We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent relax... definitely a must go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro del Colibri

Save Saved
You added El Faro del Colibri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Faro del Colibri
Carenero, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent relax... definitely a must go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to Bocas with another hotel reservation (Olas) but in our way to there we advice that it was kind of hippie-kids hotel so we decide to walk and see... and we find Lucelly and Adriano, there are such a nice couple they make our stay very relaxing and memorable. I was sad that we couldnt get to stay in your apartments for rent guys but our over the sea cabin was fantastic!
Thank you folks, we will always remember you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I dont know why it is not listed in Carenero Island, as I believe it would then be rated as the best option there. Very nice rooms at a really convenient location. Hotel is close to Bocas town, just a 2 minutes boat ride from town, but since the rooms are not facing the town it is really very quiet and nice location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are standard with little frills, but the price was right. The best thing about this place is the location over the water with a private deck. The under deck lighting at night is a fun touch and you can watch some fish from your deck whenever you want. There isn't a pool, but you can swim right off your deck.

It is close enough to Bocas town to see it, but far enough away to escape most of the noise. The water taxis can see you standing on the dock when you want to get a ride, so you never have to call them.

The lighthouse is not real, some people are very upset with this... not sure why?? When we stayed here the owners lived in it, and their office was there too.

The electric water heater in the shower will only work on "medium" but we were not told this. There was some duct tape on the switch, apparently to keep anyone from turning it on "high", the tape was loose and did not function as intended. On the third day the water heater stopped working and when the owner came to look at it (she doesn't speak much English) she gestured that the water heater would blow up if we used it on high, then left. We assumed we would not be getting any more warm water after this, and we were right. There should have been a sign, or some instruction regarding this when you check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spend a few days in Bocas del Toro and where very happy, that we decided to stay in Faro del Colibri. The little wooden houses are puristic furnished and very clean. They have these small balconies to the sea, a wonderful place to rest and enjoy the sun or jump into the water to refresh.
The owners are very friendly and open to any questions. Every morning they serve a tasty breakfast with fresh fruits and so on.
We really like this place and recommend it to everybody who thinks about visiting bocas del toro! If you have a light sleep, bring some earplugs because of the boats that are passing by at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Faro del Colibri for 4 nights, in October 2012, and enjoyed every second of it.

The cabins are beautiful. You have your own deck, and you can jumo to the water whenever you like (huge advantage, there aren't so many nearby beaches). The air condition works very well, as well as the room facilities. At night, there is a light under the water, which allows you to see many amazing fish.

The owners are very kind, and helped us in anything that we needed. It was also very nice to chat with them, and hear about their lives. Their baby soon, Kevin, is just amazing.

The only fear that we had was the distance from Colon, the main island. It turned out that there is nothing to worry about. The island is only 20 seconds (yes, seconds) from Colibris deck, and cost $1 per person to get there. In the evening, the owners will call you a taxi, that will get within 3 minutes.

For couples, and I have no doubt about it, this is the best place. Enjoy.

Karin y Oded

Room Tip: There are 5 cabins. I think that cabin 4 & 5 are best (the water is the deepest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stunning. Swim right out from your room into clear, warm Caribbean waters. Very clean, good air conditioning, friendly owner. Carenero is a significantly more beautiful place to stay than Colon, and I couldn't recommend El Faro more.

It can be a little noisy due to boats driving back and forth and the constant partying at Bocastown, but I'm not sure that's avoidable in this area. We still slept great (and the air conditioning was a crazy relief.) Breakfast is purportedly included, but that's just toast and fruit. Eggs are 2-3 dollars extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Faro del Colibri for 4 nights last june and we had a fantastic time. We had planned for 2 nights but we loved it so much we stayed longer. We first stayed in Bocas, then one night in Bastimientos but I suggest staying at Faro instead and doing day trip from there. That is what we should have done if we had known before.

The place is really classy, clean, nice hardwood floor, private porch with a ladder to go swimming. There is even exterior lights shining in the water for night (skinny) dipping.....

The owners are very nice and accomodating.

You can take water taxi right at the dock and the boats wil leave you there at no extra costs.

DO visit BIBI's for dinner, it was one of the best culinary experience we had while in Panama on our 2 weeks journey. It is a bit further on the island and well worth the 5 min walk. The food is incredible and the drinks too.

It is also pretty cool to check out the aqua lounge for a day swim and beer, it is only short distance (3-5min).

We were a bit worried about the water taxis zipping by the whole day and night but we did have the last cabin in the water and we did not find this to be any problem. They dont run often at night either.

All in all, Colibri del Faro is a really romantic place, with the perfect location for day trips. I seriously recommend this place.

Room Tip: The last cabin on the water is best in my opinion, only one neighbour and its built in deeper water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Faro del Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro del Colibri

Address: Carenero, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 Specialty lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelAcqua LodgeInternet WirelessTvHot WaterPrivate BalconiesWe are at 7 minutes of the beach and 2 minutes of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your El Faro del Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro del Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.