We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boquete Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Boquete Garden Inn to your Saves list
Boquete Garden Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Palo Alto, Boquete, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Boquete B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed one night and although the grounds were scenic, the rooms felt cramped and average. What was most disappointing was the lack of service. We needed to check out by 7:30 AM and have a taxi take us to town to catch a shuttle. Despite being reassured multiple times that the staff would be there at that time to call us a cab, we were left to our own. Stressed and feeling abandoned, we somehow flagged a cab and barely made it on time. I think the absence of owners is key in the mediocre service and attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The night before, a taxi driver (Noriel) was booked for 7:30 am, within five minutes of the guests' request. The taxi driver arrived late, at 7:55am. The hotel does not open until 8:00 am. However, the staff who were preparing breakfast tried to call another taxi. Not having any luck, our gardener then called his cousin who was the taxi the guests flagged. It would not have been possible to flag a random taxi in the mountains otherwise.

Departures prior to the hotel's opening time of 8am are common. Because we understand the way things work in Panama, we know what can go wrong, and how to deal with it. Guests are given a taxi list and are shown the emergency cell phone. In this case, we did have staff on hand to deal with the issue, but because the guests did not speak Spanish, they were not aware of it. However, we did send them an email explaining the situation, which they chose to disregard.

The guests checked in at night, as the hotel was closing and left before we opened, so they weren't able to really experience the hotel and our service.

It is always highly recommended to rent a car in Boquete, you will not have the same experience otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
381
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toccoa, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I felt welcomed to the Boquete Garden Inn even before leaving the USA. From making reservations to inquiring about transportation from David to Boquete, the staff and owners made me feel special. Upon arrival, I sat outside the reservation area and took photos of the beautiful birds at the various feeders in the garden. The colors from the flowers and birds were breathtaking. My room was unbelievable. The detail of amenities really touched me. Beyond chocolates being set out, there was calming music playing softly when I entered, fresh thistle in a vase on my dining table, a light over the bed, a clothes line in the shower, gorgeous decor, etc. Every night we had social time together. The intimate surroundings created an opportunity for meeting fellow travelers. Jason, Susan, Danny, and Abel - well done!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and pointing out all the little details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Boquete Garden Inn is a wonderful place to stay in Boquete. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are spectacular. Susan , Jason and their staff were friendly and helpful. I could go on , but don't miss this Inn if you are going to Boquete. You will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Luv the title of your review and thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent find. Over the past 8 years that we have lived in Panama, we have stayed in at least half a dozen hotels or apt-hotels in Boquete in the highlands of the Province of Chiriqui, Panama. We have had mostly good experiences with each of the hotels, yet finding Boquete Garden Inn was a fine "surprise." We had heard good reviews but we have never actually checked it out ourselves. This time we took a chance and booked a 4-night stay. These are suites (not "rooms") which are well-designed with "living room" space (couch & chair), kitchenette (frig, stove, microwave, dishes) and 4-chair dining table; a good-sized bedroom with much shelf space and orthopedic-quality beds and good bathroom. The suites are exceptionally clean which is not easy since BGI is set in the middle of a lovely garden in tropical highlands. So, the setting is lovely. And we are happy to say that the service gets top marks from us. The "comp breakfast" (stating promptly at 8 am) was healthy and filling (fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh breads); the evening "happy hour" bar (6-7 nightly) offers one comp beer or wine to every guest every night of a person's stay. The bar itself is beautiful set back in the garden; the happy hour idea is a fun way to meet other travelers in a relaxed no-expectations setting. Though the owners, Susan and Jason, were away during our stay, the Panamanian managers Abel and Danny made those owners proud! Prompt, helpful, responsible, resourceful, courteous, responsive...what more could one ask? Impressive service. This will be our first choice for return visits to Boquete and we know we will again feel right at home. And besides us (a couple), we had other friends (couples and singles) book at the same time; I believe all were as pleased as we were.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all the suites are good. The hotel is made up of a series of small 2-story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful, detailed review! We're so glad our managers and staff took good care of you while we were away. We are very lucky to have such a great team!

And thank you for your great feedback about the rooms - because we are so close to the hotel, we sometimes take for granted the positives at Boquete Garden Inn that aren't standard in Panama (kitchenette, dining area, semi-orthopedic mattresses and more!) We appreciate that you noticed and shared with our potential future guests! ;)

Jason and I look forward to meeting you in the future! All the best ~ Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spectacular grounds in close proximity to "downtown" Boquete. Lovely yet affordable accommodations amidst glorious flora. Terrific service. The small buildings are 2 floors. Initially given a ground floor room, we could hear any/all activity of our neighbors above.The staff was kind enough to move us without a fuss. The upper floor was perfect. Greatly appreciated the mini-kitchen. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Recommend booking an upper floor room, if possible as there's little sound Insulation between fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you found Boquete Garden Inn to be a place of respite, with beautiful grounds, close to town - and affordable! ;) We look forward to seeing you in the future! ;) All the best ~ Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamá City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I Arrived late in the evening and Evendoe there were no hosts at that time they left me my key in an envelope. Such a great Idea, that mean they were waiting for me. When I saw the room I thought I was dreaming, Fully decorated and very well lighted, Fully equipped with even a mini bar and some midnight snacks. In the morning we could appreciate how well-maintained the property is. Nice Gardens, Bird Watching, Chairs and tables wherever u decide to take a sit and just rest.

Room Tip: Upper floor Rooms have a nice view and there you can feel a confy cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're glad you found the rooms and gardens welcoming! ;)
All the best ~ Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location just a short distance outside town, beautiful gardens with loads of colorful birds and photo opportunities. The rooms are unique, very comfortable, and very classy. The staff, especially Abel, were very helpful, and made sure we knew about the various options in the area, gave us maps and directions to places we wanted to explore, and made sure that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad that you found the location to be ideal - just a 2 minute drive into town! Yes - the gardens and birds provide so many photo opportunities.

And we'll make sure Abel sees your review!;) Thank you for staying with us! All the best ~ Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boquete Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Garden Inn

Address: Palo Alto, Boquete, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boquete Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Boquete Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Garden Hotel Boquete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boquete Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.