We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Establos Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Los Establos Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Establos Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jaramillo Arriba, Boquete, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Boquete B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here with some friends and was just amazed at how beautiful this place is. At the risk of repeating what everyone else wrote, the Los Establos was just the most wonderful vacation stay ever. The staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. Breakfast was great on the patio with the view of the volcano across the valley. Rooms were big and clean but the most remarkable aspect of the Los Establos was the manicured gardens and coffee plants surrounding the property.
If I had to fault it for anything it would be for a lack of a hair dryer in the bathroom but that is a very minor consideration. Otherwise everything was far better than I could have expected.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 (one side of the triple room building). Our friend stayed in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My friend and I stumbled upon Los Establos when we won a five night stay at a silent auction in May. We are so thankful that we did because it was the most relaxing time we have had. We stayed from August 1st-6th and I got a chance to speak with the owner, Bob, the night before we left and he started our vacation off right telling us who would be picking us up at the airport, what to pack and bring and what to expect. He even picked up on the fact that my friend and I are both vegans and made it a point to make sure we had anything we wanted to eat. When we arrived we immediately felt like family and got to meet his wife, Irina, who had stayed in town just so she could meet us. They served us an amazing dinner and we planned our week's activities right away. We were able to get two rooms in the main building that were beautiful! The room was so nice and cozy and the bathroom is perfect. It has a rain shower and beautiful stone pebble flooring. Everything was so classy and well done, but still made you feel like you were in a chalet. The view is outstanding and every morning we would eat breakfast and look out to the volcano and view of the town below. They had fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juices for us each morning! We did an excursion every day: waterfall hikes, zip lining, coffee plantation tours, hot springs, and the spa and we even went horseback riding up the mountain with some locals! The staff there arranged it all and when we wanted to go in town for dinner too they set us up with a reservation at El Bistro (which has the best tomato soup I have ever had) and arranged transportation for us too. The staff is so warm and friendly and you can tell it is a family run business and that they treat you like one of their own. I felt like I made an amazing connection with the ladies who cooked for us and every meal they asked us what we would want. They altered every recipe for us vegans and made the most amazing soups and sandwiches and desserts we could want. I am still thinking about the mushroom soup they made for me. Such a treat! After our excursions I would return to the hotel and sit outside and read a book or nap on the lawn chairs and soak up the mountain air. It is such a treat coming from Florida! The town of Boquete is small and quaint and very safe for ladies too. My friend and I walked into town from Los Establos one day and got some fun souvenirs for our family. We met some people at a coffee shop in town who then even drove us back to the hotel. Such nice people! We had the most amazing time and were sad to leave, but can't wait to go back!!! Take advantage of all the excursions you can do and spend as much time just relaxing. You feel like you are in the Swiss mountains and it is so peaceful. Enjoy! Also, some people there speak English, but any Spanish you know goes a long way!

Room Tip: There is only WIFI in the main building, so if that is important to you then choose one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina A, Owner at Los Establos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lauren and Jada was really nice to have you at Los Establos. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great week in Boquete and in my name and the entire staff thank you so much for staying with us!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I spent a week with a girl-friend at Los Establos at the end of July. We've been back over a week and I am still mellow and smiling! Its a truly magical place. The accommodation is gorgeous, set amid carefully manicured flower gardens and coffee plantation. Inside has the feel of a cozy Swiss chalet with lots of wood and soothing earth tones - I loved the river pebble floor in the shower nook and the hand forged bathroom fixtures. The staff are really kind and friendly; they treat you like family and they will help you with anything you need. Breakfast was such a treat, we took hours! Usually sat outside in the fresh air, with a sweater on enjoying the birdsong and ever changing view of the volcano - its spectacular. On the first day the owners chatted to us and found out what we were interested in and before the coffee was cold we had an itinerary with tours and guide all booked! There's loads to do from whale watching to zip lining and its an artists and nature lovers paradise. We took it easy with short hikes, thermal pool soaks, and scenic drives to points of archaeological interest, a coffee roaster/tasting tour and an orchid farm. Our guide was a great bird spotter, he even whistled up some Quetzals! Bring binoculars and a swim suit. Most people speak English but they really appreciate a few words of Spanish and reward you with amused chuckles. You feel very safe wandering around Boquete any time of the day. There are several indigenous Indian tribes each with distinct dress and craft work - the beading and embroidery are treasures you will want to take home. The hotel cooks make a delicious aromatic Panamanian soup with yams, cilantro and chicken, they did a vegetarian version for my friend - it is perfect to warm you up after a day out and we found ourselves chatting merrily with other guests over soup or wine and comparing our experiences. There are plenty of restaurants in town to suit all pockets - the taxi ride is only $3. There is a comfortable lounge with leather sofas, board games, books and billiard table if you want to stay in. Its quiet and peaceful (we chilled in our fluffy hotel bathrobes watching the birth announcement of the future king of England!). Free Wi-Fi too. Los Establos is wonderful - we saw plenty of other places that weren't nearly as lovely and well placed. I would love to go back some day and paint - the light and landscape are ever changing and the air is fresh and healing. Maybe coffee harvest time? Next time I would bring more warm clothes and take home more crafts and coffee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently spent one week at Los Establos and it was fantastic! The owners, Rob and Irina, made us feel like we were family. The hotel was beautiful and the grounds were immaculate with an array of gorgeous flowers growing everywhere. We loved eating breakfast on the verandah each morning overlooking Vulcan Baru and the lovely cloud forest. The staff were great, friendly and attentive, and we did not lack for one comfort while we were there. A wide range of activities were available and all arranged by the hotel with their on staff guide-we went touring in the cloud forest by vehicle, hiked, soaked in hot springs, swam in a river, saw a working coffee plantation, got wonderful massages. It was peaceful and quiet and absolutely beautiful there. I would not have changed a thing-thank you for a marvelous vacation!!

Room Tip: Every room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two night at Los Establos and absolutely loved the property and the staff. We began each morning the sounds of nature and a delicious breakfast... fresh juice, coffee, fruit. Then each afternoon, we were greeted with wine and sanchoco (traditional Panamanian chicken soup), which was perfect after a day of exploring the rainforest. The hotel views allowed us to take in the beauty of Boquete and totally unwind as we sat on the terrace or explored the coffee plantation and gardens on the property. We did rent a car, which allowed us to drive into town for dinner and drinks at night. The road to town is narrow, steep, and very dark at night so we did not risk the walk. Overall, we loved that this hotel was quiet and stunningly beautiful. We will definitely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family (me, husband, two kids and my parents) loved Los Establos. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, the breakfast was abundant and delicious. I agree with an earlier comment - perhaps being able to eat dinner at the hotel would have made this place perfect. My children want to go back when it isn't raining so they can play on the swings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina A, Owner at Los Establos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Mrs. Holly we are so happy to hear that your entire family had a great time. We are also pleased to let you know that the restaurant will be open by August this year. We hope to see you back in Boquete! Thank very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveandmarriage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The wife and I thoroughly loved our time at Los Establos.

The views are breathtaking and very relaxing - the volcano is just far enough to be beautiful and non-threatening. =)

The hotel staff were really friendly, and tried to make us feel at home at all times.

There were plenty of activities that were on offer for such a remote location....but to be honest, we were too busy taking in the fresh mountain air and tranquility (and some of the in-house grown coffee) to partake in many of them.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the only downside that we found was that there was no dinner restaurant on the property......but the upside of this was that we did venture out and discover some local gems: The Rock and The Panamonte Restaurants.

Overall we would highly recommend Los Establos to anyone looking for a very peaceful and beautiful escape. It has definitely helped us recharge ourselves for everyday life........now when can we go back?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Establos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Establos Boutique Hotel

Address: Jaramillo Arriba, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Establos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Inn in Boquete with tropical gardens and volcano views. Originally built as a fancy stable, this boutique hacienda still celebrates all things equine - think bronze horse statuettes, a cowhide rug, and rooms named for the former barn residents (Chombita, Rosita, Solita, more). Wrought iron, regal columns and colonial arches abound, as do tasteful furnishings picked up around South and Central America, including an impressive snakewood dining set carved by hand in Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Establos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Establos Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.