We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Finca Lerida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Finca Lerida to your Saves list
Hotel Finca Lerida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alto Quiel, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pros - great restaurant with friendly staff. La Amistad bar is a nice place to relax in the evening. Kevin the bartender is a real sweetheart who speaks little English but is fun to converse with anyway. Loved,,,loved him. Gorgeous views. Cool and refreshing winds at night. Yummy coffee.

Cons - WiFi is very spotty. If you sit out in the middle of the lawn, it works better than anywhere else. Doesn't work well in the restaurant, bar or rooms. Lights go out periodically, which is not too big of a deal except we couldn't get coffee in the morning. And one thing I really expected on a coffee farm was individual coffee makers with local coffee in the rooms. Must get dressed and walk down to the restaurant for AM coffee (when electricity is not out) or for a pitcher of ice for cold drinks. Still rated a 4 since it is a wonderful place to relax. Also...expensive restaurant and pricey tours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for all your coments. We had take some of your coments and used as reference for improve the service.
Since you had stayed with us the WIFI system had change. We have a better distribution of the signal routers along the property.Unfortunately as part of some improvements along the route David Boquete, the electric service was suspended meanwhile they were removing branches and moving electric poles. Is a shame but is nothing we can control at the moment. As soon as the works end Boquete wont have this problems.
We are going to take your suggestions about coffee makers in the rooms and show the option to the owners.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    61
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
96
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been living in Panama for over a year and I -finally- get why people want to retire here. Boquete was beautiful and a cool oasis away from the city. Finca Lerida capitalizes on that and helps you feel like you are completely separate from the world. For those of you coming from the States, the service will be slightly above average for a hotel of the same caliber. For Panama, we were blown away--FINALLY a place with great staff who smile, are prompt, offer suggestions that make sense, are helpful, knowledgeable about the product, take pride in their work and their place of employment, and genuinely care about the guests and their stay. Even the housekeeping staff paid extra attention to detail and were so kind.

Where to start?

- The rooms were clean, fresh, bright (but not at night with the excellent room-darkening shades), and were an interesting contrast of vintage meets modern. The hard wood plank flooring was a nice touch and in good shape. There was plenty of closet space/storage for a several days' visit. The beds were firm yet comfortable and bed-bug free. There were warm down comforters on the beds. The bathroom had a funky shower with a built-in radio and lights (the shower looked like it was on the lower end of quality but appeared very new). There were nice soaps and lotions, and a plush robe.

- The location was stunning. You are literally in the clouds. The grounds are immaculately maintained and there are cute little birdhouses with lights under them all over the pathways. Even though it was windy and misty most of our stay, we did have some sunny spots and we took a little hike to a waterfall near the property. I want to return. This was the coldest I have been in Panama at between 60-70 degrees.

- The restaurant staff was top-notch. Most of the staff (both hotel and restaurant) appeared to speak good English. The food was a bit pricier than what one would want to pay for every meal out but it matched the high quality and taste of the food. We had the trout and a chicken dish that had sides of pumpkin and parsnip puree, respectively. Excellent flavor. The kids had chicken fingers and fries--with a sprig of rosemary from their herb garden for extra effect. The chef was very attentive to our needs and even procured a turkey for Thanksgiving on his own initiative!

- Speaking of kids, our group had nine children between us ranging in age from 2-13 and the staff were all super nice to the children, always smiling, and very accomodating.

- The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to put a bit more info on the website about exactly where the hotel is located. It is approximately 600-700 m higher above Boquete, so don't make my mistake and look at the weather report (lows of 70) for Boquete when planning your wardrobe! ;-)

- In sum, I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return as often as possible. It is my new favorite location in Panama.

Room Tip: We chose one of the deluxe rooms with a hammock. When we return, I'd probably pick one a simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad that your stay with us had been pleasant.
We are going to take note of your comments for the future.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. This is our second time there and we love this fantastic place. The only problem we found was that we couldn't use the chimney in the room for security reasons (the nights are cold) and that we ordered rooms service and never got it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and we will take note of them.
At the moment our indoor chimney are just for decoration, we are not using them for security reasons ( smoke in the rooms)
We are going to improve in room service for future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Finca Lerida is a coffee plantation and it is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I've stayed at. There are hiking paths and coffee tours, and the whole property is filled with lush plants such as all kinds of flowers and tomatoes and every morning we were awoken by the birds singing outside of our room. The restaurant has an outdoor area with an amazing view of the property, and they also serve amazing tomato jam for breakfast and great tomato soup and mushroom ravioli for dinner. There's a hammock outside of every cabin for leisurely afternoon reading. The bar also has a rustic decor and an inviting fireplace and it was the perfect place to huddle up with a book or to have a couple of after dinner drinks with friends (love the bailey with chocolate!). The property is about a 15 minute ride from the center of Boquete, but that is exactly why it is such a refuge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are glad that you stay with us was pleasant.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had some extra time last week and wanted to break from my normal routine so I decided to explore and I am glad I did. What a magnificent property. I too did not stay at the hotel, I enjoyed a very nice lunch and the views are spectacular. Literally in the clouds. Go. you will be glad you did..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments, We are glad that your visit to our property was pleasant.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but we ate at the restaurant. This place has it all. Absolutely gorgeous location, great ambience, unique decoration. The food is absolutely fantastic. They offer great natural fruit juices. Do not go on a trip to drink "Coke". Explore the flavors that Panama has. That is the whole purpose of traveling. We went with my 3 young daughters and it was refreshing to be so close to nature and so far from McDonalds, Burger King, etc. This is a gourmet restaurant nestled in a beautiful boutique hotel in an actual working coffee plantation. The property is located very close to Boquete's main center. Next time, we will definitely try to stay at least for 1 night. It is not cheap, but it is worth trying it for 1 night. We got there too late and could not go on the coffee tour. If you have the time get in early, do the coffee tour and then indulge in a fantastic lunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for you comments. We are glad that your stay with us was great for you and your family.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

the rooms are junior suites overlooking the estate. i recommend the restaurant and you have to order the fresh trout with almonds. Also the coffee tour was outstanding

Room Tip: its not at the center of town. its a a relaxing environment in the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments . We are glad that your experience in our hotel was pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Lerida

Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Finca Lerida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.