We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gelato!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria la Ghiotta

Gelateria la Ghiotta
Av. A Oeste, Bajo Boquete, Boquete 04103, Panama
+(507)61071465
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Boquete
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Boquete
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Gelato!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The owners are Italian and very friendly. The atmosphere is bright and cheerful and the gelato is fabulous! This is a small town where you can get a mediocre ice-cream cone for 50 cents, so people gripe about the$1.50 that you have to pay for the cones here. They don't understand that it is inported and much,much pricier in any other country. Also...hazelnut, pistachio, and other delightful flavors....mmmmmm!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We drove by this place and stopped to try the gelato. Creamy, tasty, delicious. Best ice cream in the town, I was told. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I went here every couple of days during our visit to Boquete. So creamy and delicious, it's easy to get hooked!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally a real gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were in Boquete for 3 days and I saw "La Ghiotta" - Gelato Italiano, but it was closed. 2 days after we went back and we had one of the best gelato ever (and you can trust me, I'm Italian!). My boyfriend had a cone with stracciatella&vaniglia and I got a cone guayaba&strawberry (without milk as I'm lactose intolerant, I was so happy!). Moreover, we had a warm welcome from Milena and Stefano that just started this adventure few months ago and they are doing a great job! In bocca al lupo ragazzi! (Francesca&Olivier)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just ate some delicious and real Gelatto this evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Gelatto was great, just like in Italy.... for that, I would return.. but the owner was not friendly.... would not let us use his facilities (a first for me after several years in Boquete), and the cones were pricey and unusually priced..... for example, seems everything starts at $1.50, even the tiny cup I ordered for my four year old.... then you can have a large cone or a small cone...... large $2.50, small, $1.50. I asked for the difference as I didn't see much difference in the cones, and he said the small holds two balls and the big hold three balls.....

So I asked if I could have the big as I liked to eat the cone but only give me one or two scoops, and he said, it is $2.50 no matter how many scoops you want. Then, when the ice cream was placed on the cones, there were no balls, just a spatula and his idea of whatever two balls were.....

Just made me a little uncomfortable and I can understand if you don't agree with me or think differently.

The plank on the wall was mounted too high for our use, and the table, was a tiny one for little kids about 5 years old so.... go figure on that one also.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria la Ghiotta also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria la Ghiotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria la Ghiotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.