Inn, the various beaches, etc.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are the ones furthest from the kitchen. If you want a quiet room, get one as clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

First of all, we did not stay here on our 4 week visit to Contadora, but rather rented a private house, and over such a long stay, have had the opportunity to sample most of what the island has to offer in terms of restaurants, and activities.
I had read the reviews on Punta Galeon Resort, and had a fairly negative impression, and then when seeing it from the beach and road area for myself, had those impressions confirmed. The hotel's beach front areas are practically derelict looking, weeds grow out of crumbling walkways and untended flower beds. There is a beachside bar and fountain, which has been boarded up, though strangely, you can still sit at the tables and listen to disco music in the shade. Cracked concrete patios with broken plastic sun loungers, garbage that has been picked up from the beach (kudos for that) but then left in piles around the beach shower area for days.
We had no plans to go here, then we made friends with a couple who were staying at Punta Galeon for one week, they told us that the resort was much better than it looked from the outside, and the rooms, though small, were very clean and all had a delightful balcony and view. We decided to have dinner there with them, as they had been impressed with the food in the restaurant.
Once we entered the hotel grounds, the common areas were much more well kept. The pool area is lovely with two different ocean views and fantastic cooling breezes, unfortunately the pool water itself was a greenish brown, our friends said it had only been that way for the last two days, no one was swimming, but then you have the lovely beach below for that.
We then ate dinner here and had a wonderful seafood meal, all four of us commented on how delicious our food was. You can't go wrong with anything shrimp (camaron) or langostina (prawn) which was lovely and fresh and cooked completely to order by a single chef behind the bar, which may explain why you may have to wait a while for your meal. Prices were quite reasonable for Contadora, as they tend to be higher overall, due to the logistics of living on a remote island. Recommend the Calamari, Breaded Prawns, Shrimp with Garlic Butter, the Caesar Salad loaded high with bacon and shrimp, and the Shrimp Cocktail.
The downside of this restaurant..... loud music, fighting with a TV at high volume (turned up so that the waitress could watch and hear her favorite show) which made pleasant discussion a challenge..... even when we asked for it to be turned down, it wasn't. Otherwise the staff seemed friendly and efficient enough, we were even overcharged slightly, but did not notice, and a staff member chased after us on our departure, and gave us back some money.
We will return here for dinner again on an non busy week day. As for the hotel side of this experience, my advise would be, whatever you are paying.....expect a resort with a 2 star rating and you will not be disappointed, or better still, stay in a Private Rental, B&B or at Playa Romantico Resort, but definitely eat dinner at Punta Galeon at least once.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, but those furthest from the pool and bar/restaurant will have less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nothing works, including the staff. If they could try less, they probably would. Stay at Villa Romantico, or in one of the condos overlooking the Punta Galeon and the end of the runway, or in a verified private residence. The island is beautiful, but the "poxyuism" of the management raises the bar on 'lazy', reminding me of spring break in 3-star Cancun, only without the hard-working Mexicans.

Expensive, lame panamanian 'high-end.'

Room Tip: Group 4 is the best I think. good combo of quiet and view. You can try to get a queen bed on the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited Contadora Island in Jan 2012 for 3 days. There were seven of us, 5 adults and 2 young children. We stayed at Punta galeon hotel while we were at Contadora island. The island itself is very nice to visit with some excellent beaches. To get there, we took the ferry from Panama city. The ferry ride was plesant (unless you are prone to sea sickness). Our return trip was via Air Panama, a small air plane from Contadora to Panama. The Airport is directly adjecent to Punta Galeon. The difference in price was only about $20 for the flight and saved us lots of time. While in Contadora we rented a 4 wheeler vehicle from a place outside the hotel (there is a notice board on the street outside the hotel with the rental place number). You may rent a golf cart from the hotel at a much higher price. We only rented the vehicle for 3 hours to tour the island.

Hotel: Although the rooms were clean, the hotel is very basic. Overpriced for what is provided. The staff was rude and most did not understand English. I expect at least the serving staff at a resort restaurant to try and communicate properly with the clients. The staff were ignorant and rude. They were also understaffed. They did not rotate, for example we were there over new years and the same staff that worked all day, late night on new years eve was there again the next morning. In fact one of the girls was actually napping behind the bar because she was so tired. The owner of the hotel lives on the island and he has a gorgeous mansion. I don't think he put's back much of the profits back into the care of the hotel. They have a monopoly as Punta Galeon is the only large hotel in Contadora. Its too bad because the hotel has so much potential (we have traveled to many other caribbean hotels before). Having said that, the rooms were clean and we were comfortable. We brought enough drinks and food for our trip since the rooms have small fridges. The pool at the hotel was murky. We spent almost all our time at the beaches.

Food/Drinks: Bring as much as you can. They charge a premium on the island and at the hotel. There are a few restaurants around and we ate dinner at the restaurants. There are a couple of small stores on the island that you can purchase some food/drinks etc, but again they are pricey. The hotel provided a descent breakfast buffet, although I was surprised to see "non-local" coffee (They served Nescafe) and kool-aid or Tang for juice at breakfast. Service is very slow, so if you order food, be prepared to wait.

Do/See: Amazing beaches, there are a few visit them all if you can. We took a Snorkeling trip through a local establishment "coral-dreams" located just outside the hotel. The owner of Coral Dreams was very friendly and it was by far the best snorkeling trip we've had, well worth it. The kids (5 and 7 yr old) loved the snorkeling trip as well. The owner of Coral-dreams is very knowledgeable. On the snorkeling trip we took they took us to the survivor islands (where reality TV show Survivor took place). Truly amazing and highly recommended.

Overall, Contadora/Pearl Islands are very nice to visit and I would recommend it to friends and family. Its too bad that the hotel is is not up to par, even though the limited staff try to keep it clean and do the bare minimum maintenance. Thankfully the rooms are clean and just comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point

Address: Paseo Urraca 50 | Isla de Contadora, Panama Province 055421, Panama (Formerly Punta Galeon Hotel)
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contadora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Resort is the ultimate getaway tucked away on a small island off the coast of Panama in the Pacific Ocean. One of many Pearl Islands, you will find yourself in centre of an extremely rich archipelago a short 20 minute flight from Panama City. Welcoming yet never overwhelming, The Point Hotel rally inspiring, thoughtfully designed and located in the Panamas Adventure and relaxation outpost. The Point Resort Isla Contadora, Panama Located in Isla Contadora, 20 minutes by plane from Panama City and 1 hour 1/2 by boat.The Point Resort has 48 rooms completely equipped and all strategically located overlooking the sea. It is located opposite the airport and near the clinic, police station, mini-super and airlines agencies. Electrical service and water 24 hours. It has two beautiful beaches and is surrounded by small islands easily accessible to its visitors. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Galeon Contadora Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.