We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panamonte to your Saves list
Hotel Panamonte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a lovely property in this mountain area close to town. We had a garden terrace room which was quite large. The satellite TV actually had too many channels (and no list). There was wifi in the rooms sometimes. The grounds are gorgeous, the gardens well kept. I would have loved to enjoy the fresh mountain air, but there were no screens on the patio doors to keep out the mosquitos :( Also, the shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom left a terrible film on my hair no matter how hard I tried to remove it. The shower took a long time to get hot water. The staff were very helpful, even allowing me to use a computer at the front desk to check in for a flight. The food and ambiance at dinner was nice. Had a 6-course tasting menu with wine pairings. This made dinner an event in itself! We could taste Chef Collins' influence. We attended his cooking school the next day and were impressed with his interaction and patience with us, as well as the lunch he prepared. It is only a short walk to town. The "spa" is actually a room at the back of a cottage across the street. This needs improving or should not be called by that name. Overall it was a very relaxing stay in a beautiful locale.

Room Tip: The garden terrace rooms and the junior suite are worth the extra price. The historical rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    46
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
63
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A charming old style building situated in a quiet cul-de-sac at the end of town. The accommodation consists of two types of rooms. Garden terrace rooms which are quite spacious but with small bathrooms and double queen bed suits and one master/honeymoon suite. All rooms are with standard facilities and air con, but no fridge/mini bar or coffee/tea making facilities. You will rarely need air-con in Boquete. The master suite is the best with better bed linen, floor rugs and a large bathroom. What you may need is some heat and this is missing. The air-con systems do not provide heat and they do not have any fan heaters. The rooms are a little damp due to the climate. There is neighbour noise creep between rooms and depending on your view, it may be best to avoid Suite 3 if there is a honeymoon couple in the master suite which is next door. The gardens are really nice, superbly maintained and the ambiance is charming. The staff are very nice, attentive and helpful. The Bar is cosy with its fire place. The restaurant which is run by Charlie Collins would probably be better if he were present rather than in Panama City. The food however is fine but un-inspiring. The town is just a few minutes’ walk but not that interesting. There are many nice drives, some coffee farms to visit and a couple of days can be easily spent in the area. Boquete is about a fifty minutes to one hour drive from David airport, Panama’s second city and the road between the two is being improved to a dual carriage way in both directions but it maybe some months before it is complete.

Room Tip: The master/honeymoon suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in Boquete as part of an arrangement booked with Ancon Expeditions. The reviews in 'lonely planet' looked promising. The area is quiet, the general outlook of the hotel was fine, the bar is nice with the open fire. However, the breakfast was minimal and the standard rooms were pure basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tucked away in the Town of Boquete, this little INN delivered BIG on service, food quality, cleanliness and charm. Transported back to a time when garndens and green space were plentiful, this is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, a quite vacation or just to escape the daily grind. 5 star dining and service (at a 5 star price) but you get what you pay for. Peak season can be a challenge so reserve early!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you visiting the Panamonte. We truly believe that the Inn is that special 'step back in time' to an era of gracious elegance, where personal service and excellence in quality are what really matters. We are pleased that you felt we delivered! We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Quite tranquil setting at the end of the road with great service. A little pricey but worth the extra to splurge at the end of a trip. 5 star dining, and service. Book early during the peak season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Best Regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I recently spent two nights in the lovely town of Boquete. When we arrived at the Panamonte Inn, we were taken back in time in this lovely and beautifully kept Inn with amazing gardens. Our rooms were ready and the front desk was kind enough to set up a private tour at a coffee farm that afternoon. Our guide picked us up and took us up the mountain, showing us the views and farm. We then were able to roast coffee beans and taste the coffee. It was great. We ate breakfast each day at the restaurant but my kids preferred to have theirs delivered to their rooms - everyone was happy. The food was delicious. We also had lunch there one day as well as a terrific dinner. The signature Lemon Pie was yummy. Our rooms were huge, comfortable, clean and the porches were lovely. We were able to walk into town in a few short minutes from the Inn. The area was so peaceful, relaxing and beautiful. I would happily return to The Panamonte.

Room Tip: The Garden Junior Suites and Garden Honeymoon Suite are truly beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Best Regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was built in the early 1900 and is still in operation. It's charm takes you back in time. The service is impeccable, food excellent and the gardens are divine. The town is an easy walk. The staff is very loyal and offer you a feeling of being a VIP. They have various room options. Our room is in the newer section and very large. Free Internet, excellent satellite tv and great water pressure in the hot shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Best Regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.2 mi away
The Haven Hotel and Spa
The Haven Hotel and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Finca Lerida
Hotel Finca Lerida
#5 of 13 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#2 of 13 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Refugio de Montana
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte Inn has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete’s extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Panamonte Inn & Spa has become a tradition—it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Inn And Spa
Panamonte Hotel Boquete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panamonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.