We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Mountain Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Establos Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Los Establos Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Los Establos Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jaramillo Arriba, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Mountain Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Los Establos in one of the rooms in the main building. Very spacious with an excellent view of the Volcano. The grounds consist of lush planting ,flowers and coffee plants. Each day my wife tried to photograph the birds that visited the gardens. The staff was wonderful. When we arrived they made us feel welcome."Part of the Family". They discussed and arranged all of our activities. Zip lining, coffee tour, bird watching, trip to the top of the volcano and even a fishing trip with transpiration. Meals; we had the plan which included all our meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff would prepare each meal in the kitchen and include different local recipes. One desert served was from a recipes her grandmother used to make. This personnel touch gave each meal a home cooked feel.. I speak very limited Spanish which was never an issue. The town of Boquete was a 5 minute cab ride or a 40 minute walk. Very friendly in the town and finding a cab back to the hotel was never an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building has an excellent view, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were excited about seeing Boquete and drove from Panama City. Great way to see the country side.
When we arrived at the hotel, the service staff was welcoming, but I felt so bad they had no one but one man to get our luggage to our room.
The food was substandard, compared to any other place we stayed in Panama.Set menu with no choices. We were kept up all night by a back of barking dogs and early morning by roosters.
We did one tour and decided to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: no spa or exercise facility. When I told them I like to exercise, I was told to walk down the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Los Establos and felt this was a perfect mountain get away. The beautiful gardens, coffee plants ready for harvest, friendly staff and comfortable rooms made our stay very enjoyable. Lack of internet in our room forced us to come out to the main building and felt very comfortable surfing in a very nice living room setting and awesome views of the mountains.

Staff did not always speak English but there was always help at the front desk and everyone was very enjoyable.

Great place for relaxing and sipping coffee. If we lacked for anything it was simply because we didn't ask! Look forward to hearing your boutique hotel continues to grow and you are able to staff/operate a restaurant and spa.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw appeared to be a great place to loose yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our first trip to Boquete and we loved this hotel. It is perched up high on a mountainside overlooking the valley and the volcano. Just 5 minutes from the town of Boquete.

The staff were lovely to us, and we loved the hearty morning breakfast, included in the roice of the rooms.

The rooms upstairs in the main lodge were pricey for Boquete but thoroughly worth the price.

Don't miss the daily evening wine in the dining room.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs in the main lodge are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was an amazing trip. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. The accommodation was beautiful, the location was absolutely stunning, the staff were really friendly & helpful & the food was delicious. We occasionally had meals on the patio which had the most amazing view in an extremely peaceful and tranquil setting. All the staff working at the hotel were amazing - nothing was too much trouble & we felt so at home. In addition to this, there were so many local activities that we spent a lot of time exploring the area, which was magnificent. You can really do as much or as little as you chose - absolutely bliss!
In fact our whole time in Panama was a great life experience & well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amenia, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you ever have a chance to go to Boquete, I would certainly suggest staying at Los Establos. We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel and the grounds are beautiful. The staff was so nice and very helpful. My family and I (6 in total) went not knowing what to expect since we had never been to Panama before, but we all had such a great time. Our package included all meals and the staff prepared everything so well and it was all delicious. Fresh made soup at both lunch and dinner. We could not have asked for anything better. I am hoping to be able to go back again. We were told that the spa should be opening up sometime in January along with a restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Panama, but I assure you, it will not be our last. A beautiful country, with many wonderful people. Los Establos Boutique Hotel in Boquete took care of us as if we were family. The view from the hotel is breathtaking. Home made meals to order three times a day were available. And, if we were going to be out on an adventure, they packed a meal and drinks for us if we requested. The homemade desserts were fabulous. The daily "happy hours" at Los Establos were served to us with complete satisfaction. The staff at Los Establos were truly amazing. And, they made our stay one of the most comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable vacations we have had in a long time. They took care of all of our contacts for travel and excursions. Ziplining, guided tours of rain forests and natural hot water springs, spa days near downtown Boquete, and even a dinner away from the Los Establos Hotel. Which we did near the end of our visit, and we missed the staff of our hotel! If you have the opportunity to travel internationally, this is a do not miss destination. And, if you are lucky enough to make the trip to Panama with so many historic and beautiful sites, don't miss Boquette, and The Los Establos Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the "Volcan Baru".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Establos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Establos Boutique Hotel

Address: Jaramillo Arriba, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Establos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Inn in Boquete with tropical gardens and volcano views. Originally built as a fancy stable, this boutique hacienda still celebrates all things equine - think bronze horse statuettes, a cowhide rug, and rooms named for the former barn residents (Chombita, Rosita, Solita, more). Wrought iron, regal columns and colonial arches abound, as do tasteful furnishings picked up around South and Central America, including an impressive snakewood dining set carved by hand in Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Establos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Establos Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.