We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro del Colibri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Faro del Colibri to your Saves list
El Faro del Colibri
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carenero, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in cabin # 5. It is the furthest one out on the water so you only have one neighbor. The inside of the cabin was tastefully decorated which made the place homey but not cluttered. It was light and airy with a modern flair. There are windows letting light in every direction lending to a bright yet cozy during the day. The air conditioning and ceiling fan worked really well too keep us cool. Beach towels were provided for use - just don't lose them! The bathroom was small but clean with a corner shower with hot water and a glass pedestal sink. The deck had two lounge chairs and the water just outside is clear enough to watch various fish. One evening we saw a sting ray swim by! And one very early (6am) morning, looking out on the dock in the distance we saw dolphins jumping in the water. We only had one breakfast at the restaurant but it was good and the woman attending us was incredibly warm. We ordered drinks and she brought them to our room so we could enjoy them while sitting out on the deck.
The only con is - yeah it's noisy from the water taxis. I can't fault the hotel for that. I did read the reviews before I decided to book the place so was prepared for this. If your ill prepared it can certainly be a negative surprise. Definitely bring earplugs if you go to bed early. Maybe it was louder since #5 was further out on the water? I don't know, but I appreciated just having one neighbor so I would stay in that cabin again. Adriano was helpful setting up a tour for us to Isla Zapatillas. He speaks fluent German for those that find that helpful.
Tip - bring a flashlight with you if you venture out in the evening or night. There are crabs all over the place on the island generally.

Room Tip: Loved cabin #5, but bring earplugs if you go to bed before 10-11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Water bungalow concept is quite nice, however boats keep shuffling every minute from very early morning till very late evening! After having spent 3 nights we had to move instead of staying a week as we planned. If you look for seclusion and silence, don't go there.

We stayed in villa #3, aircon does require filter change as currently it does not cool down at all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaroDelColibri, Gerente at El Faro del Colibri, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Good day
I wanted to thank you for your commentary, because for us it is very important to know
what our customers think, wherever they are sincere.
In relation to his commentary, which is not true, we have bungalow near the beach where it is impossible to hear the noise of the boats, for airconditionated and I think only a your problem because service technician tells me it works well, maybe she needs to use it with the windows closed,
greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a great time in one of the small houses( nr. 3) above the water. The house was very nice and clean. A very romantic place to be! Every day clean towels and every two day new bedclothing. Even the sand we have taken in was removed from the floor during our stay. breakfast was nice and the lady's who served us have been so kind and helpful. When we wanted to have a bottle of wine to take to our hous, we did get even glasses to take away. Dinnen was also possible and very good and not expensive. The owner made even reservations for our boattours. The sunset was so nice and the rey's and other nice visches have been swimming around our house! The isle was nice to explore, even in the eveneing to eat with Bibi's and drink the famous and fresch coctails. Swimming was great! We saw very nice biths too.This place is a very good central place to make excursions. Bocas is only a few minuts by taxiboat. There you find nois and entertainment. Our place was quiet and romantic! We hope to return ones and keep the memories in our hart!
Peter and Els

Room Tip: Only take not nr 5 when you want a more quiet place. The taxiboats land close to your place. During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I would strongly advise care when booking here and especially when dealing with a person called Adriano Cermenati as we only booked with him the day before and had contact with him re travel arrangements on the day of arrival just to find out he overbooked once we arrived. When walking over the island in search for an alternative we found out that there was not much else but rather a lot of rubbish and from my 10 minutes there I agree with others the water taxis pass quite close and can be loud.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed our first night in the lighthouse which was very comfortable with an amazing view! Our remaining stay was in cabin 3 which was also very comfortable with a great deck overlooking the water with a commanding view of the beaches, tropical fish and nearby islands. Just a few minutes by water taxi from Bocas town, it proved to be just far enough from the busy town, but not too far from restaurants in town. The water taxis will provide noise during the day, but if you enjoy the beaches and local restaurants, you won't be bothered. Adriano was a great host and the breakfasts were served at the end of the dock by friendly staff each morning. It's a great place to unwind!

Room Tip: Adriano also has off the water rooms ashore that are new with less awareness of the water taxis and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were 2 couples traveling and stayed 3 nights in Rooms 4 & 5, the two homes furthest out in the water. Our experience was very unique to say the least, staying in brightly colored homes on stilts off a pier. Since the hotel is on Carenero Island you take a 3 minute water taxi ride from the main island to get here which added to the uniqueness. Although it's a different island, I wouldn't say it's quiet because you still hear the night music from Bocas as well as the loud water taxis all times of day and night. Breakfast is included in the rate from 8-10AM. Food quantity is decent but quality is sub-par and the service and coffee are poor. The rooms are very clean yet lodge-like spartan, have balconies and the A/C works great. On the downside, the shower leaks making the bathroom floor slippery. Also since the homes sway in the water, after 3 days we had that feeling you get after a cruise. In summary, stay here for a very unique Bocas experience but don't expect 4 or 5 star amenities.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the one furthest out in the water without a neighbor on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel to receive the New Year 2014.
I have to say it was a great experience. The hotel is very nice, very clean, and excelent personalized attention from the owner (Adriano) and his wife.
I really enjoyed the fact that the hotel is not in the main island which is very loud; while the island where Faro Colibri is located is more calmed and relaxed environment. Additionally if you wanted some night life, but don't want to take a boat to the main island, there is a nice Discotheque at a walking distance from Faro Colibri.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Faro del Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro del Colibri

Address: Carenero, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Faro del Colibri 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelAcqua LodgeInternet WirelessTvHot WaterPrivate BalconiesWe are at 7 minutes of the beach and 2 minutes of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Faro del Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro del Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.