We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill

Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill
Boquete, Palo Alto, near Garden Inn, Boquete, Panama
+(507)65104617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The greatest little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

It might look like a dump but this is a pearl. George is the sweetest guy and his staff so kind. Small but good menu, get a burger for 3,5$ or filet mignon for like 20$. He serves a chicken for 8$ wich is really good. When we had a hard time deciding he did a mixed up platter. We stayed in boquete 3 nights and had dinner here every night... Must go to George's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    49
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Needs a little time....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is a lot of potential here. The place is primitive, even by rural Panama standards. Seating is less than wonderful, especially when it is raining and windy. Parking is challenge, as is the entry. Portions are generous, especially the appetizers, but the quality runs from home runs to foul balls, sometimes on the same plate. Pricing is very reasonable, and George is a very pleasant and interesting man. I think as he gets his feet under him he will turn this into one of the neatest little restaurants in Boquete.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food from a 5 star chef in rustic setting. JACKPOT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I discovered this quaint rustic restaurant 2 weeks ago. I have been their 4 times since and every meal has been a delight and pleasing. George himself visits your table and makes sure you are happy with everything. After talking with him a bit, and my asking where he trained (it was too obvious to ask 'if'), he trained at 5 star restaurants in Canada by the best chefs and has won many awards for his cooking. Aren't' we lucky to have him here in Boquete now.

The prices are so very reasonable. And his coffee (no expresso or cappuccinos) is delicious. I have to have a couple cups every time I go, even if I am enjoying a Panama cervesa or two!

There are 2 eating areas, one big and considered 'outside' although it has walls and a roof, but it is a bit more 'open air'. And another one that is smaller that is enclosed with a fireplace and bar that is cozy.

I am very impressed with the food, the changing menu (he grows his own herbs and greens in his garden on the premises) the quality and the presentation of the plates is beautiful. You won't be disappointed here.

Sometimes if it is crowded you may have to wait a bit, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and speak english. I can't wait to go back.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner, but call before going for breakfast, because it is not served everyday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A "Don't Miss This" Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Interesting place, fantastic food and pricing that can't be beat! There is no sign so you have to know where you are going. Look for the chalk board! The best thing is that it is only 2 houses away from the Boquete Garden Inn - you can walk there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Next to Boquete Garden Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

George is the nicest man, the staff is nice, and the restaurant is still a work in progress. But the food was good, and you can walk from the hotel. .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill also viewed

 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.