We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island get away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grande

Isla Grande
Colon, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 things to do in Colon
Attraction details
Vilseck, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Island get away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I took my wife to Panama for our honey moon in January 2014. We stayed in Panama City for seven days. Two of those days I took her to Visit the island. I visited the island three times once in 1996, 2011 and 2014. If you go during the weekends it is more busy. The parking fee is five dollars compare to 3 dollars in 2011. The boat ride is $2,50 per person compare to 2 bucks in 2011. We passed by Portobello and the old fort seems finished with the renovation. We ate at the Congo restaurant and the food was good. They are slow when it is busy. Overall nothing much has changed. It us still a bit trashy at the parking and the beaches. We enjoyed going there during the week days. Less traffic and people. My wife like the rustic feeling of the island. We did noticed there were jet skis for rent at one of the hotels.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    41
    27
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“El Nido del Postre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled from New York to Panama and then on to Isla Grande. On the first night the accomodations were not the best, to say the least but the beach was wonderful. While walking along the beach front we walked by El Nido del Postre and noticed how well taken care of the place was so we ordered dinner and enquired if they had any rooms available. By chance, a group was leaving so we snagged a room. The atsmophere is incredible and the food........to die for. My girlfriend and I eat out at the best restaurants in New York at least 3 to 4 times per week and if Olga Ahrens of El Nido had a restaurant in NY it would be our favorite for sure. The staff are pleasant and make you feel like you are a very welcome quest. I would give this place 10 out of 10 for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing trip to Isla Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My family (includes my 15 year old daughter) took a fantastic day trip to Isla Grande in Colon district of Panama. Our guide was Chris Fernandez from Panama Fishing Tours (507-6876-9548 was fantastic. He speaks great English and very friendly and accommodating. We went on a week day in March 2013 and the island was empty. The boat ride to the island was memorable in beautiful clean water. The island is gorgeous. We went up the lighthouse which gives a great view over the island. Overall a great day trip

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Weekend place for Panama City dwellers and some tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The small beach is fair but I imagine very crowded in regular season. The water was fair and a few fish to be seen, but not terribly clean. There's a little restaurant bar right there that is part of the near by hotel, and there are several more exclusive hotels hidden away. We had a nice beach day though, then made our way through the village which had many small restaurant/bars which we're told can get quite rowdy. Went all the way out to Hotel Sister Moon which looked like a really cute fun place to stay. We ate lunch, good, but a little pricey, and they let us use the pool!. Watched surfers braving the breakers, and went up the hill to the lighthouse for a stunning view. The lighthouse is gross, but the view is worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Caribean water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everytime I visit Panama, I tried to visit Isla Grande in Colon. You can find the Island in about 2 hours from the city. You have to park your car in La Guaira and then take the ride to the Island. The water is absolutely beautiful, warm and you can also find a restaurant on the water, where you can have some beers, order food and jump in the water while waiting, and trust me, it will take a while. The food is good but the seafood will be according to the season so, don't expect to find variety. You can spend the day, (is better during the week to avoid crowds,), walking in the sand, meeting new people or simple relaxing. Any way you choose to spend the day, it will be an experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Grande also viewed

 
Colon, Colon Province
Colon, Colon Province
 

Been to Isla Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.