We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Toro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas del Toro Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda del Toro
Save
You added Hacienda del Toro to your Saves list
Isla san Cristobal, 31327, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

spent a few days at the resort,great getaway from bocas,niel,,dillon and brandy go out of there way to make you feel welcome, felt like i was hanging out with my buddies, beautiful setting,very nice rooms thanks folks Stuart

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I had a beautiful stay on this nearly deserted island/jungle property. We were treated like long lost friends. The owners/family were exceptionally accommodating, very interested in helping us to have a good time. The food was exceptional and coffee/light breakfast served to our door at 7:00 AM was a nice touch. The rooms were lovely with beautiful views (and zero chitres), nice porch/hammock, comfie beds, refreshing pool to take a dip, fresh flowers in our room, and a very peaceful ambience. The grounds have incredible landscaping too. It felt like "Fantasy Island!" We truly enjoyed our stay and would most certainly return to this amazing resort.

Room Tip: Very open, airy, country cottage feel with beautiful porch overlooking the bay. CD player in room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

we went to Panama.and We stayed in Bocas del Toro . We also went to the main island, Hacienda del Toro is beautiful and a lovely place Lovely house, with a view over Dolphins Bay. We saw dolphins in the morning. I was very happy to stayed on Hacienda del Toro. Remember that your are going to stay in the middle of the Jungle but it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Sitting in a cozy hammock on the patio of your private cabana on the top of a gorgeous hillside overlooking the ocean, sipping a fruity cocktail and observing the lush, perfectly manicured grounds of Hacienda Del Toro, you finally realize what tropical living is all about. The resort is picture perfect; from the romantic white four-point bed hangings to the horses gracefully feeding on the hillsides in the fading light of the sunset, every sight that meets your eye is startling in it's perfection.

The owner, Neil, and his son, Dylan, picked us up in town and gave us a quick fifteen minute, scenic ride to San Cristobal Island. The ride itself is a wonderful experience, affording beautiful views of Boacas town, San Cristobal Island, and Dolphin Bay. As we pulled up to the dock of Hacienda Del Toro, I was awed by the gorgeous landscaping and perfectly maintained buildings; a true gem standing out from the rest of the area. The trees and bushes looked like something you would see on a postcard, made even more impressive by the untamed jungle growing just outside the bounds of the Hacienda property.

A golf cart was waiting to whisk us up the hill to our private cabana. I was charmed by the beautiful bed hangings, simple wicker furniture, and cerulean blue hammock on the patio overlooking the water. The room was simple, with a genuine tropical feel. If you want to truly relax and unwind, reconnect with the ones you love, and enjoy the tropics without the constant distractions of phones, computers, and televisions, you've come to the right place. Free WiFi is included with your room, and is available in your room, by the pool, or at the restaurant and bar at the clubhouse if you absolutely need your internet fix. There is a television at the bar, but who wants to watch TV with such stunning vistas and activities to catch your attention instead?

The food is great. BeBe, the woman of the house, made sure our meals were prepared with love and attention to detail. Each dish was fresh, and reflected a satisfying blend of American and Panamanian fare and ingredients. The burgers were the best we've ever had in Panama. They even provided us with a scrumptious chocolate cake in honor of Valentine's day! Neil and Dylan took turns tending bar, and took excellent care of us. Any simple request was instantly attended to, and we were made to feel like welcome members of the family.

We took full advantage of all the many activities available. We took a two person kayak on a little day trip to tour the famous Dolphin Bay. We were lucky enough to see a dolphin during our stay, and plenty of local birds, fish, and butterflies. Hummingbirds entertained us with their antics during our meals at the clubhouse, and we made friends with the families' three dogs. I am an avid horseback rider, and was able to canter up and down the hillsides to my hearts content while my companion took a more leisurely horseback ride along the trails. We stopped to pick fruit from the many fruit trees growing right alongside the paths.

The pool, a rare commodity in Panama and especially in these islands, was perfection. We took in the sun on the deck and floated in the water, sipping a cocktail while enjoying the panoramic views from the top of the mountain. Being able to see the ocean and the jungle while floating in a pool-chair; pure bliss!

Whether you want to just relax by the pool and take in the views or participate in the many outdoor activities, your stay at Hacienda Del Toro will be relaxing, enjoyable, and will assuredly help you to appreciate all of the many simple joys of life.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed for 3 weeks at Hacienda del Toro and I can say that its the best place to get away in Bocas. Its a quick 20 minute boat ride from the main town so you can still enjoy the nightlife and get to meet the friendly people of Bocas. But its a "civilized distance from civilization"

The food at the restaurant was great, fresh and really well prepared. Cabins were really clean and beautiful. The owner/workers were very friendly, accommodating, and really wanted us to have a good time while we were there.

The best part of Hacienda del Toro though has to be the animals and wildlife. Its situated right on Dolphin bay so we got to see dolphins on the way to and from town. The owners son rescued a kinkajoo that we got to see while we were there. Parrots fly over the resort every evening. Horses roam the hillside next to the bar. And if you're lucky you can hear the howler monkeys in the jungle.

best vacation I've had in a LONG time, I highly recommend a stay at the Hacienda if you are planning a trip to Bocas. You will have a wonderful time :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

At first glance we almost passed this place up.We thought it was just for horse people.Dont let this stop you.Its great even for the not so horse inclined traveler.We didnt ride,and still had a blast.The food was wholesome,and plenty,The beer cold,the wine selection amazing,and service with a smile.The owner Neil is a bit of local color,with a wealth of knowledge about the jungle .We went on a number of local excursions,our favourite Zapatilla Cay.Dont miss this place.Its more than we expected,and just what the doctor ordered.

  • Liked — everythi ng
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This summer we went to Panama. We stayed in Bocas del Toro on Isla San Cristobal. We also went to the main island, but the little San Cristobal is such a lovely place! Hacienda del Toro is beautiful. Lovely house, with a view over Dolphins Bay. In the morning you can see the dolphins swimming in the bay en then you can go to them by kayak! Or you can watch them, while you’re lying in your hammock with a drink. In the backyard of your house you've real jungle. Neil, our host, asked in the evening what we want for diner (delicious Mexican food with Margarita’s… or whatever you want) en what we want to do the next morning. Horse riding, swimming, kayaking to another island, hiking in the jungle… or he can bring you to a lovely little beach on another island (or you can take a water taxi). On Saturday you hear the Indian people sing. And the evenings are so quiet. The only things you hear are jungle-things.
Neil and Bibi... thank you for staying with you! We will never forget Hacienda del Toro

  • Liked — The hospitality of Neil and a beautiful environment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Toro

Address: Isla san Cristobal, 31327, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean/Hotel Deluxe cottage rental, 8 miles from Bocas by boat. Swimming pool, horse stable, kayaks, daily maid service, rest/bar on premises. Peaceful, private. Kayak with the dolphins. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.